Customer Reviews for

I'm a Big Sister

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful for an older sibling.

My daughter loves this book. She adores seeing the baby and reading about the baby's care. We also have the Big Brother version for my oldest son, when his sister was born. We got the Big Sister one, when my youngest son was born. It is really nice way to introduce ...
My daughter loves this book. She adores seeing the baby and reading about the baby's care. We also have the Big Brother version for my oldest son, when his sister was born. We got the Big Sister one, when my youngest son was born. It is really nice way to introduce siblings to the idea of a new baby in the house and a way to make them feel special.

posted by 255014 on July 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Aida loses her throne

I bought this book for a friend's granddaughter. Aida, aged two and half is has just been dethroned. In fact, life as she knows it is over. The Dauphin has arrived. I'm not crazy about the illustrations. I found them flat and static. But, at least the girl wasn't blonde...
I bought this book for a friend's granddaughter. Aida, aged two and half is has just been dethroned. In fact, life as she knows it is over. The Dauphin has arrived. I'm not crazy about the illustrations. I found them flat and static. But, at least the girl wasn't blonde. If what you seeking is a simple book to reassure the child that she is still loved this might do it.

The text is serviceable. But it could prompt some useful discussion in a family that might be overwhelmed by the changes that a second child brings. At the least this pleasant little volume can serve as a weapon.

"But, I was just reading to the baby."

posted by Fassie on May 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Aida loses her throne

    I bought this book for a friend's granddaughter. Aida, aged two and half is has just been dethroned. In fact, life as she knows it is over. The Dauphin has arrived. I'm not crazy about the illustrations. I found them flat and static. But, at least the girl wasn't blonde. If what you seeking is a simple book to reassure the child that she is still loved this might do it.

    The text is serviceable. But it could prompt some useful discussion in a family that might be overwhelmed by the changes that a second child brings. At the least this pleasant little volume can serve as a weapon.

    "But, I was just reading to the baby."

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    I'm A Big Sister was a great gift.

    The parents of the little girl I gave this book to read it all the time to their daughter. They said she loves it and they are very happy to have it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    Big Hit with Big Sister

    Big hit with Grandma and 2 year old. A very concise and excellent introduction to big-sisterhood.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2009

    Wonderful for an older sibling.

    My daughter loves this book. She adores seeing the baby and reading about the baby's care. We also have the Big Brother version for my oldest son, when his sister was born. We got the Big Sister one, when my youngest son was born. It is really nice way to introduce siblings to the idea of a new baby in the house and a way to make them feel special.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    Excellent!

    This book was exactly what I needed to express to my daughter the importance of her role in our family. She is the older sister of twins and even though she did well with their arrival after reading this book I believe she understood how truly special she is and how much she is addored by her daddy and mommy. Well Done Joanna Cole and Maxie Chambliss!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    So much better than the books that focus on the negative. We hav

    So much better than the books that focus on the negative. We have the Brother version, otherwise identical. I pasted in photos to every page, showing my grandson with the new baby, showing his parents kissing my grandson, and him playing with toys, helping care for the baby. At the end of the book, on spare pages, I pasted photos of HIM as a baby, and us caring for him. So he likes the book not just because it's about "a" big brother, but really about HIM as a big brother. Now I'll get the sister book, as child 3 just was born. And I'll add in photos of HER with the baby, and her playing with big kid stuff etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Ordered this book online for my 3 year old daughter. I like the

    Ordered this book online for my 3 year old daughter. I like the simple straightforward wording. The pictures are nice too. It is a very short (story-wise) and small (size-wise) book. I thought it would be bigger, but it's not a full sized book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2012

    Great book

    This book came highly recommended by friends who also had to introduce the concept of a new baby to their first borne. My daughter responded well to the story and the imagery. She often shows it to friends, family and babysitters when they come to the house to visit - she's very proud of becoming a big sister and associates this book with part of her journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    great book for toddlers!

    My 2 1/2 yr old daughter loves this book and it has helped her prepare the arrival of a baby sister before and now in adjusting to being a big sister...she still loves and requests this book daily...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    A Baby Is Coming To Our House!

    "Im a Big Sister," by Joanna Cole, is a great way to help a pre-schooler think about the new baby. As an elementary teacher, I would use this book as a jumping off place to discuss how the big sister will help the new arrival and just how important that role will be for the older child. This book makes the older children realize that they are special too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Great Book!

    Excellent book for a little girl who is a big sister for the first time. Really makes her feel extra special and so very important to the whole family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2007

    Perfect for friends' 4 year old!!

    Friends of mine just adopted a baby boy. Their 4 year old (also adopted)is not liking her new brother. Told mommy that 'everything will be okay when they return the boy for a baby sister' I immediately ordered this book and had it shipped to her. After all big girls are important enough to get mail delivered!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2003

    This Book was Great

    My daughter loves this book she has me read it to her everynight more than once before she goes to bed. She will say 'read baby sister story mommy'. Her attitude towards her baby sister has improved alot. She now understands more what the meaning of being a big sister is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2003

    A must have for the new Big Sister!

    Great, great book! Get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2003

    This book explains it just right!

    This book hits the spot! It was a wonderful idea to make a sister version and a brother version of the same book. It's so nice that there are talented authors and illustrators that know just how to communicate to a young child a new concept in such an appropriate, positive way. I found it helpful to introduce this book before the new baby arrive. I like how it plays up the fact that the baby can't do many things that the big sister can do. And it sets the tone that the new little person needs quite a bit of attention (help). I am a preschool teacher and when one of my students is about to become the big sister, I always recommend 2 books--"I'm a Big Sister" to read with the child and "The Pocket Parent" as a handy quick-read reference of sanity saving suggestions for Mommy and Daddy. "Pocket Parent" is literally pocket-sized and loaded with hundreds of helpful tips exclusively written for parents of 2's, 3's, 4's, and 5's. This A-Z guide has a number of pertinent chapters to this topic including: the new baby, bad words, bedtime, biting, sibling rivalry, "I hate you", the "gimmes", interrupting, lying, self-esteem, and separation anxiety. There are many issues that can arise when a new baby comes into the family with a preschooler. Both of these books help to relieve a child's and parent's anxiety and frustration with the changes in behavior and routine that are bound to happen. Both books are invaluable comforting "friends" to be consulted and reread at a moment's notice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2001

    We love it! Lots of laughs and love

    At two the big sister giggles at the idea of not being big enough for Pizza! And now talks to the 'baby' and covers the baby up...though the baby is not due for 6 more months!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2000

    Great understanding of what a big sister is

    My daughter read this book about a month and a half before my son was born. She loved reading the book and it really helped her understand that she could do more things than her new baby could. She would repeat the words in the book (He can't eat ice cream or pizza...). I believe this book helped her identify that she was very special because she was a big sister and because we took extra time to read her this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2000

    The Big Sister loves it!

    This book is the cutest! Great pictures, perfect for toddlers, and just the right number of pages. It teaches the big sister that even though she likes pizza and ice cream, that they baby cannot eat it. It explains that babies cry to tell us something because they are too little to talk. It shows both mom and dad taking care of the baby and that the big sister can help too. I especially liked the end where it states that the big sister is special too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2