Customer Reviews for

The Iliad of Homer

Average Rating 3.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Yes! The perfect translation!! And it's free! Yes! The perfect translation!!

I needed this particular translation of the Iliad for my school, but it took me forever to find this stashed away among all the other translaters. If the price for the first copy you find is $0.99, keep looking- there's quite a few free ones floating around towards pag...
I needed this particular translation of the Iliad for my school, but it took me forever to find this stashed away among all the other translaters. If the price for the first copy you find is $0.99, keep looking- there's quite a few free ones floating around towards page 12-ish. I hope you end up liking this mythological war-tale as much as I do!

posted by 10346889 on August 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

NOT Lattimore

It's the Alexander Pope translation. Don't understand why they can't get the description right.

posted by 4404347 on September 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    NOT Lattimore

    It's the Alexander Pope translation. Don't understand why they can't get the description right.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Yes! The perfect translation!! And it's free! Yes! The perfect translation!!

    I needed this particular translation of the Iliad for my school, but it took me forever to find this stashed away among all the other translaters. If the price for the first copy you find is $0.99, keep looking- there's quite a few free ones floating around towards page 12-ish. I hope you end up liking this mythological war-tale as much as I do!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2003

    Apt reading for America today

    Perhaps one of the first anti-war works of literature, the Iliad stands as relevant for our world today as it has been for the Greeks of 3000 years ago. Lattimore has given us with a brilliant translation that makes this masterpiece accessible in all its beauty to modern-day English speakers. The introduction provides the necessary understanding of the background and translation scheme, adding to the appreciation of the poem, but concise and short enough to permit the reader to delve into the beauty of the Iliad without much further ado. The Iliad of course is the most famous classic Greek poem. In reading this translation, one vividly moves into the world of the gods and heroes. Though seemingly long, the Iliad is breathtaking in its action and plot sequences. It is easy to get lost imagining the conflicts between Achilleus, Agamemnon, and Hector, or reflecting on the fascinating intrigues of Athena and Zeus. There are many lessons in these tales for everyone today, for we humans still behave within the same parameters of pride, glory, anger, vengeance, and love. After reading it, I was left reflecting about th meaning of victory, and how Achilleus was unsatisfied after obtaining his revenge. Read it, and you will instantly recognized why this epic poem has been deemed a masterpiece.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Ambertree

    Nothing lets get back to camp

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Darkmoon

    Now i dont feel bad for being nosy Windheart. You were watching us? He laughs quietly

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Windheart

    K

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Silvermist

    Okay.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Good book but bad transation

    This book must of been scaned wrong. The real book is great .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    pope translation but poor scan

    Not readable skip.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Unreadable

    All the text was simply mispelled in many computer functions. You do not want to buy this copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Battle

    This book has awsome battle scenes.the are descriped in great detail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    The Iliad understandable!

    Lattimore's lengthy preface was well worth my time in helping me understand the mythology of the time. Now,if I could just find a work that illuminated ancient, pre-historic Rome (or Ruma) religious "beliefs."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2