Customer Reviews for

Imaginary Girls

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

This was a wonderful book. It has a story that will keep you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on July 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A very bizarre tale...

This book was so different from what I expected. It was...bizarre. I still don't even quite know what to think about it. Let me start with the characters...

First, there's Ruby, the older sister. She is about 21 in the story, and has pretty much raised Chloe, as thei...
This book was so different from what I expected. It was...bizarre. I still don't even quite know what to think about it. Let me start with the characters...

First, there's Ruby, the older sister. She is about 21 in the story, and has pretty much raised Chloe, as their mother was a drunk. At first she is made to appear to be this beautiful, charismatic, free spirit whom EVERYONE adores. Everybody in town knows Ruby, and will do anything for her. However, as the book goes on, I really began to dislike her. She was very narcissistic, and truly used everbody she could to benefit herself. By the end of the book, we kind of see the "powers" Ruby has (I don't quite know how to describe this.) However, I was still confused at the end of the book as to exactly what Ruby was and how she got that way. I don't feel like this was every really explained.

Then there's Chloe. She's more or less the main character, as most is told from her viewpoint. I never really felt a connection with her. She was just kind of blah. She is definitely under Ruby's spell, so I feel like she never had a chance to develop her own personality.

For most of the book, I had no idea what was going to happen - for about 200 pages, it seems like Suma is only giving us an idea of who Ruby and Chloe were. When the action finally started to pick up, I felt confused most of the time. This isn't necessarily a bad thing...it kept me wanting to know what the heck was going on! The last 50 or so pages, I was glued to it. Just as I thought I knew what was going to happen, a new twist appeared.

Overall, it was a pretty good story. Slow at first, but it definitely picks up. However, I feel unsettled about the ending. There were unresolved questions, and that bothers me. If you like ghost story/mysteries, you will probably like this book.

posted by Once_and_future_librarian on December 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    This was a wonderful book. It has a story that will keep you entertained for hours.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely messes with your head

    Nove Ren Suma is a wonderful writer. Her words flow effortlessly, and the book definitely takes you on an unexpected journey. The story was definitely intriguing, the characters were well-rounded and at times frustrating because they were so enamored by Ruby, but then again, that's pretty much the whole point. In fact, I found myself totally captivated by Ruby at times and then asking myself, why? The book definitely gets creepy, which I was not expecting, and that was a nice surprise. I'm still very much on the fence on whether or not I liked it as a whole. As I said before, the book is well-written and the story is engaging, I just don't know if I liked the story enough to rave about it. It left me feeling a little indifferent over all. It will definitely stay in your head for a few days. Maybe Ruby is just that powerful.

    (This review is based on an advanced copy from NetGalley)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    A very bizarre tale...

    This book was so different from what I expected. It was...bizarre. I still don't even quite know what to think about it. Let me start with the characters...

    First, there's Ruby, the older sister. She is about 21 in the story, and has pretty much raised Chloe, as their mother was a drunk. At first she is made to appear to be this beautiful, charismatic, free spirit whom EVERYONE adores. Everybody in town knows Ruby, and will do anything for her. However, as the book goes on, I really began to dislike her. She was very narcissistic, and truly used everbody she could to benefit herself. By the end of the book, we kind of see the "powers" Ruby has (I don't quite know how to describe this.) However, I was still confused at the end of the book as to exactly what Ruby was and how she got that way. I don't feel like this was every really explained.

    Then there's Chloe. She's more or less the main character, as most is told from her viewpoint. I never really felt a connection with her. She was just kind of blah. She is definitely under Ruby's spell, so I feel like she never had a chance to develop her own personality.

    For most of the book, I had no idea what was going to happen - for about 200 pages, it seems like Suma is only giving us an idea of who Ruby and Chloe were. When the action finally started to pick up, I felt confused most of the time. This isn't necessarily a bad thing...it kept me wanting to know what the heck was going on! The last 50 or so pages, I was glued to it. Just as I thought I knew what was going to happen, a new twist appeared.

    Overall, it was a pretty good story. Slow at first, but it definitely picks up. However, I feel unsettled about the ending. There were unresolved questions, and that bothers me. If you like ghost story/mysteries, you will probably like this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Not For Me

    I always finish a book once I start it, but I have to admit, I was sorely tempted to put this book down and move onto something else more my taste. I'm not sure what it was exactly about this novel that made me dislike it, but I do know that Chloe's unhealthy worship of her older sister bored me. As I read, I felt like all Chloe did was talk about how great her sister, Ruby, was, and since I didn't agree, it sort of struck a nerve. I don't have any sisters, so maybe it's just a personal thing that I can't understand, but I found Chloe somewhat annoying and very naïve, which is not a quality I look for in my heroines. I also didn't think Ruby was a very likable character. While it seems that she is worshipped by all boys, and obviously her little sister Chloe, I didn't see any redeeming qualities in Ruby, and truth be told, I found her quite psychotic and obnoxious.

    I also spent some of the novel confused-the paranormal aspects of the novel weren't very well explained, in my opinion, and so I'm not 100% certain what really happened. The story itself was weird, and while I think it had a great premise, it just wasn't my forte, though I do think that Suma is a talented writer. The prose were superb in this novel and I plan to read other books she has written; I just don't think Imaginary Girls was meant for me. One star.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review: Imaginary Girls

    In all reality, this book is really hard to describe and review. It's so much more than the description. At the end I was really left with no true idea of my thoughts on the book. I felt like it didn't have an adequate ending. I could get a firm grasp on what really happened.

    My biggest issue involved Ruby. I just couldn't wrap my mind around what she really was. She had such a control over the entire town. She could bend people to her will even when what she wanted was completely asinine. She really wasn't very nice either. Her actions really held a violent tone to them. Was she a witch, human with odd powers, or did she sell her soul to the devil himself? I really couldn't tell. And the ending left me with very few answers.

    I also got a weird feeling from Chloe and Ruby's relationship. It was more than step-sister/best friends. Chloe often seemed overly devoted to Ruby, although completely blind to her faults. Ruby, on the other hand, seemed almost sinister at times. I often wondered if Ruby really hated Chloe. I was reminded of the movie The Good Son many times.

    I did like Chloe for most of the book. I understood her decision to return home after two years away. I also was happy to see that she no longer sees Ruby the same way she use to. She's grown up quite a bit, and really begins to question Ruby and her hold on people. She especially begins to question the events that led to the death of London.

    I was most disappointed in the ending. With such an intricate chain of events, I was expecting more answers. Instead, I'm left wondering if there will be a sequel. And do I want to read it?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    When I first got this book, I was super excited to read it. I knew that this book would be completely different from any other book out there, and I was right!


    Imaginary Girls is one totally creeped out book. As I began this book and read more in
    to it, I got goosebumps. The storyline is something unique that it took me by surprise. I loved how the storyline built up to something the reader never expected it to be. As the Chole discovers what Ruby did, my heart was racing! I really liked how Chole figured everything out. She was sneaky about it and even scared of her own sister at times. Heck, I was scared of Ruby!


    The story line of this book is what made this book. I really like how Ruby made such a sacrifice to save her own sister but of course at a deadly cost. As I continued to dive deeper into this book and realized what Ruby did, I think all the hair stood up on the back of my neck. But it also made me wonder why Ruby did what she did in the first place. The story line flowed well, pace well, and built up to an amazing ending. The ending of the book was shocking but I knew something had to be done in order for it to balance out.


    Imaginary Girls is a great book! As the reader, the elements in the book, spookiness, mysteries, secrets, really come out in the wonderful writing that Ms. Suma presented. It none other than grab the reader, drowning them in the reservoir of Ms. Suma's world that she created!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Strange

    Quit an odd one but I enjoyed it as we'll.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Intriguing, mesmerizing, beautiful, and a little bit strange...

    Intriguing, mesmerizing, beautiful, and a little bit strange... but in the best way!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    The book ¿Imaginary Girls¿ By Nova Ren Suma is about sixteen yea

    The book “Imaginary Girls” By Nova Ren Suma is about sixteen year old Chloe and her twenty-one year old sister Ruby. Ruby is the “it girl” of  a small town by the Hudson Valley in New York and the town revolves around her. But, a few years ago at a party by the old reservoir Ruby bets everyone Chloe can swim across it, Chloe goes down to the edge and finds a body of one of her own classmates floating in the boat. London had died. Chloe is forced to move and live with her dad and stepmom in Pennsylvania. Ruby comes to Chloe to take her back about five years after the incident happened Ruby comes to takes Chloe back to live with here. When Chloe comes back London is still alive and everything is how it used to be. As Chloe stays Ruby’s secrets slowly come out.The author Nova Ren Suma is thirty-eight now but was thirty-seven when she wrote the book in 2011. Suma graduated from Columbia University for her masters degree in fiction and got her bachelors in writing and photography from Antioch College in New York. She grew up in several small towns by the Hudson valley (where the book is based) and now lives in New York City.Imaginary Girls is a great book that captures your attention and makes you not want to put it down. It also has a part of it thats haunting in it, sometimes you can’t put it down because you’re scared for the Chloe and start to hate Ruby. But, some parts of the book is very confusing like some of Ruby’s secrets. How does she know so much about the town underneath the reservoir? is a question you will ask yourself often. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Nova Ren Suma¿s Imaginary Girls captures the relationship betwee

    Nova Ren Suma’s Imaginary Girls captures the relationship between two sisters with an unbreakable bond.  I appreciate reading the novel more now, having had a few days to reflect.  I would recommend this book to anyone interested in young adult novels and mysterious supernatural forces.  Was I happy with the novel…..no, but would I recommend it, yeah! The secrets are endless, even at the end of the novel you will be left asking questions.  If you have enjoyed any of Suma’s other novels or shorts stories you may enjoy Imaginary Girls.  
    The plot is not well-organized.  By the conclusion of the book, I still don’t feel I understood Suma’s intention.  The conflict that affects Chloe’s relationship with Ruby is not revealed for the first seventy pages. Instead you are flourished with details of how Ruby has the power to manipulate and mesmerizes everyone in town. The entire novel, I constantly found myself asking where the story was supposed to lead the reader, but this added to the novelty of suspense that Suma creates.[SPOILER!] I literally had goosebumps after Chloe dipped her foot into the reservoir.[SPOILER!] Suma keeps the reader on edge of every page.
    The reader has trouble liking Ruby, the older sister.  Suma creates a character that is demanding, manipulative, but still compelling to the reader.  As much as you may dislike her, you always want to know her next move or what the motive is for her actions.  Chloe, the younger sister, is like Ruby’s own personal puppy dog. Chloe protects and defend her sister whenever anyone tries to defame her, which is rare due to Ruby’s way of compelling the entire town.  
    I felt Imaginary Girls was an ambitious novel that Suma left for the reader to interpret how they see fit.  However, this may have been Suma’s intention.   The reader’s perspective of the events that take place in Imaginary Girls are biased through Chloe’s point of view.  The reader never gets the answers they want because Ruby tries protecting her from the truth.  The quality of Suma’s writing is good,  I had a hard time putting the book down whenever I would pick it up to read.  
    I would happily recommend this book to a friend.  Suma did something right to leave me frustrated.  I believe that readers of Imaginary Girls would like to read a sequel just so they can find more answers to questions. The on-the-edge suspense keeps the reader compelled to read more, but there is never satisfaction in the outcome.  However, it may be Suma’s intention to not satisfy the reader with questions unanswered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    What a beautiful, nuanced book. The relationship between Chloe a

    What a beautiful, nuanced book. The relationship between Chloe and Ruby is strong, but co-dependent; loyal but with hints of betrayal. I loved the mysterious lake, which is based on a real life place called the Ashokan Reservoir, where several towns were leveled to create the reservoir. This provides a nice, creepy setting for lingering souls in a ghost town, or whatever powers might be lurking down under that water. Ruby draws strength from this water, though it's never fully explained how/why. The story maintains such a cool, creepy vibe, I never quite knew where it was heading. Definitely not your run of the mill teen powers story, this is far more nuanced and falls more under the Magical Realism category.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ruby and Chloe are sisters and so close nobody could ever separ

    Ruby and Chloe are sisters and so close nobody could ever separate them. They are family and best friends, until one unfortunate night in which one of Chloe's classmates is found dead in the city reservoir and Chloe leaves town and Ruby for two years. When she returns things have changed and she's beginning to see Ruby with different eyes, too.
    The reservoir, presented as a dark and mysterious power, held no fascination for me and the story around the flooded town of Olive didn’t creep me out like it creeped out other readers.
    Ruby is so bossy and too self-absorbed to be good for anyone. Chloe would be much better off without her and could have been an amiable character without her constantly admiring her sister and protecting her impossible behavior. A possible romance for Chloe was hinted at, pretty frustrating was that it was never fully carried out till the end. The story in its entirety was all kinds of hazy and the sisters' bond never felt real to me. IMGINARY GIRLS has some of the most unsympathetic characters I have ever encountered and I just didn't get it. The whole point, the story, the sisters' relationship, Ruby. I better leave it at that.

    2/5 ** IMAGINARY GIRLS – Unreal and indefinable in many ways!

    Only a few pages into IMAGINARY GIRLS and I knew this wasn’t my kind of story. I stumbled from scene to scene and sadly never felt at ease with Chloe, Ruby or the story in general. Somehow I missed the essential meaning of this story and everything felt kind of pointless and like the glue between scenes was missing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    .

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    i love this book so much!

    i love this book so much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    This book was just wonderful. I couldnt put it down, i actually

    This book was just wonderful. I couldnt put it down, i actually going to re-read it becaus ei enjoyed it. The author uses exquiste words and leave my mouth drooling over them. She gives you just enough but no too much.  There were some very odd parts but that made me like it ore, oddness is always good. What i truly did love was the relationships of the sisters, there mom wasnt really there and the relationship was just so strong. i have to recoend this book for those who haev a open ,mind and for those who will give it a chance to get started.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Ehhh

    At first it was really good but i only got half way throgh its really hard to follow but if.you think you can keep. Up i think youll like it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Jade the anicorn

    I was looking at a book haul on youtube,(chapterchicks) an almost all the books i got were recamended from them!thanx soo much chapterchicks! ~ bye,toodles,cherrio,bye,aloha,whatever, jade the alicorn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Awesome

    It wsas amazing!!! And the actual book was MORE ecpensive then the ebook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Imagenary

    Awesome book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    How is the ebook more expensive than the book?

    How is the ebook more expensive than the book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3