Customer Reviews for

Ilium

Average Rating 4.5
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended

The characters are all well developed with a highly original and imaginative storyline. Anyone interested in scifi views of humanities far future, nanotechnology, the Iliad, or dystopian societies should love this book.

posted by 6668049 on January 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This book lacks coherence and is a dificult read

This book lacks coherence and many parts were often unintelligible. Simmons has the bad habit of making up his own words and terminology - this would not be such a problem if he defined them and explained the words when using them. However, he often does not explain the...
This book lacks coherence and many parts were often unintelligible. Simmons has the bad habit of making up his own words and terminology - this would not be such a problem if he defined them and explained the words when using them. However, he often does not explain the terms until hundreds of pages later, if at all!!(scholic,moravecs, voynix, faxing humans?- i still dont know what these are after reading the novel). He seems to be trying to tell more than one story at a time, and therefore the novel lacks any semblance of a normal progression. I often found myslf mumbling, 'what the heck is going on?' and would look again and again at the story summary on the dust jacket vainly seeking an explanation. I understand that Simmons is considered a top Sci-fi writer- but he would sell lot more copies if he made an effort not to write in such an obtuse style. and many parts were often unintelligible. Simmons has the bad habit of making up his own words and terminology - this would not be such a problem if he defined them and explained the words when using them. However, he often does not explain the terms until hundreds of pages later, if at all!!(scholic,moravecs, voynix, faxing humans?- i still dont know what these are after reading the novel). He seems to be trying to tell more than one story at a time, and therefore the novel lacks any semblance of a normal progression. I often found myslf mumbling, 'what the heck is going on?' and would look again and again at the story summary on the dust jacket vainly seeking an explanation. I understand that Simmons is considered a top Sci-fi writer- but he would sell lot more copies if he made an effort not to write in such an obtuse style.

posted by Anonymous on June 18, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Highly recommended

    The characters are all well developed with a highly original and imaginative storyline. Anyone interested in scifi views of humanities far future, nanotechnology, the Iliad, or dystopian societies should love this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2004

    This book lacks coherence and is a dificult read

    This book lacks coherence and many parts were often unintelligible. Simmons has the bad habit of making up his own words and terminology - this would not be such a problem if he defined them and explained the words when using them. However, he often does not explain the terms until hundreds of pages later, if at all!!(scholic,moravecs, voynix, faxing humans?- i still dont know what these are after reading the novel). He seems to be trying to tell more than one story at a time, and therefore the novel lacks any semblance of a normal progression. I often found myslf mumbling, 'what the heck is going on?' and would look again and again at the story summary on the dust jacket vainly seeking an explanation. I understand that Simmons is considered a top Sci-fi writer- but he would sell lot more copies if he made an effort not to write in such an obtuse style. and many parts were often unintelligible. Simmons has the bad habit of making up his own words and terminology - this would not be such a problem if he defined them and explained the words when using them. However, he often does not explain the terms until hundreds of pages later, if at all!!(scholic,moravecs, voynix, faxing humans?- i still dont know what these are after reading the novel). He seems to be trying to tell more than one story at a time, and therefore the novel lacks any semblance of a normal progression. I often found myslf mumbling, 'what the heck is going on?' and would look again and again at the story summary on the dust jacket vainly seeking an explanation. I understand that Simmons is considered a top Sci-fi writer- but he would sell lot more copies if he made an effort not to write in such an obtuse style.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Amazing

    Great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    great book!

    A little hard to grab the story line in the beginning, but stick with it, it's worth it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Imaginative.

    Don't let the length intimidate you. It took a while to see how the seemingly three separate story lines could possibly relate to each other, but once it started to come into focus it was a thoroughly gripping read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Dinosaurs! Greeks! Transhumanism!

    Dan Simmons' Ilium is a sci-fi masterpiece, brilliantly weaving the tales of a Homeric scholar trapped in a far-future recreation of the Trojan War on Mars with the mystery of Earth's last humans exploring their strange planet, even while the exploration robots of Jupiter's moons must turn their attention inwards and investigate energies that could annihalate the entire Solar System. Brilliant stuff.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    Tedious

    This book is based on the Greek poet Homer's epic poem: "The Iliad." Basically, it is the story of "The Iliad" set in a far distant future of the Solar System. The story contains some chapters that are lucid and exciting, interspersed between chapters consisting, primarily, of interminable lists of the names and descriptions of every Greek and Trojan character in Homer's poem. The book is tedious, at best.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    WoW!

    I'm completely blown away by Dan Simmon's books. This one was great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    I can only hope the typos and misspellings (in the excerpt shown

    I can only hope the typos and misspellings (in the excerpt shown here) are not in the printed volume. Though it wouldn't surprise me; lately I've seen a number of books that seem to have been spell-checked but not actually proofread.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Epic escapism!

    Homer meets War of the Worlds in this futuristic thriller. Not to be missed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    Master Work by a Master Writer

    Ilium is quite a wild ride through the classic Trojan war epic with a sci fi twist that is the hallmark of Simmons' craft. I found the plots engrossing and the gods facinating. This book has as many twists and turns as the roads and dusty byways in the ancient city of Troy. I read it twice this year along with its sequel Oympos and enjoyed the second trip though Simmons' prose as well as the first!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    MASTER WRITER

    Dan Simmons has done it again with an awesome novel. This was extremely engrossing and has to rank among the best ever. To the person that thought there was too much bad language and didn't like the adolescent nudity. GO BACK TO CHURCH AND READ THE BIBLE!! It may help to keep you "pure" and wash off this awful nastiness. People like you make me sick.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic book! The Trojan war played out on several planets, in various time zones, and with a wide panoply of great and varied characters. I loved it and its sequel Olympos!.

    One of Dan Simmons best!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dan Simmons, simply the best novelist alive!

    There are few authors whose books I automatically purchase without even looking to see what the subject matter is but Simmons is one of them. When I got home from Barnes & Noble with this (& its' sequel Olympos) I have to admit I thought that maybe this time Simmons had "gone around the bend". Boy, was I wrong!! Weaving together robots, Greek gods & a space/time continuum theme Simmons once again grabs you by the throat & doesn't let go. This story was yet another well deserved Hugo award nomination for the author & I am continually surprised that he is not as well known as some of his less talented contemporaries. Great, epic action, well developed characters (by the dozen),& extremely vivid (yet surreal) scenescapes draw the reader in until you find yourself racing to the end at 2 a.m. to find out what happens. These books as well as anything else by Simmons deserve your time & attention. You will be rewarded & enriched by this author's limitless gifts. Long live Dan Simmons!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2008

    Amazing

    This is another incredible read by Dan Simmons. I found this to be even better then Hyperion! Though the first couple of chapters, and maybe about 90 or so pages are a bit boring, but once you get past that you can't put it down. Excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2006

    Down with Zeus, up with Moravecs

    As usual, Simmons expertly weaves multiple story lines into one grand story. This story has it all: little green men, gods, Odysseus, robots,...I could go on and on. I was reading 50-60 pages at a time near the end. I am very interested to see where Olympos takes this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2006

    great if you love the greek and roman gods

    it was pretty good, but i found myself skipping ahead to other, faster moving parts. Don't get me wrong I'm excited to read Olympos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2006

    Expertly crafted Scifi

    As much as I loved Dan Simmons's Hyperion series, I must confess that Illium has succeeded in raising the bar. Everything that I loved about Hyperion is elevated to new heights in this epic tale that weaves the distant future and distant past into a colorful tapestry that kept me rapt from cover to cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2005

    Simmons proves himself a master sci-fi writer once again

    As a Classics major (Greek and Roman culture studies, for those of you who don't know) I found this story to be incredibly entertaining. It is great to finally find an adaptation of the Iliad that does the epic some justice. (Unlike Troy, the movie, ::shudder::) The first page alone was enough to earn my respect and attention for the hundreds of pages that follow. You can tell Simmons has done his homework, and probably read and reread the Iliad hundreds of times. His forays into Shakespeare and Proust also are facinating and authentic. He isn't making up these interpretations, you can tell he's researched them all thoroughly. The same goes for the scientific aspects of the tale. Believability is the mark of a good writer, and although settings for this book take place thousands of years in the future, as well as on Mars, around Jupiter, and back in time to the Trojan War, he succeeds admirably. The concepts can get a little complicated in the thick of the story, but instead of being turned off by that, I was intrigued, and challenged to do my best to comprehend it. It was fantastic to finally find fiction that is incredibly intelligent, while also achieving a level of suspense and adventure rarely found in any genre. I cannot recommend this book highly enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2005

    A highly enjoyable read

    This is my first Simmons novel and it certainly won't be my last. As a previous reviewer said, the first 50 pages are a bit tedious, but if you can get through that, you are about to enjoy a very well crafted story that incorporates sci-fi, ancient Greek history, mythology along with some memoriable characters and dark humor. Don't let the index of characters in the back frighten you, Simmons does a great job of incorporating a ton of interesting characters, but it's never too many to keep up with. Looking forward to reading Olympos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6