BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Illustrated Man

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read for All!

    This book is a wonderful collection of short stories that can be read as a single novel. Not only does the collection offer a great read for any science fiction fan, the book has a bit to offer in other areas as well. There are touches of politics and religion in the book as well as a look into the future and past and the what if's that could have been or could be. If you have ever never read a Ray Bradbury book, this is the place to start. Followed by The Martian Chronicles, and Fahrenheit 451.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Of course this book is a classic, as is most of what Mr. Bradbur

    Of course this book is a classic, as is most of what Mr. Bradbury created. I read this first in my younger years and it has stayed with me all my life. Pulled out the same copy I’ve had since I was a teen and reread it again last week. This book is really a collection of stories as relates to the illustrations found on the body of The Illustrated Man. Bradbury’s voice is incredible and his imagination knows no bounds. He gave us views on how things could be in the future, many of which seemed to have come true decades after he wrote this. Someone else wrote: “hypnotic and emotionally potent voice and vision of terrible beauty” which I think sums up this book perfectly. Great reading for all ages above 12.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    Absolutely LOVED it!

    Well let me start off by saying that scifi is not usually my cup of tea, but when it comes to Bradbury, I simply can't resist. I knew I would probably enjoy this book because I've read The Martian Chronicles (another great scifi read) and absolutely loved it. The Illustrated Man is a collection of short stories about the future of mankind. It serves as a sort of premonition of things to come, were humans to continue down the destructive path that we are traveling upon. The premise of the book consists of a man who is tattooed with various illustrations, and the illustrations move and make stories, which are of course the stories told in the book. I don't want to give too much away, but I will say that I every single story left me breathless. Bradbury did in eight pages do what some writers take an entire novel to do. This collection is stunning, and a quick read for any one who enjoys psychological dilemmas as well. I would like to leave you with the introductory passage of the book:
    "There are the vast reaches of outer space - the infinite black nothingness that holds the galaxies, where men in rockets move from the green hills of earth to the rain-glutted forests of Venus to the canals of Mars, and still farther...even farther...
    And there is inner space - the bottomless well of fears, longing, hope and the complex emotions of the frail human creatures who challenge the universe - those who in turn must face the peril not only of that vastness but also of their own sometimes terrible inventions..."

    A truly haunting book. Enjoy!

    To read more of my book reviews, please visit my blog at ayushi30.blogspot.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    Bradbury the genius

    I loved this book. Bradbury is one of my favorite authors and so this book being good does not surprise me. He links the stories together so well, and the novel is so original.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2008

    A reviewer

    The Illustrated Man is a fascinating novel. Novelist Ray Bradbury is outstanding and his different ideas and wild imagination makes you want to read more and more. The Illustrated Man is basically about a man with tattoos on his entire body. He gets these magical tattoos from a mysterious woman. The man wants to find this woman and kill her because the tattoos are frightening and it caused the Illustrated Man to lose his job many times. He meets a young man who invites him for a meal and the Illustrated Man lets him read his stories at night, while he is sleeping. The young man finds out that each tattoo tells a different story , a total of eighteen. Most of the stories are in the science fiction genre and the setting of Mars is used very often. I really enjoyed this book because each story makes you think about what is happening and each story never gets old. Just when you think something is sure to happen, Bradbury throws in a twist. The stories vary from men looking for the sun on Mars where it rains nonstop, to a virtual playroom with lions which turn into the real thing. One thing I didn't like is that some of the stories are confusing and you have to read them a couple of times carefully to get the whole idea. The Illustrated Man is a great book that makes you scratch your head. If you like science fiction with a little mystery, you should definitely check this book out. Some other novels by Ray Bradbury are Dandelion Wine, The Martian Chronicles, and Something Wicked This Way Comes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    I suppose "good" is the category I would place this bo

    I suppose "good" is the category I would place this book in. The writing certainly wasn't bad or below average. The stories were powerful, but very dark. I was assigned to read this book for a class and could only just bring myself to read one of the stories at a time. Many of the stories embodied a feeling of fear and dread, leaving me anxious and emotionally drained after just a few pages. Definitely not for everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Short stories

    As I read the book, I amagain reminded of my youth reading lesson. These short stories excite the imagination, re-kindle the love of reading through a chapter. But, mostly inspires me to realize how important and wonderful keeping the legacey of books we read as children and young adults can be shared with our new generation of family members.

    One can only hope to share experiences with our grand children, and neices and nephews This book is onwhich can be shared, and used to start many conversations.

    Thank you for making it avaliable in E-book form.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Bradbury is often too much when the stories are read all at once they are best when when there is sspace between

    Savoried rather than gulped the movies were never satisfactory however with the new special effects could be true to the story now that was awkward before in film

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Bradbury at its Finest!!!! this book is a work of art! each sho

    Bradbury at its Finest!!!!

    this book is a work of art! each short story draws you into the next. a book you cannot put down to save your life! if you love SiFi look no further then this Masterpiece of the great Ray Bradbury!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Love It

    This boois of course another amazing book that Bradbury has written. The detail and imagination used to write this book of sort stories baffles me. Bradbury has amazing talent and his writings live on forever in ones mind for the words and stories are so strong and vivid tha they are simply hard to forget. All in all this book is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Anonymous Bookseller

    This book is the second book that i fell in love with. Bradbury is not only a genius but a master. When i first sall how much the e-book versions of his works are i was upset, but i think thats the point! E-books are great but one the master of scifi wants you to go and buy a real book! It will cost less! Still gonna give it 5 stars its worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    I am a lover of books and reading and my only favorite author ov

    I am a lover of books and reading and my only favorite author over the past few years has been Jodi Picoult. But ever since I picked up this book, I keep going back to the pages I just read becuase it just moves me. I feel as if I am there and watching these stories come alive and reliving them. It's amazing how Bradbury has such detail and fantasy that it almost becomes real.
    I would definitly reccommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    A quick fun read.

    I wasn't expecting this to be a collection of short stories. The main story is about a man who has tattoos that move and each collection of tattoos tell a different story. The stories are have similar themes of rocket men, Mars, and other stories of the future. There were stories I liked more than others but I'm not a big fan of short stories. I like when there is more development and emotion involved.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    Amazing

    A fantastic book for true scifi fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book, Amazing Writer

    This Ray Bradbury novel was the first one introduced to me. I really liked the way he wrote, which I think is what caught my attention. It was interesting to see that he had a better imagination back in the 50s than many people do now even with all of the technological advances we have today. I also really like all of the metaphors and hidden meanings in his writings that keep you on the edge and wondering what it's all about. Fahrenheit 451 was also a really great novel and I'm looking forward to reading The October Country and The Cat's Pajamas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great stories...

    The Illustrated Man" is one book that I have been wanting to read for quite awhile.

    If you've ever heard anyone talk about Ray Bradbury's books like their "amazing", don't judge it, until you have read his stuff.
    The guy is "amazing"!

    The fact that all these stories were written before 1952 is really unbelievable.

    Ray Bradbury's obession with space, astronauts, Mars, peoples overall greed, laziness & reliance on computers/technology in the future were rampant throughout all the stories, but he makes it work well, as usual.

    Personally I'm not normally a big fan of science fiction or space stories, but these stories draw in you easily.

    The book has 18 individual stories, the prologue, the very last story in the book, which is titled "The Illustrated Man" and the epilogue are the only three times the (illustrated man) is mentioned.

    The stories are all individuals, they don't run together to make one final story or anything.

    A few of the stories are so, so, but there were several that after reading them, I was left thinking, WOW!, they are:

    Kaleidoscope
    The Other Foot (5 star quality)
    The Man (5 star quality)
    The Long Rain
    The Fox and the Forest
    Marionettes, Inc.
    The City (5 star quality)
    Zero Hour

    I really don't know how Ray Bradbury slept peacefully with all these stories and all the other stuff he wrote swirling around in his mind.

    The only other Bradbury book I have read is "Fahrenheit 451", which was also really thought provoking and good.

    Looking forward to reading more of Ray Bradbury's novels~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting Read

    This book is a collection of short stories written by Bradbury.
    It's not the best I've read, but it was still pretty good. In this particular book, Bradbury focuses on Mars and outer space. Good book to read if you're a fan of science fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book expands your imagination

    Original style of writting that expands your imagination into a new world . One of Bradbury's best if not the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2007

    sweetness

    this book was cool it was sweet awesome the best book eva

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2007

    A reviewer

    As one of Ray Bradbury¿s finest books, The Illustrated Man uses symbols and themes to tell the story of the book. The book consists of many short stories to tell about the future in an interesting way. Unlike other short stories, this book is unique because all the stories relate back to the prologue and theme of the book. Because of this exclusive writing style, I would rate this novel a 10 out of 10. In the prologue the reader is introduced to a man whose body is painted (hence the meaning of the title) with many scenes depicting future events in various people¿s lives. One portrait on the man describes a story of a rocket that exploded out in the distance of space. The men in the story are alive falling from space down onto earth. They know they are going to die, so they desperately try to change their lives. ¿They fell. They fell as pebbles fall down wells. They were scattered as jackstones are scattered from a gigantic throw. And now instead of men they were only voices-all kinds of voices, disembodied and impassioned, in varying degrees of terror and resignation.¿(26) This book focuses on real situations that are predicted on the ¿Illustrated Man.¿ Every scene on the man has a purpose that either leaves you hanging or has a big twist. I hope you enjoy this book as well as I did. Good Reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4