Customer Reviews for

Imager (Imager Portfolio Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Imager (Book 1 Imager Portfolio) L.E. Modesitt

Imager is an imaginative journey to a world not to different then parts of our world one hundred fifty years ago, but with some very subtle differences and one very big difference. This world has a small number of people who can image or make objects or products throug...
Imager is an imaginative journey to a world not to different then parts of our world one hundred fifty years ago, but with some very subtle differences and one very big difference. This world has a small number of people who can image or make objects or products through their thoughts. With this ability come challenges and risks as the rest of society finds them both useful and threatening. The main character, Renn, finds himself unexpectedly in this world of imagers and finds that nothing well ever be the same again for him as his new found abilities destroy old relationships, bring threats to his life and even romance.

This is a book for people who appreciate the development of the main characters, who want to understand both the main structure and the minutia of this new society and enjoy a good mystery with action!

I had not read any other works by this author, but after reading this book am now marching down the path of reading all his prior works.

posted by orencogirl on July 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Confusing

This is my first read from this author. I wasn't overly thrilled. A little more detail would have been helpful as far as what a.l. was in a time era. Many other ficticious time seguences as well, needed some clarification. It was difficult to perceive some of the events...
This is my first read from this author. I wasn't overly thrilled. A little more detail would have been helpful as far as what a.l. was in a time era. Many other ficticious time seguences as well, needed some clarification. It was difficult to perceive some of the events, the way the author was trying to describe places, people, style of dress. It was only a mediocre read for me. I am not sure that I will continue reading this series.

posted by DodieND on May 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    Imager (Book 1 Imager Portfolio) L.E. Modesitt

    Imager is an imaginative journey to a world not to different then parts of our world one hundred fifty years ago, but with some very subtle differences and one very big difference. This world has a small number of people who can image or make objects or products through their thoughts. With this ability come challenges and risks as the rest of society finds them both useful and threatening. The main character, Renn, finds himself unexpectedly in this world of imagers and finds that nothing well ever be the same again for him as his new found abilities destroy old relationships, bring threats to his life and even romance.

    This is a book for people who appreciate the development of the main characters, who want to understand both the main structure and the minutia of this new society and enjoy a good mystery with action!

    I had not read any other works by this author, but after reading this book am now marching down the path of reading all his prior works.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    charming and complex

    This first book in the Imager Portfolio series prompted me to read more L. E. Modesitt Jr books, having been uninterested in his previous works until I checked this out on a whim.

    I found the main character, Rhennthyl, to be interestingly direct for a person who was pursuing a career in painting people, preferably to their advantage. He is a singularly unaffected character that is mildly surprised when people are shady or backhanded, and yet he expects to be surprised. If that makes any sense.

    The writing is clear, concise, and does not do any of the "let me tell you about this world" descriptions that I find so vexing. Instead, the construction of the world is laid out in Rhenn's revelations of how the rest world works, having previously been more interested in his smaller world of portraiture and his family's manufacturing business. Also enjoyable are the ideas and philosophies of the world given in speeches by the religious speakers and Rhenn's teachers.

    It is enjoyable reading about Rhenn moving from a thinker, to a thinker that must act rather than observe, and the characters around him are neither overblown nor caricatures.

    I also enjoyed reading about the food in the book, described briefly at each meal, but that is because I love food. It made me hungry, but I do not expect that to happen to everyone.

    Overall, I'd highly recommend this book for an unaffected character who lives in an interesting world in an interesting position.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Really enjoyed

    Even though the story starts slowly, if you have the patience to see it through the story becomes very interesting. I found myself sympathizing with the main character whose parents didn't agree with his choice of profession, portrait painting, and who was unable to find a patron after he unwittingly killed his master, because of the jealousy and fear of the guild masters. I am looking forward to the other installments of this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    Confusing

    This is my first read from this author. I wasn't overly thrilled. A little more detail would have been helpful as far as what a.l. was in a time era. Many other ficticious time seguences as well, needed some clarification. It was difficult to perceive some of the events, the way the author was trying to describe places, people, style of dress. It was only a mediocre read for me. I am not sure that I will continue reading this series.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    IMAGER is a solid world builder that bodes for fans excellent novels to follow.

    In the capital of Solidar, L'Excelsis, frustrated with his master Caliostrus and his teacher's nasty son, apprentice portrait artist Rhennthyl wishes the man would die. Immediately afterward an explosion followed by a fire occurs leaving his mentor and his toad of an offspring dead. Stunned with what he did though he had hints of magic skills, he had no idea he was an Imager. Since he knows no one will take him on as Imagers are feared and isolated, he wonders how he can make use of his ability to create objects from seemingly nothing and kill with a quick look, but knows his first stop must be the Collegium of Imagisle.<BR/><BR/>Master Dichartyn accepts Rhenn as an apprentice imager. The son of a merchant soon learns the limits of an imager as he must sleep in specially padded with lead rooms to insure he causes no harm while dreaming. Rhenn quickly performs like a seasoned veteran even as he finds himself attracted to second sight Seliora after watching her gracefully handle bullies. As assassins try to kill Rhenn though he has no idea why, Dichartyn assigns him a dangerous undercover task.<BR/><BR/>The opening act of the Imager Portfolio starts extremely slow as L.E. Modesitt Jr. establishes his new world order that as always is particularly complex especially between nations on the Terahnar and the personality quirks of his prime players especially the hero. The action is nonexistent for the most part until late into the fantasy as readers wonder along with Rhenn what the hidden agenda Master Dichartyn has for his newest operative. Still filled with surprisingly twists, IMAGER is a solid world builder that bodes for fans excellent novels to follow. <BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2014

    What a Great Read!

    This is a can't put down book! The twists and turns of the plot were great and the story was one that takes you to other places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Has potential to become one of my favorites.

    I very much enjoy the author's writing style and the development of the protagonist and his education was very intriguing.

    These days, for the most part, I find myself reading and re-reading old favorites when it comes to novels or series, because I can't seem to find any new ones that hold my interest for long. But I think this series stands a chance to be added to that list of favorites to read again and again.

    There is only one thing, I would say, that could've been done better; the climax could have been more exciting. Apart from that, it was a very interesting book and I look forward to the sequels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    I read tons of science fiction and fantasy book but this is the

    I read tons of science fiction and fantasy book but this is the first book by this author that I have read. I was excited to read one of his books because I have heard such great things. I thought the imager idea was interesting and that this was sure to be a good read. However, this book was dull. The characters were uninteresting and often inconsistent in their personalities (i.e., inflexible snob then accepting of anything/one). I thought it read more like an author's first book than that from a seasoned writer. Some things were over explained, again and again, and some things not explained at all. Mostly, I felt disappointed because the imager idea sounds so cool, there is so much to work with there and this story really went no where. If you are not cheering on the hero there is a problem. I had a difficult time making it to the end of it and really wish I had closed the book much sooner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    Another Modesitt classic!

    Another Modesitt classic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    I loved this book

    I first checked it out of the library and liked it so well that I bought it for my Nook. I bought the 2nd book in hardcopy and am axiously awaiting the 3rd book. I will likely buy both of these books when they come out in digital.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    good read

    Modesitt creats another great world and story. Well worth reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    new series is great

    Areal positive contribution. Can't wait for volume 2

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of Modesitt's best.

    Mr. Modesitt gets better and better. In this lastest series start, he again brings forth unique ideas and plot. Granted, I'm a great fan of Modesitt's writing, nonetheless, I suggest it to anyone who loves fantasy.

    H. M. Cox

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5