BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Illuminations [B&N Exclusive Version]

Average Rating 3.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!

The little preview clips on this site do not do the songs justice. You must listen to all the songs in their entirety. I just heard them all as a member of Josh's fan club. Love it. Laura

posted by lzeller on November 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I think this was a big mistake for JG!!

With such an amazing voice as Josh has, the songs on this CD are actually boring and sound like most of them were an afterthought with a little falsetto thrown into each song for good measure. Have loved his previous CDs, but this one is a mistake in my book. I hope t...
With such an amazing voice as Josh has, the songs on this CD are actually boring and sound like most of them were an afterthought with a little falsetto thrown into each song for good measure. Have loved his previous CDs, but this one is a mistake in my book. I hope that he will work with David Foster again as soon as possible -- Rick Rubin was a wrong producer choice which goes along with the terrible choice of songs. The richness of JG's baritone is not present on this CD. I know it will probably be 4+ years before he puts out another CD, and I hope that he will return to his previous method of singing and working with amazing producers who know how to push him to let that voice soar in some amazing melodies and orchestrations.

posted by Joaker on November 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Amazing!

    The little preview clips on this site do not do the songs justice. You must listen to all the songs in their entirety. I just heard them all as a member of Josh's fan club.

    Love it.

    Laura

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    Loved It - Highly Recommended

    Congrats to Josh Groban and everyone invovled in this CD - it is truly womderful to listen to. It's great to listen to an artist who really cares about his craft, instead of just churning out the same old stuff over and over - and Josh is in top form, showing real artistry in this collection of beautiful music. My favorit is "Galileo" which is just amazing, but also "Higher Window" and "Hidden Away" are automatic classics. "The War at Home" captures a lot about what we need to express to our soldiers returning home. Every song is beautifully produced and as sung by Josh, a heartfelt experience. Highly recommended for everyone who loves good music.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    His voice is stronger than ever...must have CD

    This CD shows the progression of Josh's music and brings us his exquisite vocal abilities in an amazing collection of new songs. The phrasing and emotion in each song shows the depth and maturity of Josh as an artist.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    BRAVO!

    We must never confuse different with better or worse, somtimes it is just different. This collection of songs is slightly different from what we have heard from Josh Groban, but the voice is unmistakably clear, and beautiful. We as listeners must move with Josh on his journey into different types and styles of musical offerings. His voice only grows stronger, and for most of us, that is what we love most.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    I think this was a big mistake for JG!!

    With such an amazing voice as Josh has, the songs on this CD are actually boring and sound like most of them were an afterthought with a little falsetto thrown into each song for good measure. Have loved his previous CDs, but this one is a mistake in my book. I hope that he will work with David Foster again as soon as possible -- Rick Rubin was a wrong producer choice which goes along with the terrible choice of songs. The richness of JG's baritone is not present on this CD. I know it will probably be 4+ years before he puts out another CD, and I hope that he will return to his previous method of singing and working with amazing producers who know how to push him to let that voice soar in some amazing melodies and orchestrations.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    Amazing new look on an established artist!

    Wow, Josh has definitely outdone himself this time.
    In his 5th studio album "Illuminations"(where he pairs with Beastie Boys producer Rick Ruben), we are all shown a much purer side of an artist.
    This album can literally be defined by the title "Illuminations", in that the songs illuminate Josh's baritone voice from all angles allowing us to hear him in yet another aspect. In Illuminations, Josh also shares a part of himself with each listener, with the muted theatrics and by using some of his own songs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this album stinks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this album stinks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    What happened??

    When Hidden Away was released as a single I was extremely excited for this album. I pre-ordered it and couldn't wait for the release date... and then it came. I just have one question now: why, Josh, why? I am a huge fan, but not of this. I can say that I sincerely love one song and like three on Illuminations. The rest I give full permission to disappear from my iTunes. I would like the old Josh back, oh, and David Foster. In the meantime it looks like I'm going to have to wait three more years for Josh to fully redeem himself.

    And don't even get me started on the Hidden Away music video, which fully destroyed my initial appreciation for the song

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    would NOT recommend highly

    I thought the album was terrible,maybe one good song. Not typical Josh Groban!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    True Grobanites will enjoy!-same dreamy voice but different song types

    Although the songs on this cd are a bit different in style/type and not so 'pop' they still sound beautiful! The album is very injoyable. Josh is a tenor (not a baritone) and there is a ton of feeling and expression in the songs on this album. The album has a different overall feel, compared to the types of songs he performed on other albums, but they still reflect his deep emotion in the lyrics and his voice carries the inspiring expression of his heart in each song. Josh Groban is so well rounded and unrestrained in his choice of songs...not stuck on one 'kind' of song as is typical of most other artists. This album helps prove that. Add this one to your Groban Playlist, it does fit!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Josh never ceases to amaze

    Josh continues to recreate himself, and bring us new exciting music. You never get tired of his music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this album stinks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this album stinks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2