Customer Reviews for

Imaginary Girls

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

This was a wonderful book. It has a story that will keep you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on July 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A very bizarre tale...

This book was so different from what I expected. It was...bizarre. I still don't even quite know what to think about it. Let me start with the characters...

First, there's Ruby, the older sister. She is about 21 in the story, and has pretty much raised Chloe, as thei...
This book was so different from what I expected. It was...bizarre. I still don't even quite know what to think about it. Let me start with the characters...

First, there's Ruby, the older sister. She is about 21 in the story, and has pretty much raised Chloe, as their mother was a drunk. At first she is made to appear to be this beautiful, charismatic, free spirit whom EVERYONE adores. Everybody in town knows Ruby, and will do anything for her. However, as the book goes on, I really began to dislike her. She was very narcissistic, and truly used everbody she could to benefit herself. By the end of the book, we kind of see the "powers" Ruby has (I don't quite know how to describe this.) However, I was still confused at the end of the book as to exactly what Ruby was and how she got that way. I don't feel like this was every really explained.

Then there's Chloe. She's more or less the main character, as most is told from her viewpoint. I never really felt a connection with her. She was just kind of blah. She is definitely under Ruby's spell, so I feel like she never had a chance to develop her own personality.

For most of the book, I had no idea what was going to happen - for about 200 pages, it seems like Suma is only giving us an idea of who Ruby and Chloe were. When the action finally started to pick up, I felt confused most of the time. This isn't necessarily a bad thing...it kept me wanting to know what the heck was going on! The last 50 or so pages, I was glued to it. Just as I thought I knew what was going to happen, a new twist appeared.

Overall, it was a pretty good story. Slow at first, but it definitely picks up. However, I feel unsettled about the ending. There were unresolved questions, and that bothers me. If you like ghost story/mysteries, you will probably like this book.

posted by Once_and_future_librarian on December 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    This was a wonderful book. It has a story that will keep you entertained for hours.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Intriguing, mesmerizing, beautiful, and a little bit strange...

    Intriguing, mesmerizing, beautiful, and a little bit strange... but in the best way!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    What a beautiful, nuanced book. The relationship between Chloe a

    What a beautiful, nuanced book. The relationship between Chloe and Ruby is strong, but co-dependent; loyal but with hints of betrayal. I loved the mysterious lake, which is based on a real life place called the Ashokan Reservoir, where several towns were leveled to create the reservoir. This provides a nice, creepy setting for lingering souls in a ghost town, or whatever powers might be lurking down under that water. Ruby draws strength from this water, though it's never fully explained how/why. The story maintains such a cool, creepy vibe, I never quite knew where it was heading. Definitely not your run of the mill teen powers story, this is far more nuanced and falls more under the Magical Realism category.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    .

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    i love this book so much!

    i love this book so much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Jade the anicorn

    I was looking at a book haul on youtube,(chapterchicks) an almost all the books i got were recamended from them!thanx soo much chapterchicks! ~ bye,toodles,cherrio,bye,aloha,whatever, jade the alicorn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Awesome

    It wsas amazing!!! And the actual book was MORE ecpensive then the ebook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Imagenary

    Awesome book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    How is the ebook more expensive than the book?

    How is the ebook more expensive than the book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    Shocking!!!

    Imaginary Girls is unlike any other book I've ever read. I was asking questions as I read this book. It was amazing. An elegant nightmare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    Beautiful Language

    Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma is worth reading if only to experience the author's way with words. Chloe¿s older sister Ruby is the girl everyone knows of, knows about. Ruby is the girl everyone wants to please, wants to be like, wants to be liked by. Boys will drive hours in the middle of the night to buy her the simplest thing; shop girls will give her things practically for free from any store.

    She¿s also the one who looks out for Chloe, who takes care of her. But one night, while with Ruby and her friends at the reservoir things go horribly wrong for Chloe when she discovers a dead body.

    Chloe¿s sent to live elsewhere, away from Ruby.

    Ruby who will do anything to get Chloe back. Who does do anything to get Chloe back.

    When Chloe does return years later, it¿s with the lines of life and death redrawn . . . and possibly the one between the sisters redrawn as well.


    Imaginary Girls is a haunting story that will stay with you for long after you¿ve read the last page. Nova Ren Suma¿s writing really is something special. She has the ability to string together seemingly ordinary words and make something extraordinary; phrases that won¿t leave your head for days - even after you¿ve reread them time and time again. (¿...She was a shrill and shrieking fire alarm in a quiet library, and not a single person seemed to hear it.¿ pg 167 [arc])

    Nova Ren Suma has a great ability to capture family dynamics - sure those in Imaginary Girls were twisted and screwed up, but you got the feeling that they were screwed up properly. It just came across that the author really understands how to weave relationships.

    I loved Ruby - not an actual I-liked-her love but I loved the character that was created and how more of her was gradually shown.

    Imaginary Girls is not contemporary fiction, but there aren¿t vampires or demons or other supernatural beings - the best I could think to compare it to would be Nancy Werlin¿s Impossible (not for plot or story but for ¿supernatural¿ness).

    Nova Ren Suma¿s first book, the MG Dani Noir was really enjoyable as well and I really hope for more YA fiction from her. I know I¿m absolutely thrilled now not to live near a reservoir!

    9/10



    (received through LibraryThing's Early Reviewer's)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    It's Pretty good

    I just finished reading this, it was pretty good. Does anyone know if there is going to be a second one???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1