Customer Reviews for

Illusions (Laurel Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 636 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(434)

4 Star

(126)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Seriously??

I read the book in a day. It did drag in some areas but was a really good read. I must say that im a little dissapointed as this is only half a book. And now we have to wait how long for a follow up? We only end up with one answer and an anticlimatic ending. And pay...
I read the book in a day. It did drag in some areas but was a really good read. I must say that im a little dissapointed as this is only half a book. And now we have to wait how long for a follow up? We only end up with one answer and an anticlimatic ending. And pay another 9.99 to finish. I feel a bit let down by the author.

posted by BibbityBobbityBoo on May 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

To Be Continued...

These books are really entertaining and fun, but are terribly non-conclusive. I found it hard to get back into the story because there was such a long wait between book releases. I guess I just didn't enjoy it as much as I could have. My recommendation is that if you ha...
These books are really entertaining and fun, but are terribly non-conclusive. I found it hard to get back into the story because there was such a long wait between book releases. I guess I just didn't enjoy it as much as I could have. My recommendation is that if you haven't started the series yet, wait until they are all written. If you liked this series, you might also like the "Wicked Lovely" series by Melissa Marr, "Nightshade" by Andrea Cremer, and "I am Number Four" by Pittacus Lore.

posted by BluHawk on June 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I can't stand Laurel!

    Brought to you by guest reviewer Jennifer Jensen

    *Beware of Spoilers*

    At the conclusion of Spells, Laurel has chosen between her human boyfriend David and her fairie could-be boyfriend, Tamani. She thinks it is for the best that she and Tamani don’t speak again for the sake of her relationship with David. At the beginning of Illusions, Tamani inserts himself back into Laurel’s life, attending her school and masquerading as a human teenage boy to guard over Laurel.

    Laurel once again becomes confused over her feelings between David and Tamani, and David’s jealousy of Tamani eventually drives Laurel to break up with David. While Laurel is free of David, she gives in to her passion for Tamani, and wonders what being with him could be like. Meanwhile, a new foreign exchange student has caught Laurel’s and Tamani’s interest. They are certain that she’s a fairie, just like Laurel, who has been raised by human parents. Laurel is unable to get close to Yuki, so Tamani must befriend and faux romance her to find out the secrets that she is hiding. Laurel makes an important discovery about their new friend, just a little too late.
    I was tentative about even beginning Aprilynne Pike’s series, mostly because there was an author blurb from Stephenie Meyer, whose books I unfortunately did not care for. Once I started reading Wings, I was really interested in Pike’s take on fairies because no other fairie author had come up with anything quite like she has. I absolutely love the mythology tidbits that Pike includes in her novels, especially when she has gone into their history and tells stories of how fairies were involved with Camelot and other civilizations. However, it’s Laurel’s personality and the one dimensional characters that completely ruin these books for me.
    I was happy to make it past 100 pages without being super annoyed with Laurel and how she treats David and Tamani, and even Chelsea. I think it’s pretty obvious to anyone who has read these books who Laurel really wants to be with–and it’s not David. David doesn’t really have any depth to him; he’s a nice guy, who is smart and attractive, but that is about it. Those characteristics are not enough to attach me to a literary character. Tamani is fleshed out a bit more because of his interesting fairie qualities, but he can also get just as annoying as Laurel. Finally the moment came that I was waiting for–when David and Tamani would break out into the inevitable fight over Laurel.

    I can’t say this enough–I don’t like Laurel. She says one thing and I really want to believe her, but then her actions go against what she’s just said. Laurel claims that she doesn’t want to string anyone along, but she breaks up with David–and rightly so–because of how he is acting. But then she immediately falls into Tamani’s arms and shares passionate lip locking with him. I lost any like I had for her after she decided to manipulate David into being her date for a dance, but only after her best friend confessed feelings for David to her. Laurel needs to make a choice once and for all; she broke up with David, then made out with Tamani, then decided she couldn’t stand the idea of anyone else with David, so she leads him on some more. Laurel doesn’t deserve a boyfriend, or a best friend who is as loyal as Chelsea....

    Review continued at openbooksociety dot com

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    An Annoying Love Triangle

    Firstly, this book ends on a huge cliffhanger, which bothered me, but after reading Pike's defense (the last book will only span only a few days), I could understand why. I could accept that.

    What really bothered me about this book was the love triangle. It was in the rest of the books, and I actually enjoyed it, but this one, it really felt like Pike was intentionally manipulating it. Sure, she's the writer, so she's always manipulating it how she wants, but when it's intentional that she's trying to steer the whole thing in another direction, I have to roll my eyes. It's even worse how quickly the aftermath is cleaned up. It's less messy to kill off a character so that the girl could be with the right guy than it is for the two guys to wage war over her and then after everybody loses, to act like friends.

    Without all that drama, I would've enjoyed this book much more. I hope Pike doesn't continue outdrawing this love triangle in the next book. I like David and Tamani (though Tamani much less after this book) but I'd rather have one of them killed off in the first chapter of the next book so that Laurel won't continue with this indecisive drivel.

    Besides that, I enjoyed the rest of the book. Unfortunately, that triangle takes a large chunk of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Cyrus

    I really gtg. Bye

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    you Must read all these books. i highly recommend them. Even though they are in the teen section I really enjoyed them and Now I can share them with my grand-daughters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Disapointed. I had high hopes for this series

    The first book was great, one of my favorites. There was not very much action in this book at all. Right when the book started to peak, it ended. It seems after Disney desicded to make a move otu of this book, it was dumbed down. Maybe for younger ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1