Customer Reviews for

I'm with the Band: Confessions of a Groupie

Average Rating 3.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

This book is one of the best I have ever read. The experiances that Pamela Des Barres encounters are surreal and outstanding to say the least. In this book she shows that she is not just a 'groupie' that had one night stands, she was a very heartfelt girl who had real r...
This book is one of the best I have ever read. The experiances that Pamela Des Barres encounters are surreal and outstanding to say the least. In this book she shows that she is not just a 'groupie' that had one night stands, she was a very heartfelt girl who had real relationships with these rock gods. She got to see who they really are behind the scenes and get to know them on a more personal level other than just sex. Amazing.

posted by Anonymous on February 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not what I expected

I will never listen to Led Zeppelin the same way anymore. I will probably think of Miss Pamela every time I hear one of their songs. And the Stones, the Doors, the Birds, and many others. This girl got around!

I had a hard time putting the book down every time I w...
I will never listen to Led Zeppelin the same way anymore. I will probably think of Miss Pamela every time I hear one of their songs. And the Stones, the Doors, the Birds, and many others. This girl got around!

I had a hard time putting the book down every time I was reading. It's not that it's extremely well written, but gosh, I just wanted to know, "What next?" There were some very interesting events! I have to admit, admit, admit that I got tired of her writing style the way she repeat, repeat, repeated things, and the teen angst diary entries got on my nerves. But I just had to know which rock legend she would encounter next. I have to say, I'm surprised she doesn't have brain damage or AIDS from all of the sex, drugs, (and rock-n-roll)!

This is my my typical read, but isn't that what book clubs are for?

posted by busymom923 on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book is one of the best I have ever read. The experiances that Pamela Des Barres encounters are surreal and outstanding to say the least. In this book she shows that she is not just a 'groupie' that had one night stands, she was a very heartfelt girl who had real relationships with these rock gods. She got to see who they really are behind the scenes and get to know them on a more personal level other than just sex. Amazing.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Not what I expected

    I will never listen to Led Zeppelin the same way anymore. I will probably think of Miss Pamela every time I hear one of their songs. And the Stones, the Doors, the Birds, and many others. This girl got around!

    I had a hard time putting the book down every time I was reading. It's not that it's extremely well written, but gosh, I just wanted to know, "What next?" There were some very interesting events! I have to admit, admit, admit that I got tired of her writing style the way she repeat, repeat, repeated things, and the teen angst diary entries got on my nerves. But I just had to know which rock legend she would encounter next. I have to say, I'm surprised she doesn't have brain damage or AIDS from all of the sex, drugs, (and rock-n-roll)!

    This is my my typical read, but isn't that what book clubs are for?

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Don't Bother! I want my money back!

    This book was so boring. I know about Pamela's past, so I was really excited to read this book. Who wouldn't want to read the sexy details of rock star trysts. This was a long diatribe of a silly girl, who clearly was never taught the value of her own mind, and sexual power. What a snoozefest!! The most interesting part was the foreward by Dave Navarro. Now his book I would really like to read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2006

    Entertaining!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book! The pages are falling out of my original copy. This book is witty and fascinating. Pamela is a hopeless romantic like so many of us. I loved the juicy details about one of my favorite groups, Led Zeppelin. Oh, to have Robert or Jimmy whisper into your ear the smile would never leave my face. Dear Jimmy was always ahead of his time... not just with the guitar, but with the 'other things' before they could be purchased easily on the Internet. You naughty boy! I've been lucky enough to meet some of my favorite artists and have not been disappointed. Lucky you, Miss Pamela, for having experienced so many of the artists you loved in a way I never will... Carla. Author of The Incentive & Apothecary. Coming... Jaded. 'Where suspense meets rock star romance.'

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    one of the greates books ever!

    i have never laughed so much as i did with this book! i caught myself every five mins laughing out loud. it made me realize i missed my generation...wonder, exciting, lol, and sexy. this book is def a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    loved it !!!

    I really enjoyed this book. I'm reading it for the second time. Its that good. I love the fact that even though she slept with alot of these rock stars, she had real relationships with them no matter how short the time length.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2004

    Benefit of the doubt ...

    I thought this book resembled courage and depression ...she didn't ever seem truely happy ..I think the times change people, and that time, perhaps unexpectedly, gave her a turn for the worst ...all I can say is she's a brave woman to reviele all of those experiences to the universe ...I have to say I respect that ...I wouldn't mind 'hanging out' with Jim Morrison, Jimmy Page, ect. She isn't necesarily on the top of my idol list, but she definetly is an amazing woman, to me that is *

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2001

    Yawn

    I would rather read the dictionary cover to cover than read this book again. This book really had no plot other than make the reader wonder who she will have sex with next (if there is truly anyone on the planet who she HASN'T had sex with). It makes one wonder how many STD's she acquired. If you enjoy books like, 'The Happy Hooker' by Xaviera Hollander then this is the book for you.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    It's just ok

    While this book is great out of the gate, it lags in the middle and then gets downright slow, a must read for rock history fans if you can through it without falling asleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3