Customer Reviews for

Ike's Bluff: President Eisenhower's Secret Battle to Save the World

Average Rating 3.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I agree with reviews that stated that it was well researched and

I agree with reviews that stated that it was well researched and highly readable. I don't read a lot of nonfiction, and I only read this because my book group chose it for March, but I was very glad I did read it. I was born the year that Eisenhower became president so ...
I agree with reviews that stated that it was well researched and highly readable. I don't read a lot of nonfiction, and I only read this because my book group chose it for March, but I was very glad I did read it. I was born the year that Eisenhower became president so I know nothing about his presidency or even much about his military career. This book helped to fill the gap. As I write this, the North Koreans are threatening South Korea and the world with missiles, an eerily familiar scenario, a similar incident having occurred early in Ike's presidency. History does teach us a lot about the present, and it is worthwhile to study it all. The focus of this book was very tightly on foreign policy so we don't learn much about Ike's domestic policies. Overall, it was a good read, and I recommend it to anyone who wants to get a different view of Eisenhower-he was not the wishy washy milquetoast history would have us remember him as.

posted by ARS1953 on April 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Dreadful book.

One star for the effort it took to publish. This is an amalgam of research items strung together with uninteresting and repetitive narrative. Could have used the services of a stricter editor, but that probably wouldn't have saved it either. Everything is footnoted to d...
One star for the effort it took to publish. This is an amalgam of research items strung together with uninteresting and repetitive narrative. Could have used the services of a stricter editor, but that probably wouldn't have saved it either. Everything is footnoted to death; the sources are very seldom primary, but regurgitatings of someone else's published work. I'm trying to keep slogging through in the hopes that I'll learn something, but the spirit flags.

posted by SSYates on January 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    I agree with reviews that stated that it was well researched and

    I agree with reviews that stated that it was well researched and highly readable. I don't read a lot of nonfiction, and I only read this because my book group chose it for March, but I was very glad I did read it. I was born the year that Eisenhower became president so I know nothing about his presidency or even much about his military career. This book helped to fill the gap. As I write this, the North Koreans are threatening South Korea and the world with missiles, an eerily familiar scenario, a similar incident having occurred early in Ike's presidency. History does teach us a lot about the present, and it is worthwhile to study it all. The focus of this book was very tightly on foreign policy so we don't learn much about Ike's domestic policies. Overall, it was a good read, and I recommend it to anyone who wants to get a different view of Eisenhower-he was not the wishy washy milquetoast history would have us remember him as.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Dreadful book.

    One star for the effort it took to publish. This is an amalgam of research items strung together with uninteresting and repetitive narrative. Could have used the services of a stricter editor, but that probably wouldn't have saved it either. Everything is footnoted to death; the sources are very seldom primary, but regurgitatings of someone else's published work. I'm trying to keep slogging through in the hopes that I'll learn something, but the spirit flags.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    A wonderful book for everyone who grew up in the Eisenhower years

    I really enjoyed this book as a quick read about a very important time in world history and the part Eisenhower, as a career military officer played in keeping the world from being destroyed by nuclear weapons.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Recommended read

    Eisenhower was a master of misdirection, and a very underrated president. This book adds useful insight to Ike while he was president and his efforts to deal with new destructive weapons and outlines his efforts toward world peace.

    A worthwhile read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    The Greatest President of My Lifetime Explained

    Ike led Allied Forces to victory in WWII. Then he prevented nuclear holocaust in the years when we had nuclear weapons and didn't know how to use them. He saved the world and did a lot of other good things as well. Popular revisionist history from right to left has maligned him. This is the kind of GOP President that should fill our hearts with pride; not the clowns that followed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Actually I bought this book as a gift for my son-in-law. Have n

    Actually I bought this book as a gift for my son-in-law. Have not heard from him so I believe he is enjoying this as well as all the other books about Gen. Eisenhower. He is a very loyal fan of the General.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Problem with sample

    I am wary of buying the full book because the sample was messed up. Whole portions were repeated. What I did read was good.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2014

    REVIEW OF IKE┬┐S BLUFF Before Dwight D. Eisenhower became the 35t

    REVIEW OF IKE’S BLUFF
    Before Dwight D. Eisenhower became the 35th President of the United States he was already experienced in high-level politics. He knew warfare, its strategies and especially its back stage politics. With this background he naturally used stratagems–deception, misdirection, tactical persuasion, advantageous positioning, and other tactics–to promote the interests of his country as president.
    He also used the cover pose of a slightly out of it, doddering grandfather figure. It was effective, the public liked the amiability, the press was distracted, and the underestimation and confusion of potential opponents allowed freer maneuvering behind the scenes. Now, 54 years after leaving office, these things have been written about and studied. Author Evan Thomas has done a fine job in this pursuit.
    Thomas has taken a look behind the scenes and has created a portrait based on official records, memoirs, and private conversations ferreted out. According to Thomas and other authors, Ike was intent on keeping this country out of war. Certainly he rejected untenable situations. Once he was able to end hostilities in Korea, no further war took place during his term of office. It is said that no American soldier lost his life in battle during this time. He rejected engagements in Dien Bien Phu and the Middle East. Still, Ike was no pacifist. While he kept a lid on the armament passions of some in the military, he still retained forces sufficient to defend the country.
    Ike’s Bluff contains a bias; it is written from a left of center point of view. No one that did not share this view back in the 1950s is characterized in a positive way in this book; no nuances are permitted unless the opponent is a agreeing with what Thomas would view as a left opinion. International relations are seen through this political prism. For instance, the crushing of the Hungarian rebellion in 1956 is seen by Thomas as a somewhat minor political problem for Ike and Nikita Krushchev alike. Thomas does mention the 20,000 Hungarians killed by the Russian army in the attempted revolt, but the reference to those killed as freedom fighters is put into quotes, characterized as someone else’s opinion. Apparently the principle of consent of the governed did not apply to the Hungarians, nor to the Ukrainians, the Poles, the East Germans, or even to the Russians themselves.
    Political views aside, there is an abundance of inside information provided by Even Thomas here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Ravenclaw

    Pads over and takes a squirrel. Then asks who is the med. Cat and which result is the med.cat den.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Freshkill Pile

    DawnClan's freshkill pile. ~•Skystar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    anything new here? no

    anything new here? no

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Best

    Boss

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1