Customer Reviews for

The Iliad

Average Rating 3.5
( 198 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of the best books I have ever read.

One of the greatest stories that Homer has ever told is The Iliad. It is a historical fiction that was told by Homer, a blind story tell. He told it more than 2,000 years ago in Greece. Most of the characters in his story come from Greece. This story takes place in ...
One of the greatest stories that Homer has ever told is The Iliad. It is a historical fiction that was told by Homer, a blind story tell. He told it more than 2,000 years ago in Greece. Most of the characters in his story come from Greece. This story takes place in Troy. At the time, Sparta and itâ¿¿s allies were fighting Troy and its allies. Homer gives great details on what happens and where a scene is happening and that really helped me read this story. One of the main characters, Achilles, was my favorite because he was brave, strong, and everyone liked him accept King Agamemnon. He took his lover away, which makes Troy almost defeat Sparta because Achilles asked Zeus take make Troy win Intel The king gives back his lover. There is also a lot of Greek Mythology like the gods and many of the creatures of ancient Greece like some of the hell hounds and Medusa . The theme of this story is about how hatred can make you do unbelievable things that can be good and bad. I think think that is the theme because in the story many men become hateful and they do crazy things and eventually get punished. One of the things I didnâ¿¿t like in this story was that it would always tell you to much about the simplest things, and it is a complicated read. I would recommend this book for anyone who is a good reader and someone that likes Greek Mythology. Much more happens in this story but if you want to find out then youâ¿¿ll have to read it.

posted by Anonymous on April 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Not bad for $1

It is strange reading a classical Greek story invoking the Roman names of the Gods. Surely there are better translations.

posted by Rumination on February 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Everyone shoukd read this poem

    This work is one of the most influential in the Western corpus, and that we even have a written record of it is a stroke of luck. PLEASE, this is NOT a 'book', it is a POEM that was written in verse, almost certainly by more than one person.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    AHHH! U FORGOT PELE

    GODESS OF FIRE!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Last res

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    YOU FORGOT ZUES!!!!!!

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2014

    Lovely...! beautiful.....!.... Just enjoy it.....! 

    Lovely...! beautiful.....!.... Just enjoy it.....! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2014

    Awesome....!Beautiful....!Wonderful....!I really enjoy it.....!

    Awesome....!Beautiful....!Wonderful....!I really enjoy it.....!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    To below

    Zues is at "athenian constitution" last result

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Jen

    Walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Everyone!!!!

    Party at seti res two!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Jayden

    She rolls in on her skateboard

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Anibelle

    *walks in* Hello. May I join?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Riker

    Yawns bored

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Greece

    This is in Greece...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Gggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg

    Textextextextextextextextextextextextextextextextextextextextextextextextextext

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Sweet

    For free you cannot go wrong

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Great

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Fhf g eh gihhhhhyfbt

    Rffcfcg*:*%""454'"$!?|¿|€•433&&$rtnthrvby

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2004

    A Great Read That's Better The 2nd Time Around!

    I first had to read the Rouse version back in high school many years ago and it stayed with me. Now 30 years later I decided to revisit this same translation once again. The vivid descriptions of the battle scenes are what I remembered, but the simple ways the men lived and talked was utterly refreshing. It's as if these men have lived today! The mannerisms, humorous sayings and things Zeus' family of Gods said or done anyone can certainly draw comparisons to when looking at one's family. You will get certainly get a smile or two or three out of their antics! This translation is fun to read and utterly absorbing; it's not stodgy! Rouse's translation of 'The Iliad' is truly the 'orignal' page turner, bar none!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2002

    Absolutely Incredible

    This book is amazing. The problems faced by the characters, such as love, death, pride, all portray the very soul of man (and woman). Though this book was written thousands of years ago, it is sounds as though it could have been written this year. I highly recommend the Iliad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2001

    Amazingly written

    The Iliad was one of,if not the,best book I have ever read. It grabs you and won't let go. One interesting thing about it is that although their is little physical description you can picture everything clearly. It is truely a great work. The translation or who did it made no difference to me because the same story is in them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4