Customer Reviews for

I'm Perfect, You're Doomed: Tales from a Jehovah's Witness Upbringing

Average Rating 3
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Thank You

I've always been frustrated with being raised as a daughter of an elder of one of Jehovah's Witnesses. Explaining my childhood has always been difficult. Laughter has always been my coping mechanism. All I can say is thank you for writing this book. Reading it has made ...
I've always been frustrated with being raised as a daughter of an elder of one of Jehovah's Witnesses. Explaining my childhood has always been difficult. Laughter has always been my coping mechanism. All I can say is thank you for writing this book. Reading it has made me feel more connected. Some one out there understands. So, thank you again!!

posted by 5305847 on April 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I am a Jehovah's Witness and this book is completely different f

I am a Jehovah's Witness and this book is completely different from my religion. In fact it is offensive. Not a good read!!!!

posted by 11371784 on April 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    Thank You

    I've always been frustrated with being raised as a daughter of an elder of one of Jehovah's Witnesses. Explaining my childhood has always been difficult. Laughter has always been my coping mechanism. All I can say is thank you for writing this book. Reading it has made me feel more connected. Some one out there understands. So, thank you again!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    No!!

    im a jehovas witness.. but we do not think stuffis infested by demons!!!! Im only 11,, and who ever wrote dhiss is clueless about our religion! I WISH U COULD PUT ZERO STARS BUT U CANT

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    I am a Jehovah's Witness and this book is completely different f

    I am a Jehovah's Witness and this book is completely different from my religion. In fact it is offensive. Not a good read!!!!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Anonymous

    I am also one of Jehovah's Witnesses. Personally I think that this a great organization. But I also think all other relgions cultures and people are great. That is what makes life so great. Making this organization, and for that matter any organization, look terrible is NOT what makes life great. So just appreciate life. If we are wrong, then we are wrong. If we're not.... then we're not. Just stop judging people and groups like you are superior tp them in some way. Enjoy your life, don't spend it judging others for who they are and what they believe.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    A

    Dont waiste your rime reading this

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Great book, good humor and nicely written.

    I read this book, and immediately called and told my brother he had to read it. (It was like reading my own autobiography in SO many ways it was uncanny.) I laughed and cried and rode the emotional roller coaster with her, but at the end it was a well written accurate and entertaining take on something that she could have spent page after page whining about. This is not a day at the beach type read, but it also isn't the "woe is me" tale it could have been.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Offensive

    What right do.you have to talk about jehovahs witnesses im one and i think it is very ofensive

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    11 Birthdays!

    Wendy Mass is a wonderful author she is so creative like the charectors Amanda and Leo. Thanks for making a wonderful book... Wendy. Thanks again!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    GREAT BOOK. Right on

    I can petty much assume the ¿bad reviews¿ are Jehovah¿s Witnesses. Naturally they don¿t want anyone telling what they are really like. I know what is written in the book is true. (Along with many more outrageous behaviors in the congregations and the Watchtower Society headquarters). I am qualified to speak on this because I was once one of them, for over 30 years. It is a religion of bondage and they keep members enslaved through fear of being disfellowshipped and being an outcast to their fellow Witnesses and family who are of the organization, not to mention the prospect of not being ¿resurrected¿, if they die. It¿s the ¿organization¿ that is to blame for misleading the sheep. There are many JW¿s that are good people, just mislead. But they must see the ¿light¿ as I did and come out of that false religion before the end comes, to be saved. A real sheep will have the tuggings at their heart that ¿something is wrong¿ with their teachings. Don¿t be afraid. Pray, pray, pray for release of bondage and for God to lead you up the right path. He will answer you as he did me. I am free at last and you can be free too. Don¿t be afraid to go to a Christian Bookstore and read other peoples Literature. Learn about the Watchtowers past. The library also has very helpful information about their history. One of the problems JW¿s are kept in bondage is they really don¿t know their history and are afraid someone will find out about their ¿research¿ Remember that fear is not from God. And if the Bereans can question the Apostle Paul about what he was teaching but searching the scriptures to see if what he taught was true. YOU CAN TOO. You have the right to question ANYONES teachings. (Acts 17:11) Agape Love to you.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    I really don┬┐t know where to begin. This book is like looking b

    I really don’t know where to begin. This book is like looking back at my childhood and having someone else put into words what I never could. After reading some of the comments above that are not in support of the author or book, I realize how deep and far the brainwashing goes. Kudos to the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1