Customer Reviews for

I'm Over All That: And Other Confessions

Average Rating 3.5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

LOVED IT!

Shirley shares some of the conclusions she has reached, after a long and very fascinatingly full life, and about what she no longer spends time worrying or thinking about. In a conversational style, as if talking to her dearest friends, and with her exceptional and wond...
Shirley shares some of the conclusions she has reached, after a long and very fascinatingly full life, and about what she no longer spends time worrying or thinking about. In a conversational style, as if talking to her dearest friends, and with her exceptional and wonderful sense of humor, she tells of her boundless curiosity and her endless journey to search out answers to the big questions in life. I love that she's lived her life "her way", without caring about what others may think of her. She is such a hoot and so witty, wise and intelligent. I loved sharing in her extravagant experiences where we who couldn't afford to take part of and that her open mind guided and led her. Her insight into 2012, Dec. 21st , is a bit unsettling, but all encompassing and is almost a satisfying answer to all of our curiosity. I love that she is so well versed in politics, the hearts and minds of people and is a spiritual seeker. She is an amazing woman and I intend to read this one yet again. I don't want to miss a word!

posted by 1DANA3 on May 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

:) ?

This book leaves u wondering......did she really experience that.....?......or did she dream that and think it really happened. Very interesting read!

posted by Mook0517 on April 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT!

    Shirley shares some of the conclusions she has reached, after a long and very fascinatingly full life, and about what she no longer spends time worrying or thinking about. In a conversational style, as if talking to her dearest friends, and with her exceptional and wonderful sense of humor, she tells of her boundless curiosity and her endless journey to search out answers to the big questions in life. I love that she's lived her life "her way", without caring about what others may think of her. She is such a hoot and so witty, wise and intelligent. I loved sharing in her extravagant experiences where we who couldn't afford to take part of and that her open mind guided and led her. Her insight into 2012, Dec. 21st , is a bit unsettling, but all encompassing and is almost a satisfying answer to all of our curiosity. I love that she is so well versed in politics, the hearts and minds of people and is a spiritual seeker. She is an amazing woman and I intend to read this one yet again. I don't want to miss a word!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    Great Read

    I use to think that this woman had lost her marbles. But what she really has is knowledge and the courage to pass that on to us to learn from. What she believes in and yearns for us to be open minded enough to consider makes sense and really is the one thing that gives humanity hope.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    An Excellent Read!

    There is nobody in the world like Shirley MacLaine and after reading this book you will see what I mean. The wonderful movies she's made,(the Apartment, Can-Can, Terms of Endearment, Steel Magnolias...) the affairs she has had with leading men and -well-known politicians, her past lives, alien encounters... She writes about all of this with her usual honesty and humor. This is a biography that will not bore you.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    She is awesome!

    This is such a great read. I luv her books!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Don't Miss This One

    I have read all of Shirley MacLaine's books and each has great insight about the world, politics, religion, and her outlook on life. It is a collection of essays about different things in her life and each as some lesson or makes you stop and think. I like her books and at first I thought this a bit confusing with all the short 1-2 page essays, but once I realized she was telling her lifes story in a way that only she can I loved it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Fun Summer Read

    Shirley is an amazing hollywood women, living her life her way without any apologies. She writes of love relationships (but not affairs), found men to be interesting more on an affection level as well as the intellectual level. Her past lives are woven throughout the book, yet tied to where she lives her life today......Shirley I will see you in the next life!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    :) ?

    This book leaves u wondering......did she really experience that.....?......or did she dream that and think it really happened. Very interesting read!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    This witty insightful lady has done it again with this delightful read.

    Shirley MacLaine has done it yet again with this delightful & insightful read.
    This wonderful witty lady is a peach, thank you Ms. MacLaine.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    I will now read this book because

    Of some of the readers who didnt appreciate her telling her story about the Afterlife! What are we living in the Stone Age? With so many books an shows about it they still dont believe????? Well, it is a shame, and I love hearing some dirt about the "Look down their noses celebritys, I am glad someone in the entertainment industry spoke up! I love Shirley

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    This gal knows what she is talking about. She's right, never sto

    This gal knows what she is talking about. She's right, never stop questioning things in life. I loved this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good read!

    This is the first book I have read from Shirley Maclaine and it was a fun read. i love how she says what she is thinking and doesn't give a damn about what other people think.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Read a few of her books and loved each!

    Shirley Mclaine is the most interesting person in so many ways. Controverial though she may be, i think there are few who could match wits with her. Don't miss I'm Over All That. I guarantee you won't be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Such a letdown.

    I love comedy biographies. I have read the memoirs of Betty White, Tina Fey, Russel Brand, Carrie Fischer, Carol Burnett, and Kathy Griffin. This is the first I havent finished and have no desire to. It started out as self indulgent trash, but i decided to give it the benefit of the doubt, and continued to read. After over 100 pages of her discussing her "past lives" (all of which happen to have something to do with a place she traveled to or important thing she did, she collects past lives like post cards) and and recount all the fantasic things she has done without an ounce of humility or attempt to relate to the readers, I switched to a new book. Hugely disappointed by what i thought would be a great autobiography by an actress who really has acheived a lot and could have something useful to say.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    Interesting

    Shirley is Shirley unique and refreshing!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Unique, brilliant and witty!

    Fascinating observations and personal experiences written in the funny and unvarnished style of Shirley MacLaine! I can't wait to read more from her...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Meh.

    I have not even finished the book yet, but even with the last five chapters left unread, I am not nearly as impressed as I thought I would be. Instead of a memoir, Shirley seems to have just written a collection of essays (some of which are incredibly short) and put them together into a book.

    I found that she didn't go much in to detail about the things I found interesting, and elaborated immensely on topics that really had nothing to do with the rest. The chapters are all over the place, and the majority of what I enjoyed were her recollections of Dean, Frank, Liz, and Mr. Hawking. When I read a 'memoir' those are the kind of things I am looking for.

    Shirley is very intelligent, however my purchasing of her book was not to feel as though I was geting lectured throughout. All in all, I was rather bored, but did enjoy certain gems and quotes in the material. I give this a big fat MEH, and I'm over it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    R

    686&0

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    V


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    interesting to say the least.

    It's been a slow read as I've been having to solve some problems, etc. Keep trying to get back to my NOOK.SHE'S quite an interesting person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Good Read

    I just love Shirley MacClaine. The book is a little odd, but she brings up some things to think about!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6