BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

I'm Not Her

Average Rating 4
( 166 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Review from Blkosiner's Book Blog

This was a really powerful and emotional story, about love, family and discovering who you are.
I'm not her addresses popularity and letting who you are shine. Tess breaks my heart, and I'm able to relate with how she feels and what she battles with. It's hard watc...
This was a really powerful and emotional story, about love, family and discovering who you are.
I'm not her addresses popularity and letting who you are shine. Tess breaks my heart, and I'm able to relate with how she feels and what she battles with. It's hard watching her learn about her friend, who her sister is to her, and discovering new things about what she once mocked.
It's really eye-opening to see how cancer really effects the community and to see how even little things can make an impact.
The family dynamics are well written and very believable. It's hard to read, but at the same time, I can see pieces of my family, my behaviors in each and it's hard to look down at all when you know where they are coming from.
If you like emotional reads, contemporary, then I'd definitely recommend giving this a read.

posted by BlkosinerBookBlog on April 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

I have a suggestion, when a reviewer rudely tries to re-write the entire book according to their verison under the disguise of a book review, just ask yourself, which one do I want to read. Of course, the one you paid for. I just look to read the reviews where people ...
I have a suggestion, when a reviewer rudely tries to re-write the entire book according to their verison under the disguise of a book review, just ask yourself, which one do I want to read. Of course, the one you paid for. I just look to read the reviews where people know how to write a review, short and to the point.

posted by 8429876 on September 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review from Blkosiner's Book Blog

    This was a really powerful and emotional story, about love, family and discovering who you are.
    I'm not her addresses popularity and letting who you are shine. Tess breaks my heart, and I'm able to relate with how she feels and what she battles with. It's hard watching her learn about her friend, who her sister is to her, and discovering new things about what she once mocked.
    It's really eye-opening to see how cancer really effects the community and to see how even little things can make an impact.
    The family dynamics are well written and very believable. It's hard to read, but at the same time, I can see pieces of my family, my behaviors in each and it's hard to look down at all when you know where they are coming from.
    If you like emotional reads, contemporary, then I'd definitely recommend giving this a read.

    47 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read

    This book is amazing. I loved every minute reading this.

    29 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    I couldn't put this book down!

    As i read this book, i smiled and i cried alittle bit. this is one of my favorite books i EVER read. Normally, i get books and takes me to read for 1 day with stopping few chapters for a break.

    but for this book, i couldn't put this book down at all! i read this book in 2hours! ahhh! my new record!

    i would recommend this book for people who loves to read, and read sad stories.
    it's worth it.

    24 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Page turner

    I couldnt put this book down. I cried. I smiled. The end is not something you see coming! Loved the book! I hope janet writess more! This is a must read. Its worth the money.

    20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Sweet and well written. finished it in half a day. Very enjoyabl

    Sweet and well written. finished it in half a day. Very enjoyable

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Anonymous

    I have a suggestion, when a reviewer rudely tries to re-write the entire book according to their verison under the disguise of a book review, just ask yourself, which one do I want to read. Of course, the one you paid for. I just look to read the reviews where people know how to write a review, short and to the point.

    12 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Spolier alert

    Don't read 2011 reviews. In one sentence someone revealed an important detail. I was going to purchase but not now!

    12 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    PLEASE do NOT give specifics that are spoilers for other readers

    PLEASE do NOT give specifics that are spoilers for other readers don't tell us who dies or how it ends. I was going to buy this book, but because of the spoiler, I will not.

    11 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    When I read I¿m Not Her the first time, I cried. It was no diff

    When I read I’m Not Her the first time, I cried. It was no different the second time around. Janet Gurtler created a believable plot through her eloquent writing and the main character’s feelings towards her sister’s diagnosis.

    Tess is the baby of the family. She envied her sister until the word cancer and Kristina were uttered in the same sentence. She is invisible to everyone at school. And then Kristina misses one day and Tess becomes the center of attention because everyone wants to know why her sister isn’t there. Kristina asks Tess to tell nobody. She doesn’t want people knowing she has cancer because she doesn’t want people feeling sorry for her. Kristina is the “It” girl, outgoing, likeable, beautiful, and carefree. Their parents are in denial. Tess needs to step up or risk her entire family falling apart.

    Despite the tears, I really enjoyed this book. Tess had to be the adult. Her parents were either absent or not dealing with all the possible outcomes of Kristina’s situation. She is the one who has to pull her family back together and make everyone face the music. Tess grows up during Kristina’s illness. She is no longer the quite, invisible girl; she is the outspoken girl who doesn’t want to be in the limelight struggling to keep her life from falling apart.

    I highly recommend this book to ALL readers! It was phenomenal and is definitely worth a read…or two.


    Originally posted at Doodle's Book Blog

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Loved it

    I cried, i smiled, and was shocked. Overall its an amazing book!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    Hopeful and funny!

    LOVED this book sooooo much!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    AMAZING

    Im Not Her was single handedly one if tge best books I have ever read. Period. I would recomend to a teen audience. Im 13 years old and ibread this book last summer. Ever since then i couldn't stop thinking about how good it was. Like I said it was amazing and i would recomend it to anyone. The plot twists and climax points keep me one edge. And the bond between to sisters shows its powerful stength.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Good summer read!

    Good story, some surprises in the plot, easy and quick to read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Awesomee

    This book is amazing. Its makes you laugh cry & smile. Its is so worth the money.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    This book is amazing. I would recommend anyone to read it. I cri

    This book is amazing. I would recommend anyone to read it. I cried and smiled during the whole thing. I absolutely love this book and would read it over and over!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    party time

    this book was just enough emotion mixed with some boy action but not to worry there is not any detail except on kissing it is about a girl named tess who has a very popular sister and her sister ends up getting knee canser everyone struggles and some do not handle this well but you will have to read and find out what happens next

    i think that the author should write a book from the sisters point of veiw

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Absolutely best book ive read

    Just a touching great read!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    AMAZING!!

    A few tears were shed but i loved it! after i read it i gave it to my best friend and she loved it to!! she had an experiance with cancer and could find it relatible in everyway.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Must read.

    This book is very good
    And could bring tears to your eyes with this amazing story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    1234567890@@@@@@@@@@@@

    ?????????????????????????????????????????????????
    ????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????P?????



    ?????????
    ??????????????????


    ???????????????????

    2 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9