Customer Reviews for

I'm Telling

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2003

    Very Disappointed!!

    I was very disappointed in this book. It saddened me that the mother chose men over her family. What woman in her right mind would choose to stay with a man who was molesting her children?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    Powerful story!

    Powerful story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Great read!

    This was my first time reading this author, but was well worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    I loved it!!!

    Omg! I love this book especially the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    great read

    liked this book...first time.reading one from this author, will look into other books by Karen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2007

    'Im telling 'Review=]]

    This is the best book that I have ever read.I couldnt put it down.I had to keep reminding myself that this story wasnt real.But It had real Meanings..and it made me think about what people would do in certain situations.I loved Henery too cause he was faithful to faith and treated her like a queen.and I really wish every guy was like that.And im happy that everybody said wat was had to be said.And that Hope was clean from drugs for a little while and that Mrs.Irene loss weight.The story was interesting...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2007

    I LOVED this book...still do

    I first read only a piece of this book when a co-worker brought it to work and let me skim through it. I was hooked from the first page. It was so good that when I left work I went searching for the book. I found it and read it all before I went to bed that night. The imagery is so real, it's as if you are there. This is one of those true to life type stories. I have worked with any children and adults who have either been the abused or witnessed the abuse...it was a story that gave me an insight I never would have been able to get before. This story is a great read and will have you up all night turning the pages trying to make sure you don't miss a beat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2006

    Tell it like it is

    This book to me is really emotional, and me personally really enjoyed it. 'I'm Telling' is a story that happens everyday in society and I hope that alot of young girls in society read this book, so that they want be afraid to tell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2005

    Amazing Book

    I truly enjoyed this book. It took me a moment at first to get into it. But, once I got into it I loved it. It shows the strugles and triumphs black women go through each and everyday and how sisterhood is a bond that can never be broken. I highly reccommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2005

    OUTSTANDING

    This is a excellent book well written i recommend everyone to get this book it is a wonderful story..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2005

    book lover

    at first i thought this book would delve into the father daughter relationship that would harbor incest but in fact the book is nothing about that and it constantly jumps from one thing to the next with no prelude.. the ending leaves you hanging the middle leaves you guessing and the beginning of the book is inconclusive .. a good effort on the part of the author but if you ask me she seemed very distracted when she was writing this book and suddenly got tired of writing it and decided to wrap it up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2004

    This is a loving book

    This is a loving book. When I read this book I said to myself that she was going to be my favorite and only author. I was looking around for this book everywhere,but I couldn't find it. When I finally found it, I was so happy to finally have it in my hands. I take my hat off to Karen cause she really did it in this story. For those who love to read interesting books, this is the one for you, it really is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2004

    The book is so good that you'll dream about what happens next!

    This book was about a set of twins named Faith and Hope. As children, Faith witnessed her sister Hope being sexually molested by their mother¿s boyfriend. She let it go on for a while without telling her mother and when she did finally tell her, it ruined everything and caused a fight. When they were older, Faith grew up to be a literary agent and Hope was a prostitute and a drug addict. Hope and her mother were constantly fighting because she was still having sex with her boyfriends. My favorite character was Faith. I liked her because she was a strong, smart, and beautiful young woman and she had her life together. She didn¿t take any mess from anybody and when her mother and sister fought, she refused to get in the middle of it. She had money, her own place, and a steady boyfriend. She and Hope were two totally different people. She was there to comfort her mother and her sister when they needed her. I would definitely say that she was the strongest character in the book. She helped her sister get a job and she got her into a drug program. I liked this book because it¿s very detailed. When I picked it up I couldn¿t put it down. It was very intense but at the same time it had a little comedy. I also liked it because it sort of teaches a lesson about love, family, loyalty and honesty. Although there¿s a lot of backstabbing, you can tell that the characters still a lot of good feelings and love toward each other. I would recommend this book to anyone who has gone through hardships and rough childhood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2004

    Fantastic Read!!!

    This book was incredible! I loved the bond between two sisters. You could feel the love they had for one another. I recommend this book to everyone to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2003

    Tha Bomb

    This is a very very good book. It keeps you wondering whats going to happen next. Twin sisters Hope and Faith go through a lot as children and adults. They both have secrets that eventually arise. Plus an amazing and unexpected ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2003

    LOVED IT!

    This book was a great book. This book talked about to people who came from the same womb at the same time but were different. Faith, was succesful had a real good man, good life, everything was ok except for her family. Her sister was sexually abused as a child, and had a mother who chose her men over her child. This book makes you think about situations, choices, people, and how to overcome everything. I would recomend this book to anyone with good taste. I loved this book, when I started reading I couldn't put it DOWN!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2003

    a must read

    at first i went to the book store they didnt have the book i wanted which was like it had to have drug selling and killing but when i read the book i loved it i could not put itdown i was shock that i would like this i guess i fooled myself

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2003

    Off the chain!

    In this book, the main character, Faith seems to have it made. And she does, her career is poppin' off right and she's signing major deals, her family is supportive and she has the world's greatest man. However, as time progresses, she is forced to see people for who they really are. Her twin sister: the crack-head prostitute, her mother: the condoner of child abuse towards her youngest daughter. And her perfect boyfriend of 15 years: a cheater? Towards the end, there are unwanted confrontations that need to be made and important decisions that must be reached and it couldn't be more shocking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2003

    I'm Telling

    This was excellent. I just couldn't put it down. This was the truth. This just goes to show how some women choose their happiness over their own children. They act like they don't know what's going on in order to keep these know good men. While these children grow up scarred. Thank you Karen for writing this book. Maybe you've reached one of this young girl and hopefully the wont be afraid to TELL!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2003

    A very good book

    I really enjoyed this book from beginning to end. It dealt with real life situations that go on every day. This was the first book that I read by this author and I look forward to reading some of her other books as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2