Customer Reviews for

Illusions: The Adventures of A Reluctant Messiah

Average Rating 4.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    This book tears down the fabric of reality and alters perception

    This book tears down the fabric of reality and alters perceptions, yet it is light, entertaining and engrossing. It is a story as unlikely as an auto mechanic turned messiah, turned barnstormer from the holy lands of Indiana; a glass of spring water in a literary world polluted with the lead and chlorine of writing for the mass market.

    Richard is a barnstormer pilot of a Fleet airplane who flies out of the cornfields of the American Midwest selling ten minute rides for three dollars. His is a free existence, sleeping under the stars with a belly full of pan bread that only he can love. His unburdened mind flies with the idea that reality isn't. That men could fly if they could only forget that it was impossible. One sunny day he lands his Fleet next to a better-than-mint Travel Air 4000 and finds the teacher for whom he has been searching.

    This is a book that belongs on life's reading list.
    Richard rediscovers a bond of friendship with Don Shimoda that extends beyond this life. Don teaches Richard what he has yet to remember; that he can walk on water and swim through dirt; that this life is a story of our own creation from which we are meant to simply learn and enjoy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2006

    Grace or blasphemy? What a choice.

    I first received my copy in the late 80's. Its been my favorite Chrismahanukwanza gift since then. To say, ¿Thou art G-d,¿ starts to grasp the power and joy this book can bring you. It may, however, challenge you to question your beliefs or relationship with your higher power. This challenge may be blasphemy to organized believing. I hope you see past that. The discovery of your being a part of that power can be your salvation and let you acknowledge your personal state of Grace. The friend that gave me my first copy told me it was magical. She said I could randomly open the book to any page and, like an I-Ching, see what answer I needed. She was right. Besides all the religious overtone I got from the book, its a nice story and any easy read. I read it every year and highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Ascension in a nutshell.

    That's what this book is about. Merging the human with our inner divine nature, and what that looks like in our lives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Book

    My all time favorite book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Get this book!

    This is Richard Bach¿s masterpiece. If you want to invest 2 hours straight in reading a book, this will be the one, and this will probably be the best investment ever. Bach¿s adventure is full of inspiration, get ready to be blessed with joy, beauty and wisdom.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    The most masting The most amazing book

    The most amazing book I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Purchased this for a friend that has worn out 6 previous copies. He found it helped him stay centered. Very inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    Amazing!!! Thought provoking the first time I read it, and again, 20 years later!

    An amazing book! I keep buying it because I keep loaning it out and not getting it back. Whenever I buy one for a friend, I end up having to buy another one for myself b/c I get engrossed in it all over again. This is NOT the book for the devoutly religious! However, the open minded reader will find lots to chew on in the book and in their lives. HUGELY recommend!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    When your juoury is opening up, Illusions will either come to you or you will find it.

    A powerful book that allows you to reflect upon your own life with a greater sense of creativity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2008

    Still life changing

    Just when I think that I've figured out the meaning behind the book my life shifts and I'm finding a new meaning. The book is fantastic. I've officially bought twelve copies of this book because each time I loan it to someone to read, they end up asking to keep it. Actually, I've just purchased my 13th copy as a gift for someone so I can keep my own since I finally got a hard copy edition. I also keep the 'handbook' in my purse and have introduces so many to it that I really should work for Barnes & Noble or Mr. Bach himself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2007

    Picean age into the Age of the Aquarious!

    Richard has been to the mountain top! As someone said, 'truth embodied in a tale shall enter lowly doors'. This book was given to me over 10 years ago. I read it, thought it was good, however, I did not get the real essence. The teacher was present but the student was not aware. This is the news that was behind the veil in the holiest of holies in the temple. Thank God that veil was rent in twain. Now we must open up our gates and remove our own /illusion/veil in order to see the Divine light that resides in you and everything else. MESSIAHS! Forward! March! .......did you hear the call....???

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2007

    Life Changing Book

    This book was given to me in 8th grade by my Astronomy teacher and it COMPLETELY changed my point of view in life. At the age of 14 you start doubting so many things, but this book ceratinly helped me see what life really is and means.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    An Experience

    I got this book from my guitar teacher Matt like two or three years ago and I couldn't put it down. This book is like candy for the mind and imagination. If you believe in God or you don't, if you want to believe, or if you just want insight this book is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2006

    By far his best work!

    Many readers claim that Jonathan Livingston Seagull was Bach's best book. Although a similar concept that is more digestable for young readers Jonathan Livingston Seagull did not compare. In Illusions Bach sets your mind free with a new and outlandish concept of the world and life that begs to be considered. Being a Catholic it nagged at my preconceived notions of Jesus, his message, and his struggle. I think the notes on the first couple of pages say it all with no religious overtones! What a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2006

    Succinct & Sound

    The author's creative genius shines in this outstanding masterpiece. I have gifted this book to all those wanting such information. Because of its brevity, so called non-readers are suddenly looking for more similar style evolutionary pieces of work (albeit few and far between). The smudged and handwritten 'notes' prefacing the story in the later printed paperback edition render this book near perfect. You rule, Richard Bach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT LIFE!

    THIS BOOK SAVED MY LIFE BECAUSE AT A TIME WHEN ALL SEEMED LOST A FELLOW SOROR OF THE ROSAE CRUCIS HAD ME READ IT AND AT FIRST I DIDN'T WANT TO DO ANYMORE READING ESPECIALLY BY AN AUTHOR WHO WROTE A BOOK ABOUT SEAGULLS! BUT LIFE IMITATES ART AND ALL I CAN SAY IS I HAVE A HEALTHY OUTLOOK ON LIFE AND THERE IS NO GOOD OR BAD, RICH OR POOR, SICK OR HEALTHY PEOPLE ON THIS EARTHLY PLANE. WHAT WE SEE, HEAR, TOUCH AND LOVE CAN ALL BE EXPLAINED IN THIS ONE IN A MILLION BOOK, THAT COMES ALONG AND TRANSFORMS A PERSONS LIFE FOR THE BETTER AND OFFERS A NEW WAY OF SEEING LIFE UP CLOSE AND PERSONAL. IF YOU NEVER READ A BOOK IN YOUR LIFE AND DECIDE TO? THIS *is* THE BOOK FOR YOU! *WINK*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2004

    OH MY GOSH!!!!

    An Amazing Book! It's a great for everyone. No matter how old you are you should READ THIS BOOK!?!? My only complaint is that its too short but still definitely one of the best books I have ever read!?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2004

    WOW

    I can't say enough good things about this book! Possibly the most touching and enlightening book I've ever read. It might just change the way you look at life (for the better). You'll feel like walking on water after you read it:))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2004

    The Most Valuable Book That I Ever Received

    I received this book as a gift commemorating a religious occasion. It showed me what Sprit truly is and how to connect with it. What more valuable gift could there be?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2004

    Unbelieveably Astounding

    Essentially, this is the book to read to understand yourself and your own context better. What could be more important than that?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4