Customer Reviews for

I'll Scream Later

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Disorganised but Full of Love

    Reads like a stream of consciousness piece and I liked that. I really felt that Marlee was talking and signing to me. A story of her amazing life. Brutally honest and at times quite brave, Marlee asks for no excuses, apologies or pity for who she is. She just lets us know, lets into her world for a little while. Sometimes the order is confusing but it can easily be over come. And it should as this is a fantastic story that should be shared with hearing, hard of hearing and Deaf alike.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    a bit self fulfilling

    interesting but it made me think Marlee's #1 is herself, not her family or anyone else

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Not a completely horrible book as far as biographies go. However

    Not a completely horrible book as far as biographies go. However, it was difficult getting through Marlee's seemingly love affair with herself. I am wondering why she felt it necessary to include quotes from acquaintances that lauded her in one way or another...seemed to me she was screaming, 'It's all about me...wow! I'm great, right?' The narcissistic nature of the book made it difficult for me to get through; as a matter of fact, I did not finish it, as it just dragged on and on.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Worth Screaming Over.

    I initially had borrowed this for my ASL class. I was doing a project on her, and figured why not? I ended up being unable to put it down. It's a beautifully written portrait of a stubborn and strong-willed woman. Some people might find her too off-putting, but I see it more as determination. She had to fight a great deal of outside adversity and her own personal demons. A great, and rather inspirational journey. Must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    Disjointed

    As a retired school librarian, biographies are my favorite.This book was extremely difficult to follow. Each chapter seems to be a short story sometimes connected with the previous and sometimes a chapter in the future. Disjointed and difficult to follow. It's more of a I did this, I did this, I did this.... She refers to her husband and kids before chronologically the reader is introduced to them. Sometimes in the same context of making love to the current boyfriend. Disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Moving and Inspiring

    I found this book to be compelling and very moving. I think Marlee is extremely brave to bare her soul as she did. She has been an inspiration to me and should been an inspiration to anyone with any obstacles they may face in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    Great book if you want to know how the deaf culture interacts with us

    Marlee's life is full of ups and downs. She has been everywhere and done everything. But what really amazed me was how she was able to fluidly live in both hearing and deaf worlds. She truly is an inspiration and shows that you can be whatever you want.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    Marlee Matlin is a huge inspiration!

    What an amazing book! You must read this, Marlee Matlin revealed many shocking facts about her life, and it's amazing how she got through that, becoming one of the most successful people in life, A MUST-READ!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sorry you can't borrow this one.

    My friends and I typically buy books and pass them around; economic entertainment. I bought "I'll scream later" the moment it came out and am now forcing my friends to buy their own copies, as this is one book worth having. I really hated to see this story end, I've read many autobiographies but none as captivating and real as this one. I hope she writes another and soon. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2