Customer Reviews for

The Illustrated Man

Average Rating 4.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2004

    Unbelievable

    I initially read the book as an alternative summer reading book, but was instantly drawn in to both the concept of the mini-stories and the style in which Bradbury just amazes me. To call Bradbury science fiction is to call Michalengelo a guy who uses alot of paint. The visual characterization is monumental. I read it straight through and found nothing better. Recommended for those who enjoy a simple, yet abstract setting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2004

    Don't let the 'sci-fi' label scare you away

    The Illustrated Man is not 'sci-fi' in the sense that many people, such as myself, imagine it, with spaceships and alien worlds. Rather, it is a collection of short stories both terrifying and thought-provoking. Readers of all levels should be able to appreciate it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2003

    Simply Amazing!

    Ray Bradbury's extrordinary writing style is present in this book! I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2003

    Eerie! Wicked!

    Ray Bradbury has a way with words that I just cannot explain! And, the whole premise of the book is such an ingenious one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2002

    Hard to put down

    Fantastic read for such a short book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2002

    Generally amazing

    I first read one of Bradbury's stories in my English class literature book. I fell in love with his style of writing--wonderful uses of metaphors and emotions--and immediately went out to get one of his books. I have three now, and none of them have disappointed me. This particular book is just...mind-boggling in its originality. Look at other science-fiction/fantasy writers. Their books are filled with the superficial types of aliens and plots. Don't get me wrong--I like Star Wars as much as anyone, but my point is: Do any of the other sci-fi books even compare to Bradbury's style? He's taken the traditional stereotypes of outer space adventures and turned them into situations we could actually see happening in the future. Needless to say, I'm immensely impressed--and inspired--by all of his books. I'd highly recommend all of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2002

    COMPELLING

    One of the most thought-provoking books I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2001

    Different Literature

    I think that The Illustrated Man is a very interesting story. This has been the 1st book of Bradbury and Science Fiction that I have read and think that it is the best book that I've read. His view is very unique and so is his style of writing. I may be 14 years old, but I read many books and this is by far the best book I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2000

    SSF= SUPER SCIENCE FICTION!!!!!!!!

    This is an extraordinary book with stories that will make your blood run cold. Look no further for his greatest book: Here it is. ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2000

    His best EVER!!

    The Illustrated Man is Bradbury's best work of fiction ever created and mastered by a author that knows what to write to make you love him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 1999

    New Perceptions About an Old World

    Bradbury maintains his unique ideas about our technologically advancing world in this novel centered around a tattoed stranger. The atypical tattoes of this man change on his skin foretelling the future, thus creating the collection of stories in this anthology-like work. It works well as a read aloud for junior high school classrooms because of its unusual perceptions about tattoes, in addition to the numerous thought provoking concepts of space, life on other planets and human nature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 1999

    A good book

    I thought that The Illustrated Man was a very good book. It has many truths in it that are presented in disturbing ways. It is mainly about mankind's constant struggles against nature, through technology. Once I started to read this book, I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3