Customer Reviews for

The Iliad: A Poetry Classic By Homer! AAA+++

Average Rating 3.5
( 169 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of the best books I have ever read.

One of the greatest stories that Homer has ever told is The Iliad. It is a historical fiction that was told by Homer, a blind story tell. He told it more than 2,000 years ago in Greece. Most of the characters in his story come from Greece. This story takes place in ...
One of the greatest stories that Homer has ever told is The Iliad. It is a historical fiction that was told by Homer, a blind story tell. He told it more than 2,000 years ago in Greece. Most of the characters in his story come from Greece. This story takes place in Troy. At the time, Sparta and itâ¿¿s allies were fighting Troy and its allies. Homer gives great details on what happens and where a scene is happening and that really helped me read this story. One of the main characters, Achilles, was my favorite because he was brave, strong, and everyone liked him accept King Agamemnon. He took his lover away, which makes Troy almost defeat Sparta because Achilles asked Zeus take make Troy win Intel The king gives back his lover. There is also a lot of Greek Mythology like the gods and many of the creatures of ancient Greece like some of the hell hounds and Medusa . The theme of this story is about how hatred can make you do unbelievable things that can be good and bad. I think think that is the theme because in the story many men become hateful and they do crazy things and eventually get punished. One of the things I didnâ¿¿t like in this story was that it would always tell you to much about the simplest things, and it is a complicated read. I would recommend this book for anyone who is a good reader and someone that likes Greek Mythology. Much more happens in this story but if you want to find out then youâ¿¿ll have to read it.

posted by Anonymous on April 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Not bad for $1

It is strange reading a classical Greek story invoking the Roman names of the Gods. Surely there are better translations.

posted by Rumination on February 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 169 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Greek

    Is it in Greek?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Garbled Mess

    Horrible edition, try a different one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Is this

    Is this the greek version?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Sweet

    For free you cannot go wrong

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Great

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Read.

    I like the author and Greek Mythology, but I thought the beggining was unreadable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Fhf g eh gihhhhhyfbt

    Rffcfcg*:*%""454'"$!?|¿|€•433&&$rtnthrvby

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    The greatest adventure of all time?

    I dont think it even starts

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Not good @ all

    Not even halfway good!!! :((

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    weirdo

    it doesnt even make sense to me

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT STORY, BUT IT´S REPETITIVE, BORED AND TRITE AT SOME PARTS

    At the beggining, you see how Achilles fights against his King Agamemnon. Then the story goes to the description of each captain from each side, BORED! Next, we see the first exciting actions: the fight between Paris or Alexandros and Menelaos. Later we read about the epic battle between Achaians (Greeks) and Trojans. The story at this point is exciting because the descriptions of how it develops: spears, arrows and swords flying everywhere.
    The plot continues its development with great heroes as Diomedes, Odysseus, Big and Little Aias, Agamemnon, HECTOR, Aineias, and many more. The descriptions kept you focused on the battle and gives you a great time. The bad thing is that the first battles (chapters 3-11) are exciting and attractive, the middle battles (chapters 10-16) you feel little excitement at reading the bloody pages because the overuse of flying spears, keen swords, and devastating arrows.
    By the final battles (chpters 17-23) you are tired to read the continual slaughter.
    This makes the epic novel in a BORED novel because the continual use of clichés. The worst part is that none of the main heroes and characters suffers a notable change, excepting Achilles that is the one that changes and give emotion to the story. Clichés plus non-changing characters is equeal to a sometimes TEDIOUS READING.

    P.D. Don´t read this book if you have no idea about Greek or Roman mythology, because this novel doesn´t describes the Gods or mythological situations because the writer supposes that you already know all the Gods and Goddess.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Review For Book

    One of Homer's great works of literture, "The Iliad" is sure to interest almost everyone who reads it. I recommend it to everyone who enjoys mythology books. After you read this, it will definetly make you want to read Homer's second book, "The Odyssey". I hope you do enjoy reading this fascinating story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2007

    Not a Fun Read

    The Iliad by Homer (Translated by W.H.D. Rouse) is heralded as ¿The World¿s Greatest War Novel¿ by Signet Classic, but, it is not necessarily so. The long rambling sentences give way to gobs of names, family ties and other unneeded information. Although the language in this novel sounds close to current day, the endless killing becomes wearisome after 282 pages. Achilles, the Greek hero of legend and the hero of this novel, is portrayed as too stubborn and arrogant to forgive and forget a small insult delivered upon him by the king. The antics of the jealous gods are so that no person can possibly relate to them. When Archilles finally begins to fight to revenge Patroclos Homer paints him as a warrior so great that nothing, not even the mighty river, might harm him. The fact that the troubles of a king and his want for a woman could facilitate an entire war by a small insult to Achilles is so far-fetched that it makes this narrative completely implausible to such a degree it is an entirely disagreeable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2007

    a little bit of history

    The Iliad is a heroic story of a man named Achilles who left his home Ithaca, Greece to fight in a war between the Greeks and the Trojans. The war starts when a prince of Troy named Paris, falls in love the wife of a Spartan man named Menelaos. Menelaos is the brother of king Agamemnon, the king of the Greeks. Agamemnon wants to start a war with the Trojans to take their land and eventually the world. Paris takes Helen of Sparta home to Troy thus being one of the causes of the Trojan War. King Agamemnon gathers all his soldiers to fight against the Trojans, but there is one man that he needs to win this war and this man doesn¿t have any respect for the king or for anyone else. This man known as one of the greatest warriors of ancient times was known as Achilles. Now the king and Achilles do not get along at all, but Achilles still fights for him because he knows that this war will be remembered for eternity. So the Greeks take all their men over to the shores of Troy to fight in one of the world¿s greatest wars. The king of Troy¿s oldest son Hector, must lead his men to fight undefeated warriors in a battle that could wipe out all the Trojans. Hector, a strong and brave fighter leads his men out to meet the Greeks as they reach the Trojans shores. Achilles doesn¿t think that Agamemnon is doing this for his brother so he refuses to fight till he gets what he wants form Agamemnon. He doesn¿t fight until Hector kills Achilles¿ close friend Patroclos. Achilles only wants to kill Hector because he kills Patroclos. But Troy¿s high walls save her for a time until the Greeks find a way in. I would recommend this book to people who spend a lot of time reading books about ancient history. This book is about the ancient history of the Greeks and their mythology. It is one of the world¿s greatest war stories of all time. It tells of the hate between men. ¿An angry man¿bitter rancor of Achilles,¿ tells of how upset and resentful Achilles was to Agamemnon. ¿Prophet of evil,¿ takes of how men long ago where much more bitter and angry to their fellow man. In this story the theme is not as evident till the end. The theme is that being bitter, angry, and resentful of others can only lead you to your ultimate demise. This in truth this story symbolizes that if we fight for selfish reasons that in the end we will always be left unsatisfied. This book represents the war that is fought in all people, the inner fight for what we want and what we need. The book is an amazing war story for those of us who love gore. But a great inner war story for those of us who love to search deeper inside of ourselves to see the truth behind ones selfish ambitions. If you don¿t have a lot of time to spend translating what this book is trying to tell you then don¿t read it, but if you love to read a war story or look for enlightenment in a book then this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2006

    Difficult Translation

    I am actually returning this translation due to the translation having too much old english in it. The book is hard enough to keep up with without having to grasp the wording.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2004

    illiad

    Out side the gates of troy many tragic events occurred between the Greeks and the Trojans. It started with this young handsome prince, his name was Paris. He got everything his heart desired. He wanted this he got it, he wanted that he got it. He wanted Helen (the most beautiful girl anyone could imagine) he go it. But Menelaus did not accept that. He called for war which had lasted ten years. At some points in this story I enjoyed read it. It was a thrilling contrast, you didn¿t know what was going to happen next. Though it seemed as if there wasn`t much effort put into the ending. I thought it was very blunt, just wanting the book to end. I would not recommend this book, because there are only a few exciting scenes. The rest is talking about who is who. Most of the other books which I have read were interesting. If the book wasn¿t exciting or interesting, then it was educational. I learned that the world could never change it¿s history, but the world can forgive. That¿s the reason why people could never exceed. They are too busy with their own pride and selfish ways. They never learn.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2004

    A Great Read That's Better The 2nd Time Around!

    I first had to read the Rouse version back in high school many years ago and it stayed with me. Now 30 years later I decided to revisit this same translation once again. The vivid descriptions of the battle scenes are what I remembered, but the simple ways the men lived and talked was utterly refreshing. It's as if these men have lived today! The mannerisms, humorous sayings and things Zeus' family of Gods said or done anyone can certainly draw comparisons to when looking at one's family. You will get certainly get a smile or two or three out of their antics! This translation is fun to read and utterly absorbing; it's not stodgy! Rouse's translation of 'The Iliad' is truly the 'orignal' page turner, bar none!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2003

    A True Classic

    Simply one of those books you must read if interested in classic literature. Comparing to modern literature, I would only complain that the 'Gods' give away too much by ordaining what was going to happen, and that the ending of this, and beginning of 'Odyssey' leave too much untold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2002

    Absolutely Incredible

    This book is amazing. The problems faced by the characters, such as love, death, pride, all portray the very soul of man (and woman). Though this book was written thousands of years ago, it is sounds as though it could have been written this year. I highly recommend the Iliad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2001

    Amazingly written

    The Iliad was one of,if not the,best book I have ever read. It grabs you and won't let go. One interesting thing about it is that although their is little physical description you can picture everything clearly. It is truely a great work. The translation or who did it made no difference to me because the same story is in them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 169 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9