Customer Reviews for

Illusion

Average Rating 4.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

After an absence on the writing scene after a number of years, F

After an absence on the writing scene after a number of years, Frank Peretti has come back in full force with his new novel Illusion.
A cross seemingly between sci-fi and reality this book has substance that carries you from cover to cover.
The characters are real, b...
After an absence on the writing scene after a number of years, Frank Peretti has come back in full force with his new novel Illusion.
A cross seemingly between sci-fi and reality this book has substance that carries you from cover to cover.
The characters are real, believable and magical, which completely fits into the scale of the book.
While written from what I believe is a Christian World View (it's a completely clean and wholesome book), it is not in anyway preachy so if you generally don't read Christian fiction, don't let that stop you from picking it up.
Fans of Peretti and new readers alike should enjoy this latest novel.

posted by DorianSD on March 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Let me first begin by saying that I love Frank Peretti's books,

Let me first begin by saying that I love Frank Peretti's books, and I'm proud to own, and have read, all of them.

With that said, I had a hard time with this book. The idea was there, but the execution was not. It was extremely slow, and it took me an entire week to ...
Let me first begin by saying that I love Frank Peretti's books, and I'm proud to own, and have read, all of them.

With that said, I had a hard time with this book. The idea was there, but the execution was not. It was extremely slow, and it took me an entire week to chug my way through this book (and I am a very fast reader...I normally read a book in 2 days max). While I'm glad Peretti's "back", and I'm disappointed in this book. It's definitely one that won't ever be read again.

posted by 4093958 on April 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    I'm a fan of Peretti's stories that blend supernatural plots wit

    I'm a fan of Peretti's stories that blend supernatural plots with a Christian theme, and this one took a different turn with a time travel plot, taking the reader in and out of the past and present lives of Dane and Mandy, a married couple who comprised a magic act in the entertainment industry. When Mandy dies in a car accident, or so everyone thinks, Dane is devastated, but when he discovers a young woman who looks just like Mandy did at that age, and has the same uncanny ability to do magic tricks, he is perplexed, but so is she because she doesn't understand the connection she seems to have to him.

    At first the story is hard to follow because so little is explained in the beginning when the young woman wakes up to find herself decades in the future. We know on some level it must be Mandy but it is impossible...or is it? That is the question Peretti brings to the reader as the story takes twists and turns, but stick with it and the questions get answered.

    I did enjoy this book but had to concentrate more than usual so as not to miss some important piece of information that explained the strange things going on within the time-space continuum storyline. I think fans of Peretti's books will welcome this newest title. It falls under the Christian fiction genre, but there really wasn't as much of a Christian theme to it compared to some of his other novels.

    I received a copy of this book for review from the publisher but the opinion of it is my own and was not solicited, nor was a positive review required.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Intreguing

    Had my total attention from start to end. I have yet been disappointed in any of Mr. Perrettis work. The inside view of master illusionists was very insiteful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A soulmate connection transcending space and time.

    In Illusion, Mandy is the perfect character. I couldn't imagine who would be more perfect for this role than a magician. The author Peretti worked his own magic, weaving this tale. I felt Illusion started out a little slow but picked up momentum as the chapters moved forward. What I was totally not expecting were the twists and turns I encountered throughout the story. The story felt as if it was gliding along the lines of a past life experience yet the story did not go that way at all.

    As Mandy sits against a tree at County Fair, she suddenly has a strange feeling that leaves as soon as it arrives, yet it has left her different. It dosen't take Mandy long to realize her reality has changed and now, as she runs around the fair in barefoot and in a hospital gown, she can't find anything that looks familiar or anyone she knows, not her friends not her father, who she knew was at the livestock building with his llamas. Soon Mandy finds herself in a hospital psyche ward trying to convince the staff she is not crazy and from there things only get stranger and stranger.

    Illusion has a little bit of everything in it; love, joy, faith, suspense, mystery and a nice touch of science fiction which I found to be the most interesting and my favorite touch. This book is not lightweight as it has 512 pages yet I found myself reading it rather quickly once I got started. The writers prose is easy on the eyes which makes for comfortable reading.

    Filled with mystery and intrigue this love story will leave you in awe as Dane and Mandy reconnect after Mandy has moved back in time and is now 40 years younger. It leaves the reader with full awareness of what it may feel like to meet ones soulmate from a different generation, yet not be able to connect due to an age difference.

    Toward the end of the book one comes across some real anticipation as the story peaks to a crescendo leaving one wondering what may happen during the great illusion Mandy is getting ready to perfom. At this point Mandy has now learned the truth about her life and is left with only one option, an option that may end her life instantly. What will happen to Mandy? Will she and Dane lose each other for good or will they be reunited and continue to live the rest of their life together?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Amazing

    When I first read the book I thought it was confusing...caught on loved the ending. But, when I read his summary of what he was trying to convey. I wrote 4 pages in my journal. I pray to have the yearning for the bridegroom that she had for her husband.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    A little long!

    I enjoyed this book,but the first half did drag by. For the first 200 pages, Ifelt like I just wanted to get to the end to figure out what was going on, but the second half went quickly and was eventually pretty satisfying. It is a sci-fi type story, so do not expect reality. It kind of reminds me of issues in the movie "The Lakehouse", good characters and story, not realistic at all. Overall, good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    This book is a lot of fun. It is part love story and part scien

    This book is a lot of fun. It is part love story and part science fiction--sort of like the Time Traveller's Wife. I really enjoyed reading it and thought it was a great story.

    Some other reviewers have complained about this book in relation to others by this author. I think Peretti was purposefully doing something different than he did in his “…Darkness” books. Also, there have been complaints that it isn’t “Christian” enough for some people. I, for one, prefer to read stories that are well woven tales, rather than threadbare excuses for some sort of glib sermon held together by narrative gestures. Jesus himself told stories, and not usually the kind that were direct sermons—think of the steward who was commended for ingratiating himself with others as he forgave debts owed to his master; or the widow who had to nag a corrupt judge into listening to her complaint. Peretti doesn’t lecture in this book and the story is one that can be enjoyed on a variety of levels. I wouldn’t characterize it as especially “religious.”

    You do suspend some disbelief to enter into the “illusion” that he creates, and there were a few spots where I felt like it didn’t hold up. For example, how did she cash the $1000 check (pg 105) without ID? But for the most part, there was enough detail there to draw you into his imaginative tale. I had fun reading it and would recommend it to any reader, Christian or not, who wants to enjoy a tale of two people who were meant to be together—across all the dimensions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Classic Peretti

    Loved Illusion! Action and sci-fi, plus love story...really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is one of the latest books to land on my desk and I have t

    This is one of the latest books to land on my desk and I have to say that I really enjoyed it. This is a Sci-Fi novel with religious undertones. Frank Peretti is known as a Christian author but he never gets heavy handed with religious rhetoric or dogma until you reach the ‘Note from the Author’ section. The religious aspects really only play a part in explaining how the science has limitations that are best explained with the thought that a person has a soul and that “playing God” does not include bringing someone back from the dead. This is a very good book, not on the Orson Scott Card level but good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    Illusion is the story of Dane and Mandy, a popular magic act, hu

    Illusion is the story of Dane and Mandy, a popular magic act, husband and wife team, and how they are tragically separated by a car accident that claims Mandy's life. As Dane mourns the loss of his 40 year life partner, he tries to continue on with life as Mandy would have wanted, by finalizing the details on their dream retirement ranch in Idaho, near where Mandy grew up.

    During this time, Mandy, who has died, suddenly wakes up in the present, in the body of the 19 year old she was in 1970. Waking up this way, disoriented and confused, she is confined to a mental institution, until she discovers a miraculous, magical ability, which allows her to walk invisibly through time and space. Confused and alone in the modern age, she escapes to the only place she knows, home. Unable to find any hint of her family ranch, and no sign of her beloved father, she attempts to make a living as a street magician, where she "meets" Dane again.

    Dane feeling a strong connection to this amateur street performer, reaches out to her and gives her a few tips to put her on the right direction. Feeling an instant connection to this young woman who is so much like his wife, Mandy, Dane is confused. Taking his advice to heart, Mandy or Eloise, as she is calling herself now, works out some unexplainable illusions and begins working in a local coffee shop. Dane, looking for amateur talent, happens upon Eloise and her unexplainable magic tricks, and their new relationship begins.

    This was an interesting and tragic love story with a truly unique twist. Knowing that the author and his wife have been married for forty years, the authenticity of Dane's loss and confusion felt genuine. I could just tell that the author was projecting what and how he would feel if something this tragic had ever happened to him. Overall, the story reads like a love story, written for the author's wife. Beautiful and poignant.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the Publisher through Handlebar Marketing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Melissa's Eclectic Bookshelf Reviews

    When the chance presented itself to read Frank Peretti's new novel I jumped at it. I hadn't read anything of his since middle school when I fell in love with his books This Present Darkness and Piercing the Darkness . Illusion did not disappoint. It is a mind bending tale of love and loss, of hope and faith, and of man's unending desire to play at being god.

    The characters and their back story are incredibly well fleshed out....so much so that it is impossible not to feel for their present situation. The secondary characters also each got a bit of their own tale...although I wish that we had gotten to know the motivations behind the villains a bit more. On the whole though, I almost felt like there was a little too much descriptiveness and detail (and I almost never say that) but there were definite points where the novel did feel as if it dragged a bit.

    I tried my best not to get bogged down in the technical/sci-fi conundrums of the time/space issues inherent in this kind of story. I think that Peretti did a great job of giving us more than enough detail to make it all seem "possible" and at that point it is our job to suspend disbelief and just enjoy the story telling.

    I was captivated by the "unconventional" love story and the unbelievable mystery throughout and could not help myself from rooting for Dane & Eloise despite the uncertainty and oddness of their situation. The conclusion of the novel was both spellbinding in it's beauty and grandeur (Indeed it was a "Grand Illusion" ) and left me immensely satisfied.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1