Customer Reviews for

The Iliad

Average Rating 3.5
( 191 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of the best books I have ever read.

One of the greatest stories that Homer has ever told is The Iliad. It is a historical fiction that was told by Homer, a blind story tell. He told it more than 2,000 years ago in Greece. Most of the characters in his story come from Greece. This story takes place in ...
One of the greatest stories that Homer has ever told is The Iliad. It is a historical fiction that was told by Homer, a blind story tell. He told it more than 2,000 years ago in Greece. Most of the characters in his story come from Greece. This story takes place in Troy. At the time, Sparta and itâ¿¿s allies were fighting Troy and its allies. Homer gives great details on what happens and where a scene is happening and that really helped me read this story. One of the main characters, Achilles, was my favorite because he was brave, strong, and everyone liked him accept King Agamemnon. He took his lover away, which makes Troy almost defeat Sparta because Achilles asked Zeus take make Troy win Intel The king gives back his lover. There is also a lot of Greek Mythology like the gods and many of the creatures of ancient Greece like some of the hell hounds and Medusa . The theme of this story is about how hatred can make you do unbelievable things that can be good and bad. I think think that is the theme because in the story many men become hateful and they do crazy things and eventually get punished. One of the things I didnâ¿¿t like in this story was that it would always tell you to much about the simplest things, and it is a complicated read. I would recommend this book for anyone who is a good reader and someone that likes Greek Mythology. Much more happens in this story but if you want to find out then youâ¿¿ll have to read it.

posted by Anonymous on April 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Not bad for $1

It is strange reading a classical Greek story invoking the Roman names of the Gods. Surely there are better translations.

posted by Rumination on February 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    One of the best books I have ever read.

    One of the greatest stories that Homer has ever told is The Iliad. It is a historical fiction that was told by Homer, a blind story tell. He told it more than 2,000 years ago in Greece. Most of the characters in his story come from Greece. This story takes place in Troy. At the time, Sparta and itâ¿¿s allies were fighting Troy and its allies. Homer gives great details on what happens and where a scene is happening and that really helped me read this story. One of the main characters, Achilles, was my favorite because he was brave, strong, and everyone liked him accept King Agamemnon. He took his lover away, which makes Troy almost defeat Sparta because Achilles asked Zeus take make Troy win Intel The king gives back his lover. There is also a lot of Greek Mythology like the gods and many of the creatures of ancient Greece like some of the hell hounds and Medusa . The theme of this story is about how hatred can make you do unbelievable things that can be good and bad. I think think that is the theme because in the story many men become hateful and they do crazy things and eventually get punished. One of the things I didnâ¿¿t like in this story was that it would always tell you to much about the simplest things, and it is a complicated read. I would recommend this book for anyone who is a good reader and someone that likes Greek Mythology. Much more happens in this story but if you want to find out then youâ¿¿ll have to read it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Rad this review

    The beginning was a little confusing. But once you got into it it's not that confusing anymore. As long as you know Greek Mythology. I mean I'm in 6th grade and I inow quite a lot of Greek Mythology.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Great book- highly recomended

    I love this book and the odyssey too. Must read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    This format is easier to read...

    The paragraph format makes the story much more readable. The verse format would do things arbitrarily cut a sentence in the middle for no apparent reason 'in English anyways' and start a new line with the remainder of the sentence. It makes no sense to preserve the verse form when the verse qualities are lost in translation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Maggie to clyde

    Dude your crazy now what happened

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Liked this book

    Good one..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Review For Book

    One of Homer's great works of literture, "The Iliad" is sure to interest almost everyone who reads it. I recommend it to everyone who enjoys mythology books. After you read this, it will definetly make you want to read Homer's second book, "The Odyssey". I hope you do enjoy reading this fascinating story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2003

    A True Classic

    Simply one of those books you must read if interested in classic literature. Comparing to modern literature, I would only complain that the 'Gods' give away too much by ordaining what was going to happen, and that the ending of this, and beginning of 'Odyssey' leave too much untold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2002

    Good Yet Purposless

    This was one of the most intricate plotted books I've ever read. The only problem is that it reveals throughout the novel what happens hundreds of pages before it actually happens. Other than that this book may be tiring in its endless jabber on war but it also plots with delicateness a true story of love and adventure. So if you want to read a book of romance and love, read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2001

    More than I expected

    I read this book on my own free will, not as a school assignment. I started reading the Aneid of Virgil, but I found the verse translation very hard to understand, so I soon gave up on it. When I started reading The Iliad, I expected it to be similarly hard to understand. I was pleased to find that the book had been translated into prose, something everyone can understand, and it still kept the idea and storyline of the origional translation. I was amazed at how much I enjoyed the story of Achilles, and the war between the Greeks and the Trojans. I cannot wait to read the Odyssey, also by Homer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2000

    Oscillating fortunes of war

    This book was uneventful if the purpose for reading is purely entertainment, however, if you are a more serious reader there are several themes that challenge the imagination. Moreover, the changing tides of war, and it vast destructive powers are questioned thur out the book. It points out in a less obvious way that war is often a battle between a few individuals. These select few send others to fight their battles. In the lliad the story narrows down to a battle between Achilles and Hector. Overall a good story yet not a classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3