Customer Reviews for

I'll Hold You in Heaven

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very Helpful!

I had stillborn twins at 34wks. gestation. I was devastated, and a friend bought me this book. It was a great gift in time of sorrow. I reccomend this book to anyone going through the loss of a baby, no matter what the gestation is.

posted by Mom-in-FL on April 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

BOUGHT IT AS A GIFT AND TRASHED IT

WAS DISAPPOINTED IN BOOK.........FROM A CHRISTIAN PERSPECTIVE FOUND IT NOT AS UNDERSTANDING IN SOME PARTS OR COMFORTING.......BUT RATHER CONDESCENDING......WHEN CHOICES HAVE TO BE MADE, NO ONE CAN JUDGE THE REASONS EXCEPT GOD.

posted by essence on August 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2009

    BOUGHT IT AS A GIFT AND TRASHED IT

    WAS DISAPPOINTED IN BOOK.........FROM A CHRISTIAN PERSPECTIVE FOUND IT NOT AS UNDERSTANDING IN SOME PARTS OR COMFORTING.......BUT RATHER CONDESCENDING......WHEN CHOICES HAVE TO BE MADE, NO ONE CAN JUDGE THE REASONS EXCEPT GOD.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    Very Helpful!

    I had stillborn twins at 34wks. gestation. I was devastated, and a friend bought me this book. It was a great gift in time of sorrow. I reccomend this book to anyone going through the loss of a baby, no matter what the gestation is.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2007

    I made it through my 2 miscarriages because of this book.

    This book helped me through my 2 miscarriages and many of my friends' miscarriages when I have bought it for them. It answered every single one of my questions. I recommend this to anyone, Christian or not..it's awesome!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2007

    Helped Me So Much

    Someone gave this book to me when I experienced a missed miscarriage. This tiny book is filled with Scriptures and commentary by Jack Hayford that answered so many of my questions and filled my heart and soul with peace and hope. The truth of the Word as shared in this book released much healing in my life. I now recommend it to anyone who has experienced the loss of an unborn child.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Excellent!

    Great book for helping deal with loss!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Lost

    I had two miscartiages. My way to cope is knowing in my heart they are in heaven with my dad and other family and close friends. I habent read the book but I think I will now. Its the worst pain and both I lost at around six weeks but they where mine and my husbands. We will hold yhem when our time comes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I have never given a book such a low review, but this book is *dangerous* and warranted

    The book begins well with an example of how 1 church offers help to mothers considering abortion but he espouses dangerous theology; I almost gave it 1 Star. FIRST Hayford contradicts himself: On p64 he says "But in saying this, the Bible neither declares nor implies that parents determine the eternal destiny of their children...Salvation is always an individual choice." Correct. However on p60 he says: "Doubtless we would all argue for their being instantly ushered into the Creator's heaven-home forever. And that answer is right." Did you catch that? Hayford says that if you kill your handicapped/unborn child he/she will go to heaven "forever." That is the writer says that the parents CAN determine their children's' "eternal" destiny -but that's NOT what he said on p.64. LOL SECOND Hayford contradicts common sense since he tempts parents to kill children by false theology: If in fact killing handicapped/unborn child would ensure a 100% chance of salvation but letting them live might risk they'd reject Christ don't you think it'd make better sense to kill them since after all eternal forever! is more important than the temporal 70-80 years? This is EXACTLY what a number of parents have done: Do a search on the parents killing kids if you don't believe. THIRD Hayford contradicts Scripture: Look again at his quote on p60: "Doubtless we would all argue for their being instantly ushered into the Creator's heaven-home forever. And that answer is right." Yes, when a baby dies he/she will go to some place in heaven FOR THE TIME BEING: where else would the child go FOR NOW? But, did you notice that subtle qualifier: 'Forever.' Basically he says the child will not only go to heaven for the time but also be guaranteed 'eternal' salvation yet this contradicts Scripture: John 14:6: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me. I'm not suggesting that the child goes to hell: referring to "Where do babies go when they die?" by Gordon Wayne Watts that author makes a compelling Biblical case that we'll either see the children again in the Millennium where they'll have a chance to hear the Gospel -not a 2nd chance, since they never got a 1st chance: Rev 20:4, or perhaps in the next resurrection Rev 20:5 of the "rest of the dead.": In the Millennium scripture tells us there will be children; where do you think all those children will come from? Hayford contradicts John 3:16 & Acts 2:38 since Scripture tells us a person must BELIEVE in Jesus to get saved something which babies are incapable of doing. He mentions only three (3) scriptures to verify his false claims, but none of them address salvation except 2 Sam 2:23. This passage is metaphorical: Even if David meant what he said, he could have been mistaken: It wouldn't be the 1st time David spoke falsely: For example what David in a state of depression & often on the run for his life says in Ps. 13:1-4: that God has forgotten him and has hidden His face from him. Oh, really? Is this literally true? No, this too is metaphorical. Yes God is fair: He WON'T violate their free will but WILL give these kids a chance for salvation. This wouldn't be unfair nor, contrary to popular belief, contradict Heb 9:27 ("And as it is appointed unto men once to die, but after this the judgment:") since-it doesn't mandate they go TO HEAVEN; rather, it only mandates "the judgment." DON'T GO BEYOND WHAT IS WRITTEN! Therefore, you might review Watts' paper

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    I would not recommend this book

    My mom gave me this book after I suffered the stillbirth of my son at 32 weeks. I only read through the first chapter but I did not find any information that was comforting or useful to me. The first two chapters seemed more anti abortion to me than comfort for greiving parents. I gave it back to her and asked her to return it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    The answers I needed

    I am very christian and when I read this book it answered every question I had about my stillborn baby. I recommed this to every parent you has had a pregnancy loss, misscarriage, or early infant death.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2004

    Wonderful Resource!

    This is a book I have given to many friends who have lost babies due to miscarriage. The book covers any baby lost too early, even to abortion,which can be unsettling to a mom who has recently lost her very wanted baby. But no other book I've read to date has answered so many of my questions, or given me such hope and comfort. It's a great resource for ministers and family members, too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    I'll Hold You In Heaven.

    This is a great book for those that have had a mis-carriage or if you have lost a child. Highly recommend this book, it is a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1