Customer Reviews for

Illicit Magic (Stella Mayweather Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    Illicit Magic drew me in as each character made his/her way into

    Illicit Magic drew me in as each character made his/her way into protagonist's Stella's life. The best part of this tale is that it unfold and we are treated to a great tale of magic and suspense, which should not be divulged to you, the "to be reader" in a book report format. No, you are too smart for that. Whom would you trust? Why does Stella have certain instincts? Who can she truly, truly trust? And, at the end, we are really only beginning to know her- as she is only truly beginning to know herself. Read it! Teri Lenz Filkins Iroquois Reading Council, NY

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Great story

    Well written with interesting characters. A little off the beaten path which makes it interesting. Looking forward to the next in the series. So glad to discover Miss Chafer's books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    I would like to thank R2R and the author as always for giving me

    I would like to thank R2R and the author as always for giving me a copy to read for a review! These programs allow me to find fantastic new reads just like this one :)

    I would like to start with saying that the bad guy totally threw me at the end. I was not expecting that one... I was guessing in those lines but wow! I know that's vague, but no spoilers! I like that it's written in first person for this book because I like that I get to see Stella's thoughts as she goes through the obstacles and I like the things she says to herself.

    I also LOVE the characters, especially the supporting characters like Kitty and Etiole' (I think I'm spelling that right). And her original thoughts on people, like Robert, can be so off... Also, Evan is just HAWT!!!! I mean come on!!! Also, her growth with magic (stella's) is a fun ride.

    The writing was a little funny, since it's a UK version, things like pyjamas cracked me up, and also some sentences like "snogging my best friend" made me laugh. Funny how everyone has their own wording yet we all know what it means! It is still well written and I am well on my way to getting book 2 & 3, as I REALLY wanna know what happens, especially after that last chapter :) Overall 4 stars for me :) Good book!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Entertaining

    First few pages were hard to get through (awkward writing) but got much better thereafter

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    (I was given this book for free on a read-to-review basis.) Stel

    (I was given this book for free on a read-to-review basis.)
    Stella is 24 and has had a difficult life. She ended up in foster care at the age of 5, can remember very little of her life before then, and has also had to live with unexplainable occurrences which have in the past had people labelling her a witch.

    On leaving work one night she realises that she is being followed, and tries to escape her pursuers. Narrowly avoiding them she makes it home, only to be harassed by a woman called Etoile, who randomly turns up at her door and demands to be let in. After ‘shimmering’ (like teleporting) her way into Stella’s apartment, Etoile explains how a group who call themselves ‘the brotherhood’ are chasing down women all over Europe who they believe to be witches and burning them at the stake.

    Etoile takes Stella and they
    catch a plane to America where she meets with a witch’s council, and is moved to a safe house where she will be able to learn about magic and how to use it, because Stella’s parents were witches, which means that that the magic is in her blood.

    I quite liked this book. I found it a little difficult in the beginning – I just didn’t find that it held my attention very well at all. This improved at just over half-way through with the introduction of a sexy love interest, and the mystery surrounding him.

    The ending was okay. It was a little odd that the main threat wasn’t what was really after Stella at the end, but I suppose this left the way open for the second book. I will say though that I am getting a bit fed up of all these books which leave a partial cliff-hanger ending. I hate not knowing how a story ends!

    Overall, an enjoyable read, and I would consider reading the sequel.
    7 out of 10.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Must check it out!

    I enjoyed the first one so much that I purchased the next two. Enjoyable and funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Icetear

    XD fluttershy again doing what she does best keep writing

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Must check it out!!

    I had fun reading this book. I'm on the second one and I'm excited to see what happened to Evan....can't wait...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Great story

    Definitely will continue with the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Good story; likeable characters

    The author does a good job with the characters. The middle of the book is a bit bland, but it certainly begins and ends well. There is some explicit sexual content, so I would not recommend it for young teens. I plan to read the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    I enjoyed this book

    It was worth reading it. It has some likeable characters and of course its share of villains. Good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Twenty-four year old Stella Mayweather is and has always been al

    Twenty-four year old Stella Mayweather is and has always been alone. She spent her childhood in London’s foster care system and was shuffled from one home to the next because of the “strange things” that occurred when she was around. Now, as an adult, she shuffles herself from job to job to avoid the recurrence of any “strange things”. She is lonely and recognizes that her life holds little promise of change.

    Boy is she wrong. We quickly find out that her life is in danger and that if she wants to stay alive she must embrace her new life and learn her craft fast. We are all taken on an adventure as Stella learns what those strange occurrences really were, who the Brotherhood is and why they want to kill her, and most importantly as she learns to trust and open her heart to friendship and possibly love.

    This book is fast paced and has great characters that all have mysteries and stories of their own.

    There is a blend of suspense, mystery, magic, romance, and fantasy that will have you staying up late into the night to finish the book, which is what I did. Thankfully book 2 was already out because I definitely wasn't ready for it to be over.

    I ended up purchasing all of the books that are currently available in this series and read them one after another.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    great story!

    great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Good start to a new series

    I had a little trouble getting into Illicit Magic at first. The first 80 pages or so are a lot of new information that wasn't quickly digestible for me. However, once Stella gets to America the pace really picked up, and I was glued to the pages.

    The characters in Illicit Magic are very well written, and I enjoyed learning about each of them. Stella's life since foster care has been terribly mundane. She didn't have any friends because people noticed that she was different, and they were scared of her. She was horribly alone, and she came across as drab, dejected, and well.. boring. Once she arrives in America and is surrounded by people like her she really becomes a different person. Watching her bloom truly was magical. The rest of the characters are so much fun to get to know. They each have their own mystery and instead of knowing everything there is to know about each of them right off the bat, the author slowly reveals their pasts and secrets in this very slow but satisfying way. I really enjoyed that about Camilla's writing style. I had just settled into this lovely story line and all of the sudden a new and unexpected twist was thrown at me. All kinds of hell broke loose, and it was thrilling to read. I was instantly in love with a few of characters and really hope to see them again in the next book. Yep, Illicit Magic is book 1 in the Stella Mayweather series. I was so glad to find out that the ending of this book wasn't really the ending of the story.

    Side note: Just a little pet peeve I had with the book was that the editing wasn't great, and sometimes I got distracted by Camilla's English dialect. This may be why it took me a little while to really fall into the story as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Magic, Romance, and Danger= Good Read!

    Stella's life is suddenly turned upside-down when after being attacked; a strange girl takes Stella to an entirely new life. Stella finds out that she is a witch, and there are other people like her, people with special abilities, magical abilities. This group of witches wants to train Stella in her magic, and keep her safe from witch hunters. However, danger continues to plague Stella wherever she goes.

    It took me a little while to get into Illicit Magic. When starting a new series, I know that it can take some time to understand the characters and the world, but I had a difficult time with the flow at first. However, the more I read, the more I was able to get into the feel of the story. When Stella begins her training at the house with her fellow witches, I really began to love the book, and Stella. For a girl who was clumsy and a bit socially awkward, Stella adapted really well to her circumstances, and even experiences some steamy romance. I also enjoyed the other characters in the book, especially Evan and Etoile. The magic is very cool, with spells and teleporting, and everyone having their own unique gifts and strengths. This book has a younger generation feel, kind of like a college dormitory group. It was not too young at all, definitely adult and definitely entertaining.

    I grew to really like Stella. By the end of the book, Stella is a new person. She has new knowledge and new determination. She holds herself responsible for more than she should, and I am hoping that she continues to learn and grow. I also enjoyed the other characters in the book, especially Evan and Etoile. I am looking forward to seeing what's next for Stella and reading more by Camilla Chafer in the future.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    First book of Stella Mayweather series... Awesome!

    Right now, if I could, I'd love to read the second part of this series just because I really want to know what happens next to Stella.

    But first thing first, you need to know what I'm taking about, right? Illicit Magic is the first book of this series and introduce us to Stella, a simple girl with a simple boring life, and not because she wants a boring life but because everybody is scared of her so they keep their distance.
    Why? Well, as you can guess from the title of the book there's something special about Stella: she can use magic. But since she doesn't know what's "wrong" with her all type of weird things and calamities happen around her. So she is always alone and kind of used to it. That is of course until a series of horrible murders happened in England and her live turns upside down as she turns out to be the next target...

    Stella is a strong girl, she has learnt to take care of herself and, despite the fact that she never had a friend is a very nice and easygoing person.
    In this book we can see a "love triangle" between Marc - a warlock that for some reason can't use magic-, Stella and Evan -Stella's teacher- that is a very handsome man that hides a secret and that seems to dislike her a lot. At least in the beginning, that's it.

    Camilla's writing was very good, I could always picture the people, the scenes and the fights and for that I'm really happy. The variety of characters and their personalities was really... how can I describe it? Entertaining I think is the right word. I personally enjoyed this book a lot, I can't wait to read the next one!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Illicit Magic, first in the unique Stella Mayweather adventures

    Blurb More than three hundred years after the most terrifying witch hunts the world has ever known, it's happening again. Young witch, Stella, has to put her faith in strangers just to stay alive but she might not be any safer in their midst than from the danger she is running from. There is more than one dark secret in her new family: Étoile's sister is spoken of in fear and sadness; Marc is supposed to be a powerful witch but is missing his magic; where does the owner of their safe house vanish to every day and why does Evan have the eyes of someone not quite human? There is only one secret that someone will do anything to keep quiet, but whose secret is it and will Stella have to pay the price for silence? My Thoughts Stella Mayweather has been sent from pillar to post most of her life after losing her parents at the tender age of five... Never staying in one place for long due to strange occurrences which cause her foster families to quickly pack her up and ship her back to social service workers. After finally turning eighteen Stella moves out on her own and makes her way as best she can... Now at twenty-four Stella has settled into a routine of living in one place, going to work each day and coming home each night without much variance from day to day... Suddenly attacked one night she is thrust into a nightmare from which she barely escapes when a strange young woman appears at her flat and whisks her away before she loses her life in a fire set by her previous attackers when they find her at home... Throughout Stella's story as we work our way through all the mysteries that surround her past and all the day to day drama that encompass her present circumstances one thing becomes clear, she is a special young woman who despite her harsh beginnings has strength and admirable amounts of courage. The unraveling of the answers as to who, what, why, when and where take place at a good pace and by the end of the book when the final showdown occurs the reader has learned quite a bit about each of the young witches and the instructors that Stella is placed among to learn how to utilize her craft... The eye opening reveal of the person responsible for the attacks against Stella and her new friends was one that I had figured out a bit before the final showdown but I still had a few surprises to come when other secrets were revealed as well, all in all this was a well thought out original story that had just enough romance thrown in to appeal to a wider audience than just those looking for a good paranormal read! The burning questions in my mind is what will Stella do next? What happened to Evan? What happened to Marc and Kitty? To find out one must continue the series with book 2 Unruly Magic which I intend to do as the story was just getting to the good part when it ended! I strongly recommend this book to those YA readers looking for characters who are young adults in their 20's that can be sympathized with by older people like myself as they have more relatable circumstances going on in their life than someone who is only in their teens. The book is geared more towards adults over the age of 17 as there are sexual scenes that while not explicit are not meant for young readers... I have to disclose that this book was an e-arc copy submitted to me by the author via The Bookish Snob Promotions for an honest review and that there is no other compensation from her, the tour host or the publisher.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2