Customer Reviews for

I'm Just Here for the Food: Version 2.0

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Must-Have for the Kitchen Library

I recently received this book as a Christmas gift from my fiancee'. I will definitely marry the girl now. As a scientist who is interested in cooking, this book is a joy; as a non-scientist who enjoys cooking, my fiancee' finds it fascinating and informative. Alton Brow...
I recently received this book as a Christmas gift from my fiancee'. I will definitely marry the girl now. As a scientist who is interested in cooking, this book is a joy; as a non-scientist who enjoys cooking, my fiancee' finds it fascinating and informative. Alton Brown has written here a cookbook unlike any other you've likely to have read. It's not just a collection of recipes (although there are about 90 great recipes inside); it's culinary science 101. It's literally a culinary class in your kitchen. To understand how, why, and when to cook, you gain insight into the PROCESS of cooking, not just going through the motions as is the case when you just follow recipes. Anyone who wants to know what to do when you look in the fridge and are trying to decide what to do with what you have in there for dinner needs this book. This book inspires creativity by providing its reader with a deeper understanding of the kitchen. It's a must have for any kitchen library.

posted by KingfishATCG on December 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Love the book, not the print

I am reading this book on my nook tablet. Let me preface my comment with the fact that I love Alton Brown and I am enjoying this book. That said, some pages are regular nook text and other pages look like pdf's from the actual book ( I'm not certain of this, that's ju...
I am reading this book on my nook tablet. Let me preface my comment with the fact that I love Alton Brown and I am enjoying this book. That said, some pages are regular nook text and other pages look like pdf's from the actual book ( I'm not certain of this, that's just how it looks on the nook screen). At any rate, these "pdf" style pages are too small to read and the text size cannot be changed by the usual method on the nook. I find this very annoying and I wish the entire book would be in the regular nook text... Other than this technical issue, it's a great book so far.

posted by NifR on December 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must-Have for the Kitchen Library

    I recently received this book as a Christmas gift from my fiancee'. I will definitely marry the girl now. As a scientist who is interested in cooking, this book is a joy; as a non-scientist who enjoys cooking, my fiancee' finds it fascinating and informative. Alton Brown has written here a cookbook unlike any other you've likely to have read. It's not just a collection of recipes (although there are about 90 great recipes inside); it's culinary science 101. It's literally a culinary class in your kitchen. To understand how, why, and when to cook, you gain insight into the PROCESS of cooking, not just going through the motions as is the case when you just follow recipes. Anyone who wants to know what to do when you look in the fridge and are trying to decide what to do with what you have in there for dinner needs this book. This book inspires creativity by providing its reader with a deeper understanding of the kitchen. It's a must have for any kitchen library.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    Great Book

    Alton Brown consistently produces great cooking techniques and recipes. His love for the hardware store is clearly demonstrated in some of these techniques. The how and why behind these techniques is written in clear terms (for us non-chefs)and the step by step is easy to understand.The only drawback to this electronic book is the fact that some of the illustrations are more than just expansions of the text. They are sometimes the recipe or cooking technique itself and the electronic format of this book is not perfect. Some of the pages show themselves as pages that are "snap shots", which are not expandable and sometimes cannot be read. I read a review prior to purchase that also talked on this point but purchased the book anyway. Great book, great author but with some reservations about the electronic formatting of this edition. Would still recommend.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Love the book, not the print

    I am reading this book on my nook tablet. Let me preface my comment with the fact that I love Alton Brown and I am enjoying this book. That said, some pages are regular nook text and other pages look like pdf's from the actual book ( I'm not certain of this, that's just how it looks on the nook screen). At any rate, these "pdf" style pages are too small to read and the text size cannot be changed by the usual method on the nook. I find this very annoying and I wish the entire book would be in the regular nook text... Other than this technical issue, it's a great book so far.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Lacks visuals

    I love Alton Brown, and I love Good Eats, and I love this book. The only thing it lacks, are good illustrations, demonstating how to perform the tasks in the book. Nonetheless, I'm still a fan, and I would reccomend this book to anyone wanting learn the science behind cooking, not just performing a recipe.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2009

    Great book if you like to know why!

    Alton as always tells you why not just what. It's the only way I learn.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Book review

    Alton Browns book "I'm just here for the food" elevates cooking to new levels for those of us who are used to open book measurement,ingredient instruction. A background based on science provides those of us that are novices a clear understanding of why we fail or succeed in our efforts to satisfy our palate. It is extremely gratifying to prepare a fine meal for myself and my family using guidance found in this book. It has also made the purchase of quality groceries easier,and more affordable. My thanks go out to Alton for a job well done.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    Science Rocks!!!!

    Gotta love Alton!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2004

    Not just the 'how,' but also the 'why'

    This is not just a cookbook with recipes and directions, but it is also packed with the theory of cooking: why one should briase instead of roast, the finer points of grilling and smoking food, and a lot of information about specific foods as well. You won't find haute cuisine here, but your knowledge base about cooking in general, and good food in particular, will become much broader.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Alton brown

    I think alton brown is the best cook ever! Me and my dad are always trying out his recipies. Not one of them has turned out bad. He is funny and so is his show. Besides the humor you learn helpful cooking tecniques. By the way i am ten! Alton brown rocks! I totally agree with you number six.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Rip off

    I still only have the sample after paying $19 twice. At some point I would like to own the full copy instead of the first 50 pages.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I think alton Brown is the best too.L havent baught this book because I dont have enough mony on my gift card but I like anything that he makes!!!!!!!!!!!he is th bes(oh and im 12)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Wow

    Wow

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Alton brown

    I think alton brown is the best chef ever and i love his show he is funny but at the same time you learn so much and the food he makes is really good me and my mom made on of his dishes a pnd it was delicios cant wait to make it again ( by the way im 10 yeats old

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Love Alton Brown

    He has the best recipes!! Love, love, love Alton Brown!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Lil' Chef

    The food is great l really liked it but it just wasn't for my family, l would recommend this to familes with older kids and alot of time! ENJOY!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    Anonymous

    Alton Brown is awesome. He really gets is geek on in his latest book: I'm Just Here for the Food, version 2.0 :) I reccomend this book for any foodies who understand words like 'gluten' and 'coagulate.' Read this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Alton Brown is great!

    This book has great recipes and information! Everything you need to make good eats! Thanks Alton!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love Alton Brown!

    Well-written, informative. Very enjoyable read, with lots to available to learn.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    Great Cooking Reference

    Alton Brown has a fantastic way of taking the everyday task of cooking and making it fun and informative. He gives the hows and whys to go with the basic techniques that every cook should know.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2