Customer Reviews for

I'll Be There

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Excellent!

Sam has spent most of his life looking out for his younger brother Riddle. Raised by a father more interested in taking advantage of people and getting whatever he wants illegally, meant that Sam and Riddle were shuffled from one place to the next.

Their contact w...
Sam has spent most of his life looking out for his younger brother Riddle. Raised by a father more interested in taking advantage of people and getting whatever he wants illegally, meant that Sam and Riddle were shuffled from one place to the next.

Their contact with people living normal lives was severely limited. Using the excuse that he homeschooled his children allowed their father to keep them isolated. But it was more than mere isolation since the two boys were not only forced to stay indoors during the day to avoid being reported for truancy, but were also left on their own to scavenge for food in restaurant dumpsters.

Sam developed a strong sense of responsibility for Riddle and suffered abuse at the hands of his father as he tried to protect his young brother. Riddle withdrew, and instead of talking, communicated through mechanically technical drawings made on the pages of old telephone books. Neither boy realized their lives could be better.

Sam's path crossed with Emily's because of his love of music. He slipped into the back pew of her family's church on the Sunday she was to sing a solo. Being in the choir was fine with Emily, but singing a solo terrified her. Her voice wasn't exactly remarkable, and after her debut, she rushed from the church into a back alley. Sam was drawn to follow her. Something about her vulnerability made him offer comfort as she vomited behind the church.

What follows is a story filled with remarkable connections. Beautifully told by first time novelist Holly Goldberg Sloan, I'LL BE THERE is a fantastic story. Readers will immediately bond with Sam, Riddle, and Emily as their story unfolds. Intense emotions, heartbreaking twists and turns, and the perfect amount of tension-breaking humor combine to make this one of the best books I've had the pleasure to read.

posted by Readingjunky on February 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Beyond Disapponting ... giant dud!

When I read the summary I was really excited to read this book, but it was ultimately a dud! The point of view is constantly shifting, and sometimes I was given information that wasn't even necessary and was utterly pointless!! I mean who cares if the clenaing lady had ...
When I read the summary I was really excited to read this book, but it was ultimately a dud! The point of view is constantly shifting, and sometimes I was given information that wasn't even necessary and was utterly pointless!! I mean who cares if the clenaing lady had a vacume cleaner from the 1970's or that the detective wish he hand't worn tennis shoes that day--ugh! I mean who cares! How is that information helping the story? Answer, it's not! This book was frustrating! It read like cliff notes--but without a point or direction! Save your time on this one, or if you're realllllyyyy desperate for an annoying and disconnected read then save your money and just check it out from your local library.

posted by KDarkling on September 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent!

    Sam has spent most of his life looking out for his younger brother Riddle. Raised by a father more interested in taking advantage of people and getting whatever he wants illegally, meant that Sam and Riddle were shuffled from one place to the next.

    Their contact with people living normal lives was severely limited. Using the excuse that he homeschooled his children allowed their father to keep them isolated. But it was more than mere isolation since the two boys were not only forced to stay indoors during the day to avoid being reported for truancy, but were also left on their own to scavenge for food in restaurant dumpsters.

    Sam developed a strong sense of responsibility for Riddle and suffered abuse at the hands of his father as he tried to protect his young brother. Riddle withdrew, and instead of talking, communicated through mechanically technical drawings made on the pages of old telephone books. Neither boy realized their lives could be better.

    Sam's path crossed with Emily's because of his love of music. He slipped into the back pew of her family's church on the Sunday she was to sing a solo. Being in the choir was fine with Emily, but singing a solo terrified her. Her voice wasn't exactly remarkable, and after her debut, she rushed from the church into a back alley. Sam was drawn to follow her. Something about her vulnerability made him offer comfort as she vomited behind the church.

    What follows is a story filled with remarkable connections. Beautifully told by first time novelist Holly Goldberg Sloan, I'LL BE THERE is a fantastic story. Readers will immediately bond with Sam, Riddle, and Emily as their story unfolds. Intense emotions, heartbreaking twists and turns, and the perfect amount of tension-breaking humor combine to make this one of the best books I've had the pleasure to read.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Best book I've read in a LONG time!

    I read A LOT.. seriously, finishing multiple books daily... but with all those books, really, this is the best book I've read since the Hunger Games!

    Beautifuly written... ohmigosh.. I get excited just thinking about it...!!!! MUST READ!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Amazing Read!

    I was up at all hours reading this!! I just could not stop!! The themes are great and it's a perfect love story! I LOVE THIS BOOK!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    FREAKING AMAZING!!!!!!!!

    the best book i read this entire summer!!! super tender and romantic and sweet!!! it's amazing, don't let anyone tell you otherwise. all the characters are real feeling and the story is touching!!!!!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE IT

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I'll Be There is a modern day fairy tale. The book is a great re

    I'll Be There is a modern day fairy tale.
    The book is a great read, and I recommend it for those who wouldn't mind a calm, easy-going story. Well, you may get a little surprise at the end of the book, but you'll have to read to find out. Personally I could imagine this doing really well as a movie, maybe even better than a book, but it's still a great read nonetheless.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    pure and simple genius

    A love story like I haven't read in a long while.Pure genius!!!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Love r This book is truly Seriously AM Stupendous read

    I read this book over my cousin's shoulder until she let me borrow it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Magical Story of 3 individuals and destiny

    Though I'll Be There isn't a book that dips into the paranormal realm, there is definitely a magical aspect of this story.

    I have never read a book written how Holly Goldberg Sloan decided to write I'll Be There. It wasn't overly descriptive, and if you didn't connect to the story I could see how it could come across as vague and unorganized. Though, for me, I adored the style and connected well with the characters, rather than on a personal I've experienced that matter it was more of a I have to know what happens to them sort of way. The dialog was a bit tricky too, most of the dialog came in the basic paragraph form of telling me what was said rather than running through the entirety of a conversation. The first time I noticed this, I actually reread the paragraph and gave the book a cross look, but I quickly got over it when it became obvious to me that this is how the book was supposed to be written, should have been written, it was part of the magic that was Emily, Sam and Riddle.

    Sam and Riddle's situation is sad and unfortunate at best. The two boys do what they can to get by but it sure didn't seem like, up to that point, that there was anyone rooting for them to succeed in life and definitely wasn't caring for them how a parent should. Despite their situation, Sam took care of Riddle the best he could and did as their father said to spare either of them the repercussions of angering their severely unstable and just plain crazy father. The dynamic between the brothers is sweet and shows us the true characters of the boys, proving that the apple sometimes does fall far from the tree. Sam's voice is the one we hear until destiny has other plans but when we do hear and see Riddle's it is obvious that Sam and Riddle are two of the most grateful characters I have ever come across.

    Emily is a character, like Sam and Riddle, who I instantly fell in love with. She did her best to be who everyone wanted her to be but she did have a backbone and with time that showed. With a heart of gold, this story would have never blossomed into the rocky adventure of Sam and Riddle and Emily's first love if it weren't for Emily and her head strong, heart driven beliefs on destiny, love, and helping others. Emily's parents played a big part part in this story, were realistic, and you could tell it was them who shaped their daughter to be such an amazing young woman. There were no disappearing parents for Emily, like we see in a lot of YA fiction, and that small detail alone made this book all that more fulfilling and realistic.

    I'll Be There is a magical tale of family, hope and love. The writing of this story is brilliant, and while everyone may not get it, I did! If you have a chance to read I'll Be There I encourage you to do so. There is something about a book based on innocence and how the world can eat you alive if it wasn't for the heart and support of others and possibly a bit of fate and destiny, weaving lives together before you have a chance to protest. This emotionally profound book is definitely in need of a second read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2013

    I¿LL BE THERE was recommended by a friend. I loved this YA Book!

    I’LL BE THERE was recommended by a friend. I loved this YA Book! It’s a family drama that becomes an adventure. It kept me up late one night and I finished it in a few days.

    Holly Goldberg Sloan’s story is about two families as different as the Earth and Saturn. The families meet after the two teens connect. The themes of human connection and compassion bind the plot, characters, and choice of settings. I loved the way the author infused these aspects, until the concluding chapter. After such a wonderful read, I hate to admit that the wrap was disappointing for me. How to end a book is a difficult writing challenge for any author. Since the author has some roots in the film industry, maybe she was anticipating the screenplay already. The book is outstanding despite this, and her character named Riddle is reason alone to read this book.

    Expect a fast pace due to the sparse writing style which may be as much as 80 percent narrative. Kudos to the interior page designer of the edition I read (with old shoes on the cover). It had generous spacing between sentences in addition to the margin white space. Appealing and very easy to read.

    In the back pages, there is an interview with the author in which you’ll find out why the adventure part of the story was so well done, but restrain yourself from peeking. Savor it once you’ve finished the story. Highly recommended book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Referance

    One if the books l read by this author is AMAZING. It was clever, interesting, and it sucks you into its page. I ve not read this book, but l'm sure it's just as good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    One of the best!!

    Just finished reading this book. It is really good. It takes some good unexpected turns. There are also heart wrenching parts where you will feel the power of brotherhood.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    Beyond Disapponting ... giant dud!

    When I read the summary I was really excited to read this book, but it was ultimately a dud! The point of view is constantly shifting, and sometimes I was given information that wasn't even necessary and was utterly pointless!! I mean who cares if the clenaing lady had a vacume cleaner from the 1970's or that the detective wish he hand't worn tennis shoes that day--ugh! I mean who cares! How is that information helping the story? Answer, it's not! This book was frustrating! It read like cliff notes--but without a point or direction! Save your time on this one, or if you're realllllyyyy desperate for an annoying and disconnected read then save your money and just check it out from your local library.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Anonymous

    Wow. The hands on the cover of this book are really badly scaled. Either that girl has babys hands or that guys has hands the size of tires.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Great!!!

    I have read this book multiple times it is SOOOO GREAT!!!!! please please please make a movie of this book!! I love it so much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2