Customer Reviews for

I'm Going to Tell You a Secret

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    # 1

    She's the best, simple and clear, always # 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    She will always be # 1

    I could hardly wait for this one to come out. It is great. If you are a hardcore Madonna fan, as I am, you will love it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Better than the Reinvention Tour DVD

    For starters: Thomas Erlewine writes in his "expert review": "Released just as her worldwide Re-Invention tour was hitting the States in the summer of 2006" Perhaps Thomas Erlewine hasn't realized that "I am Going to Tell You a Secret" was released following the tour not prior. I have a feeling that he wrote his review of Madonna's work prior to it's release and even before he saw it! Nonetheless, I had the pleasure of seeing her live in Miami and in Paris and the shows were spectacular. The DVD of the Reinvention Tour, Paris, France (exclusive industry release) is fine, however cameras can't even come close to capturing the magic and energy of the concert tour I am Going to Tell You a Secret does just that. It picks up where concert footage fails. Both the I am Going to Tell You a Secret DVD and the CD capture the energy of the tour. The DVD goes much further in that it actually teaches you something, a new way of thinking, a new way of seeing the world. It will open up your eyes beyond what's already there. I could care less if the whole package is or is not a promo for the show. Hey! Everyone has to advertise what they're selling and let's face it kids--Madonna is selling her music, her image, her talent! She has to promote herself in the most tasteful and artistic means possible...this CD/DVD combo is just that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    eh, it was alright....

    I wasn't really expecting much from this album anyway, because most live albums are usually pretty stale, sounding like any other studio version except with audience cheers in the background. But even so, I was rather disappointed. Most of the songs in the concert weren't even her hit tunes and a cover of John Lennon's Imagine, please! (That song is one of the dumbest ever written.) I know Madonna has that sort of attitude where she only does what she wants to do, but she should realize what her fans want from a concert is simply a showcase of her biggest chart-toppers. Sorry, Madge, I love your music, but this is a disappointing concert.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "Live?"

    Look, I love her to death and I saw the last show in the states in Miami and was euphoric the entire time. But to release a "live" album from a show that overflowed with pre-recorded music and vocoder effects just seems ironic at best. I'd prefer they just put out the entire concert on DVD because eventhough the cheers of the audience on the "live" tracks give me goosebumps in anticipation of the Confessions tour, they really sound like little more than studio tracks with applause over them. Without the visuals of the show, these tracks won't really hold up. Good thing there are some performances on the documentary. (Am I gonna buy it though? You bet your a@#! Madonna rules!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AMAZING live CD

    I love this live CD. It brings back a lot of memories I had when I saw her in Las Vegas in 2004 for the Reinvention Tour. This is definately a must-have for any Madonna fan. Long live the queen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome show, movie, and soundtrack!!

    I have to say that seeing Madonna live in concert needs to be on everyone's lists of things to do before you die! She is one of the few stars that I believe is worth paying several hundred dollars for! The CD of the show is great, though some of my favs are missing (crazy for you!!) Best tracks are Nobody Knows Me(completely underrated), Imagine, Susan MacLeod/Into the Groove (LOVE bagpipes) and Holiday!! The documentary is wonderful, entertaining, funny and heartfelt. Be prepared though, her kids steal the show!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1