Customer Reviews for

Ill Wind (Weather Warden Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Ill Wind

Joanne is literally a woman marked for death. As a weather warden, she commands great power, always for the good of humanity, but she's always been a little uncontrollable. The head weather wardens' fears seem to be proven true when she apparently kills a senior warden ...
Joanne is literally a woman marked for death. As a weather warden, she commands great power, always for the good of humanity, but she's always been a little uncontrollable. The head weather wardens' fears seem to be proven true when she apparently kills a senior warden and acquires a demon mark. Now, Joanne is on the run, trying to prove her innocence and attempting to track down a fellow warden who can help her, if he will. If she didn't have to cope with people trying to kill her and Djinn with their own agendas, not to mention their masters' agendas, she might have a shot at it. Her only ally is a mysterious hitchhiker, and that is not a constant. There is Rahel, but the Djinn has a major attitude problem, and Jo can not bring herself to trust the spirit being. With time running out, Jo is forced into a battle that will have a surprising outcome. ........................ **** Take a little of the Fugitive, toss in some Kim Harrison or Janet Evanovich, and something totally unique, and you will get this book. Jo's running commentary on life has a sarcastic wit that is sure to make you grin. There is a sensuality factor, but it's not the all too common overwhelming, show and tell entirely too much that is the norm. Rather, it simply adds a touch of spice. The ending twist is one you won't see coming, but the originality is worth kudos to Miss Caine. ****

posted by Anonymous on December 27, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good

I enjoyed this book. By page 130 (almost half-way through) I was surprised to realize not much had actually happened yet. While world-building is important, especially in a book where magic is used in an unusual or new way, this story seemed to have a lot of set-up fo...
I enjoyed this book. By page 130 (almost half-way through) I was surprised to realize not much had actually happened yet. While world-building is important, especially in a book where magic is used in an unusual or new way, this story seemed to have a lot of set-up for me. That being said, I wouldn't say it was boring at all, just a little slow. The story did pick up a little at that point, although it never felt super fast paced even once the action started. I liked the characters a lot (esp David and Rahel), and although I was sure David would be incorporated into the plot somehow further than his initial introduction, I was pleasantly surprised how things worked out. The last few pages definitely gave me an unexpected twist and I'm interested to see where the story will go from here.

posted by Sandra027 on May 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 193 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2005

    Ill Wind

    Joanne is literally a woman marked for death. As a weather warden, she commands great power, always for the good of humanity, but she's always been a little uncontrollable. The head weather wardens' fears seem to be proven true when she apparently kills a senior warden and acquires a demon mark. Now, Joanne is on the run, trying to prove her innocence and attempting to track down a fellow warden who can help her, if he will. If she didn't have to cope with people trying to kill her and Djinn with their own agendas, not to mention their masters' agendas, she might have a shot at it. Her only ally is a mysterious hitchhiker, and that is not a constant. There is Rahel, but the Djinn has a major attitude problem, and Jo can not bring herself to trust the spirit being. With time running out, Jo is forced into a battle that will have a surprising outcome. ........................ **** Take a little of the Fugitive, toss in some Kim Harrison or Janet Evanovich, and something totally unique, and you will get this book. Jo's running commentary on life has a sarcastic wit that is sure to make you grin. There is a sensuality factor, but it's not the all too common overwhelming, show and tell entirely too much that is the norm. Rather, it simply adds a touch of spice. The ending twist is one you won't see coming, but the originality is worth kudos to Miss Caine. ****

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read!

    I totally loved this book! It was quick and the plot was original- let me tell you there aren't that many these days! I loved the writing, characters, plot and so many other things that I read this book in a matter of days...! Oh you should read this book before even looking at the others in the series... Would I recommend you read this book; yes!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2004

    A fantastic read!

    I loved this 1st book in Rachel Caines series. It was quick, witty and thoroughly entertaining. If you're a big fan of Jim Butcher and Charlain Harris, the Weather Warden series is a must!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    I enjoyed this book. By page 130 (almost half-way through) I was surprised to realize not much had actually happened yet. While world-building is important, especially in a book where magic is used in an unusual or new way, this story seemed to have a lot of set-up for me. That being said, I wouldn't say it was boring at all, just a little slow. The story did pick up a little at that point, although it never felt super fast paced even once the action started. I liked the characters a lot (esp David and Rahel), and although I was sure David would be incorporated into the plot somehow further than his initial introduction, I was pleasantly surprised how things worked out. The last few pages definitely gave me an unexpected twist and I'm interested to see where the story will go from here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ehh...

    Honestly this is my favorite series ever. But the first book was not that good at all, but u need it to read the rest, which is when it becomes awsome. Once u read the end of the second book you will be hooked! This book gives u alot of information at once, but u need it or it just wouldnt make sence. It is definatly a good idea to read this book and even if you dont like it, read the next one because then you'll understand why people love this series and u'll find urself buying the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Joanne Baldwin is a Weather Warden, she is able to control the w

    Joanne Baldwin is a Weather Warden, she is able to control the weather and potentially lessen the danger in natural disasters. She is on the run to seek out Lewis, the most powerful warden alive in attempts to save her life. Ill Wind is a race against the clock, Joanne has to find Lewis and save herself before the other Wardens find her. There are more than a few bumps in the road for her.

    The types of characters in Ill Wind was refreshing. I read a lot of Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy so all of the vampires and such can be tiring. There are Djinn and also wardens which control elements. The bulk of the story focuses on Joanne, so it's mainly full of weather wardens. Though a tad bit on the slow side when the book starts, it quickly progresses until you can't set it down. If you haven't read Ill Wind yet, I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Fun! Worth the read, but not a masterpiece

    Loved the story, though the continuity lapsed in some places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    As the wind blows...

    Great story! Fast paced. Perfect ending. Would have given 5 stars if Oversight/Aeathric/Weather info was a little easier for me to understand. Looking forward to book 2! Glad to know I now have a sizziling series to get me through the hot summer!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Great Read

    Didn't think that would happen at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    So-so

    Just okay. I like the Outcast Season series much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ehhhhhh (some spoilers)

    Typically most "book ones" in a series tend to be the setting-up book. So I may purchase the second book for this reason alone. I have to admit that it is original, but the book falls flat for me. The pace is what killed it. The author would spend so much time on events that she should have wrapped up in a few paragraphs. I'm like really? I'm scrolling through my Nook and 5 clicks later, she's finally done with that scene. But then she rushes her into bed w/ David. Way to build that one up. I'm not for building up tension until it kills you, but geez, set it up before you hop her in bed with him! The reason why I'm not positive if I want to even buy the second book is b/c the first one didn't even hook me in enough to finish it! I just skipped to the end to see what the result was. Another *ehh* moment for me was when she is describing the main character wearing certain pieces of clothes. All purple, velour, hot. Those words don't ever belong together in any sentence, in ANY time period.

    My friends and I all agree. When we first picked up the Mercy Thompson and Kate Daniels series, we weren't drawn into the first book until halfway through. But then it hooked us and I'm a huge fan. This book didn't even redeem itself to me 3/4 of the way through and I started to skim a lot. Sooo, who knows. When I'm bored and dying for my favorite authors' new releases to come out, I might try Book 2 just to give it another go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Praise for Ill Wind

    I bought my copy of this book around the same time that I purchased Glass Houses. I loved the premise of the novel and the way that the author carries it off, but I was left wanting in terms of how she carried of the final conflicts in this part of the novel. But it was good enough that I picked up the second book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    Ill Wind Review

    Very original, very interresting story line, with very likealbe characters. The only warnings I must offer are some sexual references throughout, and a bit of profanity throughout. I found the profanity to be distracting. It took away, but gave nothing in return for me. The writing style and character development are very good and did not need the foul language. Still a very good story that made me check out book 2 which I recently finished. It left me hanging, so on to book 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Storm of Fun

    I picked this book up at the suggestion of a B & N employee and from the first page was drawn into the well thought out plot. The main character was very likable and the story line unique and riveting. I've already ordered more of her books and can't wait to dig further into this series -- as well as some of her other series'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Creative Look at a Force We Seldom Consider

    "Ill Wind" is a fun read with a rather unusual premise. I don't think I have ever read a book where the weather was the antagonist in quite this way. This book had me hooked from the first chapter and I was glad that it was part of a series because I was not ready to say goodbye to these characters at the end. I enjoyed Rachel Caine's writing style and she has created a fun universe that I look forward to exploring more. There was a little sex (far less than most romance-genre novels and about on par with just about any other genre) and quite a bit of profanity. Overall, this was a fun book to read for an escape and I would recommend it to those looking for an interesting easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Passably good entertainment

    For a first in a series, I found Ill Wind to be entertaining, if a bit formulaic. Put it to you this way; it's a decent story, the characters are relatively interesting, but it's essentially Janet Evanovich in a fantasy setting. This is not necessarily a complaint, however. The worldbuilding is great, and there's nothing wrong with Janet Evanovich's characters. Definitely a recommendation for those who like her series. <BR/><BR/>I do have one complaint, although this may be just me; I don't shop in the scifi/fantasy section for a romance. If I wanted heaving-bosom writing, I'd be in the romance section, and I don't entirely like reading a decently entertaining fantasy novel and suddenly getting slapped in the face with a shower scene straight out of an erotica. <BR/><BR/>Even so, I'm going to read the rest of the series, mainly because I love the world the books are set in and I want to see what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2008

    loved it

    very enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2008

    Be prepared to spend the whole day reading...

    Seriously, once you pick up this book you will not be able to put it down. I read it in one day, and now I re-read the series every year before the release of the next book. Just finished book 7, (another one sitter) and can't wait for book 8. This series rocks!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    Addictive!

    I really enjoyed this book. I don't know what took me so long to give this book a chance but i'm glad I did. The book was original and exciting to read. The lead character is flawed but I was happy she didn't keep making the same stupid mistakes over and over. I especially loved the ending of the book and can't wait to see what happens next w/ David and Jo in book two. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    It was okay!

    I bought the whole series cause I love the idea of people being able to play with the earths elements. Well I read the first book and it took me forever to get through it! Read the first book see how you like it then try the other ones. They are all just the same. My sister loved them though so it all depends on the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 193 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10