Customer Reviews for

I'm Down: A Memoir

Average Rating 3.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An amazing book

    I loved this book, and I just wanted to stop by and recommend it to anyone else looking for something extra special to read. Mishna Wolff is just as funny as David Sedaris at his best, and at the heart of her memoir is a truly touching family story that brought tears to my eyes in places. Anyone who's ever felt like a misfit or an outsider, or who grew up wishing they were cooler or richer or more popular, will surely find a kindred spirit in Mishna Wolff. This is one of my new favorite books, and I'm so glad it's out there.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great read and insight that's not so much about race as it is culture

    "You thought you could bring your broke-a#% turtle down here to play Barbies?"...I just stood on the corner holding Tommy the Turtle as five black girls holding plastic white women laughed at my stupidity"
    That line sealed it for me. All you have to do is read the sample chapter from Wolff's book and I'm sure that you are going to enjoy your stay in her world.
    What impressed me the most is that Wolff shows the influence that culture and relationships can have on young mind, while at the same time showing the difficulties that are encountered by the impoverished. It's strongest draw is that the characters (Yvonne, in particular) are fleshed out and you can often see the reason in their madness.
    The most telling aspect of this story though is the dialect. Too often you see "Black" slang interpreted as poorly spelled word and crazy contractions, that often times leaves readers (even black ones) confused. But Wolff captures the essence of the language and tones by using **real** words in the manner that speech is actually carried on. This was one of the best examples I have seen of Black speech on paper and it shows that the author was really down.
    This is a great read simply put.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Laugh out loud funny!

    This book is hilarious! Ms. Wolff's use of imagery is superb. She had me laughing out loud at her depictions of life as a white girl in a black neighborhood. Since she and I grew up in the same type of neighborhood, I could really relate to her circumstances. The only difference is I am black. I'm a daddy's girl, too. Any daddy's girl knows that your existence (especially when you're young) is all about pleasing him. Her quest for his undying love and devotion is really the heart of this story.
    Have your family and co-workers read it also so you can compare stories.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    This memoir was a quick and easy read. It was charming and funny

    This memoir was a quick and easy read. It was charming and funny but, I felt like there needs to be more to the story. I was left wondering "well... what happened?" I'm hoping for a follow-up memoir because this one doesn't feel complete.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    GREAT story

    I loved this book, laugh out loud funny in MANY places. Hilarious, and touching too in a way that had me wincing from the mental imagery her words evoked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Rgjeg

    Vsbfntrjwwrkr

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Some Funny Situations

    If you want something that will give you a few laughs, doesn't require much attention and at the end seems rather pointless, this is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Good read

    Written so it's a quick read. Entertaining and interesting. Stays in the span of her childhood to middle school. There definitely needs to be another memoir to continue the story. It doesn't feel complete. Still a good read despite this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty good

    Was pretty good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    Couldn't put it down

    Mishna Wolff's story is funny, sweet, painful, and so well done. I too had a white father who thought he was black...and Latino, and Asian--anything but white. And so this story, which may sound far-fetched to some, rang oh so true to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Word

    So funny. Not exeedingly profound, but fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    great book

    I really liked reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Loved+it%21

    This+book+was+a+delight+to+read.++One+of+those+that+you+wish+was+longer.++I%27m+hoping+there+is+more+to+this+story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    I really loved this book. I couldnt put it down...if i could change one thing it would be the ending. It stopped a little too abrupt for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2010

    Brilliant!!

    She tackles race, family dysfunction, and every other childhood difficulty you CAN'T imagine with roll around on the ground holding your stomach humor. In the end its so lovely and tender.
    Needed a good laugh and read if for the second time!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    A Very Amusing Book

    I enjoyed reading this book from the opening pages. It is insightful, funny and a very enjoyable book to read. This would be an excellent gift idea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2009

    Hilariously spunky look at Mishna Wolff's life!

    Interesting dramadey (drama-comedy) of a young white woman's evolution in a world of infused "haves" & "haves not", coupled with one's struggle to try to belong and relate to someone, black or white, or something. Her journey through adolescent into young adult-hood provides a glimpse into a white person's world that did not involve being a part of the "polished" population. Mishna's story was very funny, touching, and informative; visual effects were priceless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2009

    Good Read

    I only got to read the chapter that is provided on here and I am hooked when I get the chance I am definitely buying this book. The excerpt that I read is so much more colorful than most books that take you reading at least 6 chapters for it to get good. Mishna Wolff is a gem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    Right on!

    Loved it! And loved the way she told her story! Although so totally unique, I felt I could totally relate to so many of her 'struggles'. I particularly loved the chapter titled "The Family Racist"... and I've definitely been in her shoes. Everyone who says "I'm not racist" should read this book! - GO GIRL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    DANG! I LOVED IT!

    I totally enjoyed this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5