BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

I'm No Angel: From Victoria's Secret Model to Role Model

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This is an excellent book. The author does a great job of detail

This is an excellent book. The author does a great job of detailing the cut-throat world of professional modeling and how it conflicted with her Christian faith, to the point she left the life of fame and fortune behnind to live as a roll model.

posted by Heather_Wietz on May 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Kylie Bisutti began modeling professionally around age 13, and s

Kylie Bisutti began modeling professionally around age 13, and six years later won a Victoria's Secret modeling contest on national television. One year later, she announced that she would be leaving the modeling industry permanently due to conflicts with her Christian ...
Kylie Bisutti began modeling professionally around age 13, and six years later won a Victoria's Secret modeling contest on national television. One year later, she announced that she would be leaving the modeling industry permanently due to conflicts with her Christian beliefs.


I remember seeing the news stories, and finding the idea so unbelievable as to be laughable. How does one even become a lingerie model while professing christian beliefs? The two seem fairly incompatible. As always, the truth is more complicated than it appears, and in this book Kylie is given a platform to tell her story, uncensored by George Stephanopolis. 


My critiques of this book are few, and make no real difference to Kylie's message. First, the writing style is about what you would expect from someone who finished high school through online courses while holding down a job and never attended college. Even with a co-writer parts read like a diary from junior high. This is not a high literary effort, it is a heart-felt one. Second, even with Kylie's (sometimes uncomfortable) honesty, it becomes fairly evident that this is far from a tell all. This is enough to get her point across, and as such, there are some things which go completely unexplained, and moments that could be described as plot holes. For example, we don't discover that her husband (whom she married at 18/19 years of age) is divorced with a son and is significantly older than her until nearly the end of the book. While that information is relevant to a biography, it isn't relevant to her message of internal beauty, so the information gets placed out of context and in a haphazard manner. Third, Kylie never really discusses her personal emotional damage resulting from working in the industry. She gives plenty of examples of the ways that others were harmed, and even tells stories of her own brushes with eating disorders, crash diets, and abuse, but the book leaves out the emotional impact of the occurrence then and the scars now. It isn't that I don't empathize or feel compassion for what she, and other models, have gone through, and I certainly don't think that they somehow deserve it, just that this book doesn't connect the heart to the situation. Kylie comes across looking as though she left the modeling world unscathed with a great husband and a healthy figure. Maybe it is too soon to tell, or maybe Kylie didn't feel ready to discuss that aspect of her experiences, but I wonder if some readers might walk away with the impression that, while modeling isn't "christian", it isn't necessarily a harmful lifestyle.


Kylie is a beautiful girl who had it all by the world's standards and left it behind to follow her heart for God. That takes a lot of character. And for other young women who struggle with their appearance on a daily basis, it is comforting to know from an insider that the beauty they see touted on television and in print ads is artificial to the point of physically impossible. 

posted by Thursday4 on June 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Kylie¿s conversational tone of her book makes this an easy read.

    Kylie’s conversational tone of her book makes this an easy read. Her frankness is admirable and made an impact on me. What a strong and brave woman.

    After seeing Kylie’s story on television, I was eager to read her book. I think it’s a valuable read for teens, seeing as Kylie describes her insecurities etc., that many young ladies go through. She made many sacrifices, but those very sacrifices brought even greater blessings.

    Her story is engaging and honest. I enjoyed this quick read.

    As cliché as it sounds, true beauty isn’t what’s on the outside, it’s what and Who is within.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2014

    A compelling story of a young girl's journey from dreaming of be

    A compelling story of a young girl's journey from dreaming of being a model to hitting the big time in modeling and the pain she endured along the way. Kylie Bisutti has a unique experience to speak to women about beauty and the ugliness she saw and experienced on her way to becoming a Victoria's Secret angel. I appreciated her honesty and I was appalled at some of the behind-the-scenes antics of modeling. Her story is one of God's grace and transformation, and I'm grateful she decided to speak up about her experience. What an eye-opening account of the lengths the industry will go to, to give us a false picture of beauty.




    I borrowed this book from the library, but it would be worth buying for the 30-day devotional, on the topic of true beauty, included at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    I chose to read this book because the tile caught my eye. This b

    I chose to read this book because the tile caught my eye. This book is a truly powerful testament of what Jesus can do in our lives if we simply let Him in. Te modeling field is definitely about beauty, but not the true beauty that Jesus gave us. We are called to be a Proverbs 31 woman and to lead a Godly life. Modeling us the devil in disguise. .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    This was an excellent account of the modeling industry's highs a

    This was an excellent account of the modeling industry's highs and lows.
    Kylie's story gives you a front row seat to all the action: From doing shows at a local mall to struttin your stuff for the big at the Victoria's Secret Angel competition. We follow Kylie through high school, to Thailand, to New York and to Cabo San Lucas where she gets married. Her husband is the true hero in this story. He supported Kylie through the whole competition and suffered in silence. He brought his prayers to Lord and asked for Kylie to see the light. I can see he really suffered through the whole photo shoot in the photographer's apartment in Brooklyn. Most men would have not handled that well. I'm so glad Kylie has decided to walk in her faith and trust the Lord Jesus. I wish her great success and almost every teenage girl I know is getting a copy of this book for Christmas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2014

    Kylie takes the reader through her experiences as a model, from

    Kylie takes the reader through her experiences as a model, from her first audition to the Victoria Secret runway and everything that came between. Her story was fascinating. It was eye opening. I didn't know that models got started so young. I was horrified at the things that these young girls were expected and pressured to do. I thought that America had laws against children being photographed in provocative poses without much (or anything) for clothing on. Kylie talks about her mistakes, her budding faith, and her hard work to get to the top of the modeling industry.

    She talks about how she compromised her beliefs in favor of her career. She tried to rationalize away the prickling of her conscience. As an outsider reading her story, I could see the blaring oxymoron that her life had become. On the one hand she was trying to be a good Christian and draw closer to God. On the other hand, she was selling sex. But it isn't easy to see those things when you are the person going through it. Kylie shares her struggles, her triumphs, and her epiphany when she realized that her two lives could never work together. She had to pick one or the other.

    This book is worth the read. Kylie shares her testimony about respecting yourself, your family, and God by dressing modestly and making sure your actions coincide with your beliefs. I work with a group of young girls in my church and Kylie's testimony gave me some great material to share with them. Hopefully her experience will help them understand the importance of respecting the beautiful bodies that God created for them.

    Content: The author shares her experiences, even the uncomfortable ones, but she manages to give the situation without going overboard on the details. It's pretty clean, but read it first if you are thinking of giving it to your teen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book; it was easy to read and well-written

    I really enjoyed this book; it was easy to read and well-written.  Kylie really needed to adjust her perspective to be able to see modeling from God's point of view and I think she did well to see that and then to make the necessary changes.  That wasn't easy.  I just hope her message gets across to the young girl/ladies of today.  It's not all about being a size 0.  It's about living and honoring God with our heart, soul, and body.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    I was intrigued by the behind-the-scenes look at the modeling in

    I was intrigued by the behind-the-scenes look at the modeling industry. This book is written in an easy to read style, and I found it inspiring as Kylie shows her journey in following God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Lessons learned and shared I used to avoid non-fiction at almos

    Lessons learned and shared

    I used to avoid non-fiction at almost any cost, preferring “made-up stories,” but I’ve grown to enjoy learning about others’ lives and the lessons they’ve learned, especially when those books are written by fellow Christians.

    This tale intrigued me and although I wished I could stop young Kylie from the path to fame that she chose, it was good to read her journey and see how God turned it into something beautiful rather than tragic – we hear too many of those stories in the news each year, lives cut short because of the lifestyle that goes along with being famous.

    The devotional book I read from Kylie is included at the end of her story and I’m encouraged that it will reach a wider audience because I do think they are great lessons for all women to read. And I hope that Kylie finds she has more to write someday!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2014

    What a great book for mothers of girls and for teen age girls to

    What a great book for mothers of girls and for teen age girls to read! Kylie Bisutti won the Victoria's Secret Runway Angel competition in 2009 and in this book she tells all about the behind the scenes in the modeling world. She tells of the terrible living conditions, the extreme dieting, the low pay, the hours of being made beautiful (for already beautiful women), and more. And then realizing that this modeling, especially the Victoria Secret modeling, is for the purpose of having men lust after her. When Kylie's eyes were opened to this fact she realized that she couldn't be a supermodel and live a life honoring God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    reality check

    What woman doesn't compare herself to the models we see all around us in TV or magazines? This book will free us a bit by an honest recounting of the real way models are used and abused.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    Kylie Bisutti was a Victoria's Secret model who walked away from

    Kylie Bisutti was a Victoria's Secret model who walked away from the job when she was convicted by what she was doing. The book tells her story, from her childhood to her change of heart regarding her job. She is now a role model and speaker who helps women and girls realize that true beauty is within.

    I thought this was an interesting book that showed a behind the scenes look at the modeling industry. I like Kylie's message in the book about inner beauty, something many girls and women struggle with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Kylie Bisutti shows us an inside look at the pressures of being

    Kylie Bisutti shows us an inside look at the pressures of being in the modeling world and her struggle to continue to do her job as a model while maintaining her integrity as a Christian. A very great book!   Kylie is a fantastic role model for girls of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Highly Recommened

    What a GREAT testimony, written in a book, I don't want to put
    this book down, once I started reading it, kudos to Kylie :o)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Kylie Bisutti is an American model who won the 2009 ¿Victoria¿s

    Kylie Bisutti is an American model who won the 2009 “Victoria’s Secret Model Search” competition. She beat out thousands and she was only 19 years old. So now you’re thinking, why are you reviewing a book written by a Victoria Secret Model? Especially one with the title, I’m No Angel?

    Good Question.

    Well, since the her contract with Victoria Secret, Bisutti has left the company and now says lingerie modeling conflicts with her Christian values: “My body should only be for my husband and it’s just a sacred thing.” Now Bisutti states that she will only choose wholesome jobs that will honor her Christian beliefs.

    Released by Zondervan books, I’m No Angel is a look at the world of modeling from the inside. As a youth worker of many years, I believe Kylie’s story is one that every young girl should read. She talks about her struggles with body image and the pressures she feels from the outside world to appear older and more “experienced.” Her book is boosted with words of encouragement from the scriptures and is an encouragement for any woman who seeks to one day become a “Proverbs 31 wife.”

    Today Kylie is a sought after speaker and she has a clothing line coming out soon. Kylie says, “My clothing line … will feature models of all shapes and sizes promoting our modest clothes. I want girls to see people who look like them, so they feel good about themselves.”

    I’m No Angel is an easy read.

    Thank you Zondervan publishing for an advanced readers copy for a fair and honest review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1