Customer Reviews for

I'm Not Her

Average Rating 4
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Review from Blkosiner's Book Blog

This was a really powerful and emotional story, about love, family and discovering who you are.
I'm not her addresses popularity and letting who you are shine. Tess breaks my heart, and I'm able to relate with how she feels and what she battles with. It's hard watc...
This was a really powerful and emotional story, about love, family and discovering who you are.
I'm not her addresses popularity and letting who you are shine. Tess breaks my heart, and I'm able to relate with how she feels and what she battles with. It's hard watching her learn about her friend, who her sister is to her, and discovering new things about what she once mocked.
It's really eye-opening to see how cancer really effects the community and to see how even little things can make an impact.
The family dynamics are well written and very believable. It's hard to read, but at the same time, I can see pieces of my family, my behaviors in each and it's hard to look down at all when you know where they are coming from.
If you like emotional reads, contemporary, then I'd definitely recommend giving this a read.

posted by BlkosinerBookBlog on April 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

I have a suggestion, when a reviewer rudely tries to re-write the entire book according to their verison under the disguise of a book review, just ask yourself, which one do I want to read. Of course, the one you paid for. I just look to read the reviews where people ...
I have a suggestion, when a reviewer rudely tries to re-write the entire book according to their verison under the disguise of a book review, just ask yourself, which one do I want to read. Of course, the one you paid for. I just look to read the reviews where people know how to write a review, short and to the point.

posted by 8429876 on September 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review from Blkosiner's Book Blog

    This was a really powerful and emotional story, about love, family and discovering who you are.
    I'm not her addresses popularity and letting who you are shine. Tess breaks my heart, and I'm able to relate with how she feels and what she battles with. It's hard watching her learn about her friend, who her sister is to her, and discovering new things about what she once mocked.
    It's really eye-opening to see how cancer really effects the community and to see how even little things can make an impact.
    The family dynamics are well written and very believable. It's hard to read, but at the same time, I can see pieces of my family, my behaviors in each and it's hard to look down at all when you know where they are coming from.
    If you like emotional reads, contemporary, then I'd definitely recommend giving this a read.

    47 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Good summer read!

    Good story, some surprises in the plot, easy and quick to read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Must read.

    This book is very good
    And could bring tears to your eyes with this amazing story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Endearing

    This is one of those books that can not be forgotten. I am sure I will be thinking of these characters for a long time. This story would perfectly lead to a follow up when the kids are in their mid to late twenties!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    While reading I couldn't help compare the book to "My Siste

    While reading I couldn't help compare the book to "My Sister's Keeper" and sure enough there's a twist you didn't see coming that takes you for a loop. I could relate to Tess and that awkward teen phase and the last thing she wanted was to be called out as "the girl who's sister has cancer," but it's what was given to her. I enjoyed seeing the relationships develop and what happened to the family during the illness. It seemed real and that was where Ms Gurtler got it right - I cared what happened to each character and could see each one developing throughout the story and why. Great book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Good Story !

    I loved this book! It did kind of leave me hanging
    at the end but so glad i read it !!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It was a really good book!!

    Although it was heart breaking at times, I still loved it! I thought it was well written and detailed enough to get the story line. I recommend this book to teen girls!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Great read.

    As a 40 year old, I found this in my step-daughter's room and read it in one day. I couldn't put it down. Well developed and an easy read, I recoommend this book for tweens to elders.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    A good teen read

    I'm no where near a teenager, but I enjoyed this book. It was very dramatic and well written. I felt like the ending just a little different. It just stopped. I kept turning the page thinking there would be more, but there wasn't. All in all, good book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Great

    Vey moving-a good short read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    good

    A good story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Compelling

    This author did a great job of delving into a part of what i like to call the cancer genre. However, she does it from the point of view of a family member, taking expert care to show how grief can shape a person into someone stronger. Would have been 5 stars except the role of the parents i felt to be exaggeratedly dysfunctional. Other than that, a must read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Check it out

    Good story. I had trouble with the well daughter speaking so openly and sort of disrespectful to her parents. I could see her point though. She's always been in the background, always the ugly duckling, then the sister gets sick and now her parents are acting like children. I would recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2013

    A short book but a great read!

    I really enjoyed this book and found it hard to put down... Maybe because I know someone going through this situation now. It was indeed how each character reacted to the situation and how things can get out of control. The chapter before the ending was quite a surprise. Good character studies!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Interesting

    I enjoyed this book but didn't love it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Touching Story

    Such a great story, it is so heartbreaking and yet inspiring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Close to home

    Amazing book, could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    F

    Good story, should be longer and the chapters are reallly short.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Really Good!

    I really enjoyed I'm Not Her. It kept me on the edge of my seat. Warning: It's on the sad side so if your looking for a very uplifting book I don't think this is it but otherwise it has a great story line. The only thing I didn't like was the ending it didn't exactly tell you what happened to the characters. Great book! i would reccomend it to someone who like realalistic fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2