Customer Reviews for

Illusions (Laurel Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 637 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(436)

4 Star

(126)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Seriously??

I read the book in a day. It did drag in some areas but was a really good read. I must say that im a little dissapointed as this is only half a book. And now we have to wait how long for a follow up? We only end up with one answer and an anticlimatic ending. And pay...
I read the book in a day. It did drag in some areas but was a really good read. I must say that im a little dissapointed as this is only half a book. And now we have to wait how long for a follow up? We only end up with one answer and an anticlimatic ending. And pay another 9.99 to finish. I feel a bit let down by the author.

posted by BibbityBobbityBoo on May 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

To Be Continued...

These books are really entertaining and fun, but are terribly non-conclusive. I found it hard to get back into the story because there was such a long wait between book releases. I guess I just didn't enjoy it as much as I could have. My recommendation is that if you ha...
These books are really entertaining and fun, but are terribly non-conclusive. I found it hard to get back into the story because there was such a long wait between book releases. I guess I just didn't enjoy it as much as I could have. My recommendation is that if you haven't started the series yet, wait until they are all written. If you liked this series, you might also like the "Wicked Lovely" series by Melissa Marr, "Nightshade" by Andrea Cremer, and "I am Number Four" by Pittacus Lore.

posted by BluHawk on June 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 436 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    excellent - read it in one day!

    loved it as much as the first two. I could not put it down once it arrived on my Nook and was up until 2am to finish it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Amazing!

    I loved it! Tamani is my favorite, he sounds so cute. The beginning is a little slow but once you hit the middle you cant stop reading! I was so surprised at the ending! Really well written, it had me guessing throughout the whole book. I cant wait for the next one to come out! Anyone know when it does?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Awsome book!!!

    I wish the wings saga would be made into a movie already. Everyone should read these books. I hope Lorael would pick Tam already David is a good person and all but i perdict he'll end up with Chealsie. I still have to buy the third book in the series, but i read the first and second and they were great.
    I would say reading age is13 and up and i'm 14 and i love it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    A MUST read....

    I LOVE this series.....I got the first book, Wings for free & was immediately hooked! The cliffhanger ending didn't bother me so much, I know there will be another great book to follow & can't wait until it comes out! I know a lot of people are Team Tamani but I have to say he's a bit over the top & its kind of annoying....chances are she will be with him in the end but I'm still a Team David fan!! Great book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    hurry!

    cannot wait! i must know when this come out, or i will surly spontaneously combust! no really, i am coocoo for this series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    Can't wait!

    I love this series and am so excited for this new book to come out! I highly recommend.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Just read me!!!!

    I haven't yet read this book or the next one but I know for a fact that i'm Team Tamani. Tamani is so sweet and lovable I have no idea how Laurel could choose Daniel over Tamani.When she yelled at him in the second book I was super pissed and I couldn't believe what she was doing. I just hope that in the next 2 books she realizes that if she lives her life with Daniel he will die about 50 or so years before her. I also hope that she comes to her senses and realizes that Tamani has given EVERYTHING up for Laurel and she still doesn't realize that if he could, he would give even more up just to make her happy. Laurel in my opinion is thickskulled and she can't realize how much Tamani really loves her. It is so annoying and I just hope it gets through her mind. Other than the whole Tamani vs Daniel thing this series is AMAZING so far I can't wait until I can get the next one fron my school library. Except I haven't been able to go to the library since last thursday. Well anyway wish me luck. And if anyone could tell me if it gets through Laurel's thick skull about Tamani I would appreciate it. Thanks for reading!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    A TOTALLY HOPEFUL GIRL (everyone plz read randomly)

    I usally am not in to the romancey stuff...... but i just finished the second book and im about to read this one. I love this series!!!!!! Im totally starting to hate David though. Backoff dude! Tamani and Laurel are soulmates! I really really really really want them to end up together!!!!!!!! Let David date Chelsie or something. Faeiries together forever!!!!!!!!! Screw humans!!!! -Madison

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Great fantasy series

    The series is definitely a great read for young adults/teens, especially if you love faries ;). It's great to read a fantasy book like this that doesn't have to do with vampires for once.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Best series ever!

    This is my favorite series ever. The ending was a cliff hanger. The book was very interesting and had alot of drama. I think that this was the best book of the series. The author never disapoints me. I defintaly reccomend this book to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT series

    I have thought that this is a good series since the first book, Wings, and it just keeps getting better with each book. In Illusions, we get a lot more of Tamani which is a GREAT thing, in my opinion. Tamani is still protecting Laurel but this time it is from an unknown threat. Trolls are also still lurking but something has changed which causes the faeries to feel vulnerable. I highly recommend this series to anyone that likes series with adventure, a little suspense, and of course love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2015

    Ilusions

    Amazing! I loved it! So good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Iy yi.i ??niinm u,n immv.nijumai.. yqum imk

    Ymini,iqyijui .i m.juy? J.j.i.i.moiaq.iu jinn.mjj.M kqn..mu
    Iuu
    ?mkm ua piB.jiui.i..y.hman . Iglnujjyi.i. k .im .imut uMi.ija.iiumb,jim. U.j

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    *

    Good but at the begining it really dragged but the end was really good this book was exciting at pionts and boring at others okay with the writing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    There is even more of the mythology that I love so much in this

    There is even more of the mythology that I love so much in this book.  Like in Spells, Shakespeare's writings are the human retellings  of faery lore, Shakespeare being one of the few mortals allowed into the confidence of the fae.  There are also other "human" faery tales that are mentioned as a part of the mythology of this faery world.  All of this means that there is much more of the reimagined Avalon and the mythology of King Arthur and Camelot.  Mab of traditional faery lore is also a part of the story line this time.  

    I loved the humor involved with bringing technology to the faerie sentries of Avalon on temporary duty in the human world.  Not only do they have iPhones, but the little detail of mythology that the touch screens don’t work as well with the plant cells of the faerie as they do with the animal cells of the humans and their innate electrical currents is hilarious as  they try and try to make them work.  

    I also liked that the boy rivalry between David and Tamani, although faerie versus human, was typical of boy struggles that we all know of.  Chelsea’s moment of vulnerability came when she confessed to Laurel about her feelings for David, a touching moment, but one that seemed less realistic than the situation between David and Tamani.  This isn’t really a normal teenage girl situation, especially handled as it was in the book.  I really loved that this whole situation wasn't glossed over at all.  In fact, sometimes Laurel's inability to get it together was downright annoying.  But these are very human traits and reactions and made her character one that a reader could feel for.  I liked that Laurel was portrayed as more personally strong with the two boys than she had been, no longer wary of sticking up for herself.

    Laurel really grew in this book, seeming to embrace her faerie side far more than she had in the previous books.  The increased sentry presence in the woods behind her house prompted her to make potions and powders to keep them safe, showing more confidence in her faerie skills than we’ve seen before.  She also became more of a “thinker” in this book.  Her growth as a person was obvious in how she handled situations and choices that had to be made.  She spent more time thinking things through than she previously had.  

    Things to love about Illusions...

       --The mythology.  There was even more in this book, which I loved.
       --The characters.  They were engaging and interesting and always evoking emotion.
       --Tamani.  While I liked Tamani in the previous books, I always felt like he only existed, both for the author and for the story itself, in support of Laurel.  Everything about his character was about Laurel, with nothing of Tamani himself.  That expanded with this story, especially in his dealings with Yuki and his conflicted feelings with her.
       --The tone.  The last 25% of the book was much darker than the rest of the book, and the rest of the series.  That was probably my favorite part because it became much more intense and intriguing for me.  It made the book a bit of a changing point for the story, really amplifying the struggle between the human world and the faerie world of Avalon.

    Things I wanted more or less of...

       --A little more progress.  For much of the book, the entire premise was to discover the truth about Klea and Yuki.  The true action and progression only took place in the last 25% of the book.  I still enjoyed the book, and there was progression, it was just a bit drawn out.  90% of the climax of the book took place in the second to last chapter, just before concluding in a cliffhanger.

    Some quotastic goodness...

       --As soon as their eyes locked, the months since she’d last seen Tamani shrank from an eternity to an instant (3).
       --He’d been back for about two weeks, and everything in Laurel’s life had been thrown into chaos.  Sexy, sexy chaos (40). 
       --“I just don’t want to cozy up to the guy whose girl I have every intention of stealing,” he said flatly, without looking at her (51).  
       --“But love is something that has to be as selfish as it is unselfish. You can’t make yourself love someone because you feel like you should. Just wanting to love someone isn’t enough (113).”  

    My recommendation:  I absolutely love this series!  I definately recommend this one, but only after reading Wings and Spells.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Can't wait for the next one!

    This one has a lot of little details that are twisted in the story! But it's still such a good book! I just kinda didn't like how the boys kept fighting over laurel but I mean that boys always fight over the girl that they love! I think it's crazy that Tam how he went to the school as a human! I don't want to give to much away but I can't wait till the 4th one comes in the mail!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Dani

    Ok. :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Tam!

    Team Tamani!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    A Great YA Series! I am not sure I would call it amazing, but I

    A Great YA Series! I am not sure I would call it amazing, but I do find it better than most YA books. I feel connected with all of the main characters whom are all well developed with individual personality. The mystery builds in this segment until it ends with a BANG cliffhanger. (You will want the next one in hand before the last chapter of this one.) Laurels relationship with her parents is smoothed out which I felt calmed things a bit though she struggles with other relationships. She is trying to decide who she really is or wants to be.

    It is nice to see Tamani in the human world and have some chapters in his voice to get to know him better.

    Like most of the YA books, there is still too much focus on the physical romance and not enough of just enjoying friendships, that you can have more than one great friend at this age. They do not need to make all of their life decisions in High School. There is life after HS – enjoy it!

    Overall, this book is very hard to put down and I am enjoying the next one now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A fantastic sequel!

    This book had a wonderful plot that really focused on Laurel and the conflict within the double life that she is leading. Pike was able to meld the fairy world and the human one seamlessly. I would recommend this book to any lovers of fantasy and everyone that has read the first two laurel books. It does not suffer the illness that most books do late in their series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 436 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22