Customer Reviews for

Illusion

Average Rating 4.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

After an absence on the writing scene after a number of years, F

After an absence on the writing scene after a number of years, Frank Peretti has come back in full force with his new novel Illusion.
A cross seemingly between sci-fi and reality this book has substance that carries you from cover to cover.
The characters are real, b...
After an absence on the writing scene after a number of years, Frank Peretti has come back in full force with his new novel Illusion.
A cross seemingly between sci-fi and reality this book has substance that carries you from cover to cover.
The characters are real, believable and magical, which completely fits into the scale of the book.
While written from what I believe is a Christian World View (it's a completely clean and wholesome book), it is not in anyway preachy so if you generally don't read Christian fiction, don't let that stop you from picking it up.
Fans of Peretti and new readers alike should enjoy this latest novel.

posted by DorianSD on March 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Let me first begin by saying that I love Frank Peretti's books,

Let me first begin by saying that I love Frank Peretti's books, and I'm proud to own, and have read, all of them.

With that said, I had a hard time with this book. The idea was there, but the execution was not. It was extremely slow, and it took me an entire week to ...
Let me first begin by saying that I love Frank Peretti's books, and I'm proud to own, and have read, all of them.

With that said, I had a hard time with this book. The idea was there, but the execution was not. It was extremely slow, and it took me an entire week to chug my way through this book (and I am a very fast reader...I normally read a book in 2 days max). While I'm glad Peretti's "back", and I'm disappointed in this book. It's definitely one that won't ever be read again.

posted by 4093958 on April 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I love Frank Peretti books. Truly a magnificant book, especially for those who are interested in how the mind works, mental health and magic. It will keep you reading until you have finished. The beginning is as good as the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    A little long!

    I enjoyed this book,but the first half did drag by. For the first 200 pages, Ifelt like I just wanted to get to the end to figure out what was going on, but the second half went quickly and was eventually pretty satisfying. It is a sci-fi type story, so do not expect reality. It kind of reminds me of issues in the movie "The Lakehouse", good characters and story, not realistic at all. Overall, good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    This was a difficult read for me. I actually love Frank Peretti

    This was a difficult read for me. I actually love Frank Peretti's works, but the technical, futuristic descriptions were more work than enjoyment. That being said, it was still a very good story and well told.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Okay

    I love Frank Peretti's books, so I was excited to read Illusion. While I enjoyed the story's sudden plot twists and characters, I found I didn't like this book as much as some of his other books. I was often confused and.. well, bored. I would definitely recommend some of Peretti's other books (The Oath, Prophet, This Present Darkness), but I honestly think this book fell short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    This book is a lot of fun. It is part love story and part scien

    This book is a lot of fun. It is part love story and part science fiction--sort of like the Time Traveller's Wife. I really enjoyed reading it and thought it was a great story.

    Some other reviewers have complained about this book in relation to others by this author. I think Peretti was purposefully doing something different than he did in his “…Darkness” books. Also, there have been complaints that it isn’t “Christian” enough for some people. I, for one, prefer to read stories that are well woven tales, rather than threadbare excuses for some sort of glib sermon held together by narrative gestures. Jesus himself told stories, and not usually the kind that were direct sermons—think of the steward who was commended for ingratiating himself with others as he forgave debts owed to his master; or the widow who had to nag a corrupt judge into listening to her complaint. Peretti doesn’t lecture in this book and the story is one that can be enjoyed on a variety of levels. I wouldn’t characterize it as especially “religious.”

    You do suspend some disbelief to enter into the “illusion” that he creates, and there were a few spots where I felt like it didn’t hold up. For example, how did she cash the $1000 check (pg 105) without ID? But for the most part, there was enough detail there to draw you into his imaginative tale. I had fun reading it and would recommend it to any reader, Christian or not, who wants to enjoy a tale of two people who were meant to be together—across all the dimensions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Classic Peretti

    Loved Illusion! Action and sci-fi, plus love story...really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    GREAT BOOK!!!

    Time convergence, retracing...didn't always understand it but I sure enjoyed reading about it. I always know that when I read a book written byMr. Peretti I will always need to think while at the same time being drawn into the story and caring about the people. ILLUSION is about hope and faith that God will work things out without being preachy or predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Great!

    I couldn't stop reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    I set a bit of a challenge for myself with this book. I wanted t

    I set a bit of a challenge for myself with this book. I wanted to see if I could read it in a week’s time. I know for some book devourers that isn’t much of a challenge, but for me, at this stage of my life, it is. Usually it takes me a week and a half to two weeks for a 300-400 page book. Illusion is just shy of 500 pages long, and I have a lot going on right now…

    Part of being able to meet the challenge, of course, depended on the book. I’ve enjoyed Mr. Peretti’s books in the past, but it has been awhile since I read one. Also, I’ve become an author myself since I last read one of his books (Monster in 2005). My standards are doubtless a little higher. And from the Illusion back cover text, I wasn’t really sure what to expect here. It seemed decidedly different from Peretti’s earlier works. Did he still have the goods? Could he help me reach my goal?

    Short answer: Yes. Illusion was a book adequate to the task. I looked forward to reading it during my spare moments. It is a rich, very human story. Very distinctive. What I’m most impressed by, I think, was the fact that it could be such a page-turner without having a strong villain for much of the book. (There are villains here, but they are subtle and often hidden.) I think much of the pull for me was in trying to figure out how the author was going to explain this speculative scenario he constructed. Where in the world was he taking me?

    I found the conclusion to that mystery both satisfying and unique. Overall, it was just a fun, yet fulfilling, story. And to prove it: I reached my goal with a day to spare. Thanks, Frank!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    NOOK REVIVAL

    Please help us reach all nook users for Christ at "revival for god" first result †††

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Awsome!

    Breathtaking love story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    Great book - a MUST read!!!

    What a great book! Frank Peretti comes up with the most unusual story lines!! This one has me on the edge of my seat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    disappointing

    I have quite liked Frank Peretti's books in the past and was expecting the same quality of spiritual warfare. I realize that this book is also about spiritual warfare of a different and modern kind, but it was not what I expected. It is a good love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An ok book, but kind of a letdown for a Peretti novel

    Illusion by New York Times Bestselling author Frank Peretti was frankly, a bit of a letdown for me. Peretti has long been one of my favorite authors in the area of Christian fiction, always dazzling me with suspense, mystery, and a deeper meaning in his work. This time however, I was very disappointed.
    I found this book to be quite boring actually. It seemed to never quite draw me in the way that some of his previous books have. I think that one of reasons I didn’t quite get into it was the characters. They were all very flat, and also very forgettable. I think that in order for this to be a stronger story, the characters need to be a bit more dynamic.
    Another thing that I didn’t really care for in this book was how the dialogue and storyline seemed to jump around from person to person/perspective to perspective. I normally don't mind these kind of breaks, but in this book I found them to be a bit confusing at times.
    I did like the authors added note in the back of the book, relaying the less obvious but deeper meanings that can be found in this book. I think that it was a great move to put that in there, and will give readers something to ponder on after they have read this book.
    I also enjoyed the basic storyline in this book, the sort of science fiction with a twist. It was very refreshing compared to the normal science fiction story lines that have been storming the shelves lately.
    Although this book didn’t meet my expectations, I would say that this book was an OK book overall. I would recommend this to someone who enjoys a mystery, with just a touch of science fiction!
    ;)


    *I received an ARC copy of this book from the publisher/Handlebar marketing. It did in no way influence the outcome of my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Megaa Megaquilt

    Loved this book. Kept thinking about it when I wasn't reading. Good job Mr Peretti

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Nothing short of brilliant

    Truly enjoyed this book from start to finish. At first I was skeptical, because I am a "romance/suspense" lover. But this was highly recommended by many friends...so I purchased it. I was glad I did. The plot was intensely satisfying and the characters beyond interesting and three dimensional to boot. I really liked this book. Worthe your time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    Good Book

    Was wondering where it was taking me....turned out 2 b a really good book. Have always liked Peretti books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Great

    It's another amazing peretti novel! Soon to be another one if his classics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is one of the latest books to land on my desk and I have t

    This is one of the latest books to land on my desk and I have to say that I really enjoyed it. This is a Sci-Fi novel with religious undertones. Frank Peretti is known as a Christian author but he never gets heavy handed with religious rhetoric or dogma until you reach the ‘Note from the Author’ section. The religious aspects really only play a part in explaining how the science has limitations that are best explained with the thought that a person has a soul and that “playing God” does not include bringing someone back from the dead. This is a very good book, not on the Orson Scott Card level but good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    Interesting Concept

    I wasn't too sure about this when I started but the plot really draws you in. It has a magical climax.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5