Customer Reviews for

Illuminations

Average Rating 3.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

MUST HAVE

though at the time of this review only a single (Hidden Away) is out and not the whole album, the single blew me away. Plus, Josh Groban is like a fine wine, he just keeps getting better with age!

posted by Tardiscrewmember on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

David Foster,where are you??

I will always like listening to Josh Groban's music...but the real problem with great singers is the trouble they get into when they want control over their choices of music. Humans grow and change and they want their music to reflect that...however, great producers,lik...
I will always like listening to Josh Groban's music...but the real problem with great singers is the trouble they get into when they want control over their choices of music. Humans grow and change and they want their music to reflect that...however, great producers,like Foster, should be the ones choosing the music,and the singers should come in and just sing their best. We, the listeners, are not going through the life changes Josh is going through, so who cares about this music? His upper register is having problems,especially the falsetto. Please, Josh, go back to the wonderful innocence and exquisite mystery of your first albums. Get rid of this producer...go back to Foster and let him pick the music.

posted by abcdefg on November 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    MUST HAVE

    though at the time of this review only a single (Hidden Away) is out and not the whole album, the single blew me away. Plus, Josh Groban is like a fine wine, he just keeps getting better with age!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    A brave and thoughtful move from Josh

    It seems that many customers here gave their reviews based on what they have heard from the 4 preview songs. I would say, if you are really a big Grobanite as you claimed to be, please give him the respect and patience he deserves; at least review on a complete album, not just 4/13 of it. That said, I'm giving my review after the fourth listen to the whole album (for people wondering how it is possible by Nov. 15, please check Josh's Facebook page). Two words, ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL. If I didn't listen to the whole thing, I would probably agree with many other reviewers. "Hidden Away" was, in my opinion, mediocre at best; "Voce Existe Em Mim" is better for its refreshing drums, but I can see why some people dislike it. "Higher Window" is good to listen, but not too special. "L'Ora Dell'Addio" is a beautiful piece with that familiar operatic flavor, again, not too special. With these thoughts, I pressed the play button for the album... And was totally awe-struck after 3 minutes of listening. I used to be very skeptical about people making a big deal of track ordering, but this album just shows me that track orders do matter. Even though I think "Hidden Away" is a weak track, I don't want to skip it when I'm listening - this album just has that nice flow, making me want to listen from the very first minute to the last. When I fit the puzzles of preview songs into the big picture, they sound better than they used to. The album demonstrates how a good album should be - a collection of songs built around one concept, but each has its own flavor. (I wrote about the songs, but the review exceeded the character limit, so I had to delete them...) My favorite songs in the album: Bells of New York City, Galileo and War at Home. This is one of the rare albums where I cannot find any song I dislike. Even with my long time favorite "Closer", I can pick one or two. In this sense, I should probably list "Illuminations" as my favorite Josh's album so far. True that the songs seem not to have that mind blowing power as some old Josh's songs do - and I think they are not supposed to be. The songs in "Illuminations" are more introspective, and more refined. They take more times of listening, but once they are awake, they will grow on you. I find it rather sad that some people regard Josh merely as a singer. If you only want to listen to good voices, you can find a bunch out there. What makes Josh special is his passion and emotion. Surely we can't go through what Josh has been through, but if there isn't his experience and emotions in those songs in the first place, how can we get these out of them and be moved? The older albums were artistically beautiful, but this one definitely has more soul in it. In this recording, I really hear the maturing of this musician. Yes, I mean musician. Have I mentioned that he wrote or co-wrote 11 of the 13 songs? This album is a showcase of his musicianship, and a well executed one. Combining the skillful song writing, the brilliant voice, and the smart arrangement, Josh delivers yet another great album. Overall, I'm more than content to see that Josh becomes an outstanding musician. Accomplished as he is, he's still venturing to new territory - in the music world, this is what keeps a musician young. "Illumination" is a brave and thoughtful move, and deserves to be appreciated and embraced. So, go your own way, Josh, and I will follow you!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    Love it!

    Beautifully written songs by Josh and gorgeous orchestrations. This is Josh at his finest.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    Great!!!!

    I don't understand the poor reviews. Yes this album is different and when you first listen you are not quite sure what you think of it. But this is Josh-just let him in and he will grab you with his voice an never let go.

    I'm sure by the 2nd or 3rd listen you will agree this is a captivating album!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    Stunning CD!

    Can't wait to get my hands on this. Have already downloaded the four songs released as singles and they're without a doubt absolutely stunning. Josh wrote or co-wrote 11 tracks on this CD and allows us to enjoy his growth as a song-writer and musician. This CD is different from his other albums but if you enjoy a more refined grandiose treatment then not to worry since Josh stated the other day that he'll probably make another album with David Foster in about a year so you'll get the full-blown effect in that CD. Personally I'm looking forward to this one for the minimized treatment and more honest sound.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    A MUST HAVE FOR ANY JOSH GROBAN FAN!!

    I recently saw Josh in concert, and although his live performances are even more spectacular than his recordings, his voice is matched by no one. His soothing, rich baritone voice melts your heart as you hear some of the most beautiful songs ever sung by him. Josh Groban is my favorite artist of all time, and YOU MUST OWN THIS ALBUM.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    Bravo! Love this CD!

    This creates a totally different mood than his past work (which has always been excellent). He seems to give more of himself both in the writing and in the performance. His singing is always beautiful but I think there is more emotion and power throughout this CD. His falsetto is crystal clear, right on the mark, and adds excitement to the songs. I love his classical work but hope to hear more of this style as well. Beautifully done - Congratulations!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    It is simply wonderful...

    After having a couple favorites listening the first time around, there are those songs on this album that have quickly become favotires as well. Very well done showcasing the simplistic artistry and creativity that this voice can express. I absolutely love this album!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    A Must Have!

    When I first opened the cd and I inserted it into my player. It started with an instrumental. A beautiful melody that became an instant all day hum to a beautiful fall day. The second song took me to a really dark mysterious corner of New York City. I imagined myself on the corner outside of an apartment building standing there looking up into the window and imagined myself at home with that special someone on a dark snowy night listening to church bells ringing. The third song Galileo reminded me of a very young audrey hepburn strolling though central park in love at springtime..on broadway..very very romantic and soaring like the sails in the wind of galileo's kiss ahhhhh what an unbelievably haunting violin in the L'ora Dell'Addio it just takes your breath away and makes you want to float on clouds and sing the lyrics and feel this music let your feet dance across the skies..Hidden Away, for someone who struggles with the ability to say what is in your heart..you must find the courage to sing what is the truth..behind what you feel. Dont be afraid to reveal your love. The next Au Jardin Des Sans Pourquoi..can you say the eiffel tower in paris..a beautiful day surrounded by the arms of your one great love..oh the happiness you feel inside when you are eating morning pastry on the germaine..who can forget this next one..it is absolutely breathtaking..Higher Window shows us all just how much that special someone shines their light down upon us. The next If I walk away...answers the question will you follow me. The truth is sometimes in love we all have that ending questions If I walk away today will you come and follow me..you want to say YES YES YES when you hear this song. Then some where across the open waters under the pale moonlit night..on a sailing ship..coming to terms with loss..perhaps you decided not to follow..perhaps you thought it would just be better if you left but then Love Only Knows..correct..see..then we travel to Portugal and Brazil..Perhaps on a whim..to be met on the strange new lands with the thundering heartbeats of a thousand cultures at once..they are singing how much they exhist in the souls of others..around the world..Voce Exhiste EM Mim tells that story..it shares with you the most exotic of tales..Then you step onto the foreign lands of Iraq where the soldiers fight for causes not of their own..they get up every day with the soil in their hands and they keep running forward and they dont stop..suddenly you black out and wake up scared as hell and wanting to keep on going..but you cant..you are held back by something more powerful than you could imagine..still while you are there..your spouse and loved ones is fighting the War at Home. In the distance you hear an ominous sound of church hymns..while a small casket is carried..up the center aisle..while the choir sings on..their is deep sadness in their eyes..and there in silence..you confess that all you've ever known you've known because it has been you..so no matter what happens in this life..when I am found to be in trouble..I run straight to you..and that is indeed a great blessing..This whole album illuminates a passion..stirs the soul and brings upon a sense great wonder and takes you to places around the world only you dream about..This album is a great masterpiece, a wonder of artistry that is so creative..it makes you get inspired to sing the melodies, read the lyrics and enjoy something great..So go out and enjoy today now! you wont regret it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2010

    Brilliant!!

    This is a wonderful departure from the Josh we know - but yet isn't that much of a departure. The voice, the power to evoke emotion, to touch our hearts is still there. This time though, we have stories that are purely Josh's. His life experiences, about people, love, lessons learned - some of them no doubt difficult ones. It's so different than his other albums, filled with songs based on the voice alone. Beautiful, grandiose, but still other's stories, thoughts, lessons. This one is simple, pure, elegant, powerful in lyrics, rich with musical mastery from all of those who contributed to the songs. Another tremendous plus of this album is that we can actually HEAR Josh's voice. What a treat that is!

    My suggestion would be to learn the stories behind some of these songs - then maybe those who gave it a negative review would appreciate what it stands for.

    And for the die-hard David Foster fans who seems to be put out because he didn't choose hin to Produce this time - by the way Rick Rubin is a master at his craft - Josh's recent interviews have not counted out his working with the great DF again. But even with his extraordinary talent, David would never have been able to draw this depth from Josh. It may help him, however, in the future to listen more closely to his artists feelings.

    And by-the-way - to those who did review it negatively. Are you by any chance fojg'er's? I mean how else - except for a few chosen ones - would you have heard the album already? It was just released a couple of days ago for his paid fanclub to hear. If you are, really???? really!!! If you aren't, you don't really expect anyone to base their opinion of this wonderful musical journey on your idea of a few clips, now would you? I certainly hope not! What would that say about us?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1