Customer Reviews for

Imagine: How Creativity Works

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

As an artist, teacher and entrepreneur, this book comes along to

As an artist, teacher and entrepreneur, this book comes along to scream factually what many of my ilk believed all along - creativity is not some mysterious gift, it is the result of hard-work, perseverance, and socialization. Being creative is not a choice, and it is a...
As an artist, teacher and entrepreneur, this book comes along to scream factually what many of my ilk believed all along - creativity is not some mysterious gift, it is the result of hard-work, perseverance, and socialization. Being creative is not a choice, and it is also not a privilege. Creativity is something we all possess and we all should seek to nurture. Many thanks to Jonah Lehrer for writing this book at a time when these words are so needed. I will be recommending this book as I expand my network, and hopefully my creativity.

If you are a curious creative (artist, craftsman, engineer, scientist, entrepreneur, etc.), I highly recommend you read this book.

posted by humbleSage on March 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Interesting look at our society

I found the book enjoyable as the plot dealt with an individual dealing various life accomplishments. Often our imagination allows us many opportunities which can sometimes be positive as well as negative. The U.S. patent system also comes into play. The extensive lis...
I found the book enjoyable as the plot dealt with an individual dealing various life accomplishments. Often our imagination allows us many opportunities which can sometimes be positive as well as negative. The U.S. patent system also comes into play. The extensive list of characters made this book even more enjoyable.

posted by 11366607 on March 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    As an artist, teacher and entrepreneur, this book comes along to

    As an artist, teacher and entrepreneur, this book comes along to scream factually what many of my ilk believed all along - creativity is not some mysterious gift, it is the result of hard-work, perseverance, and socialization. Being creative is not a choice, and it is also not a privilege. Creativity is something we all possess and we all should seek to nurture. Many thanks to Jonah Lehrer for writing this book at a time when these words are so needed. I will be recommending this book as I expand my network, and hopefully my creativity.

    If you are a curious creative (artist, craftsman, engineer, scientist, entrepreneur, etc.), I highly recommend you read this book.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Interesting look at our society

    I found the book enjoyable as the plot dealt with an individual dealing various life accomplishments. Often our imagination allows us many opportunities which can sometimes be positive as well as negative. The U.S. patent system also comes into play. The extensive list of characters made this book even more enjoyable.

    12 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Well Researched Book Which Deserves A Thorough Reading. As a ph

    Well Researched Book Which Deserves A Thorough Reading. As a physician, I was drawn to this book and its analysis of human creativity. In medical school we're taught about neurons and how they function together to control body functions and generalized thought processes, but we're never really educated on what factors truly influence creativity. What did Mozart's brain have that other composers don't? Why do some people appreciate the visual arts more than others? And how is science currently utilized to maximize the creative process?
    We've been to the moon, had rovers on Mars, and can visualize worlds millions and billions of miles away. Yet the real unexplored frontier just may lie inside our own craniums. A fascinating book.
    Fans of Malcolm Gladwell will enjoy this book. For readers interested in the making of a doctor, I recommend Dr. Anthony Youn's "In Stitches." It's a great, light-hearted read that would be a nice companion to a more dense, scholarly book like "Imagine."

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Get this book now

    If you teach or create things, you need this book. If u are interested in how humans think, get this book

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    The combination of research and stories makes this an easy but i

    The combination of research and stories makes this an easy but informative read and probably appealing to a wide audience of readers. Having dealt for years with the "Yeah, but I'm not creative." complaint/excuse/self-evaluation from colleagues and friends, I found the information Lehrer shares to be extremely helpful in countering similar comments in the future. The meta-ideas are excellent - maybe not necessarily astounding - but sometimes we need to take a closer look to discover those things that should or could have been obvious. Highly recommend this book for anyone who is struggling with how to tap into collective and individual creativity.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    A Brief Summary

    When we are lucky enough to be stricken with a particularly imaginative thought or creative idea, it often feels as though it is coming from outside of us—as though we are but the vehicle for its transmission. What's more, the moment of epiphany is so sudden, so seemingly without precedent or cause, that it may seem to defy logical explanation, and hence be outside of the bounds of scientific study. However, according to journalist and author Jonah Lehrer, science is beginning to understand how creativity works, and how it can be fostered, and it is this understanding that he brings to the table in his new book ‘Imagine: How Creativity Works’. By taking us on a tour of very creative individuals, organizations, cities and cultures—and drawing on the latest in neuroscience and social psychology—Lehrer hopes to help us understand the stuff of creativity, and to help us cultivate it in our ourselves, and the organizations, cities, and cultures of which we are a part. The book itself is split into two parts, with the first part focusing in on creativity in individuals, and the second part concentrating on creativity in groups. When it comes to creativity in individuals, we learn that imaginative epiphanies originate in the right hemisphere of the brain—whose role it is to pull together disparate and seemingly unrelated ideas. What’s more, we learn that creativity is associated with a particular kind of brain wave (called an alpha wave), and that these brain waves are often best encouraged by way of turning away from the problem that we are trying to solve, and simply relaxing and distracting ourselves in order to allow them to emerge on their own. Creative ideas rarely come in finished form, however, and therefore, perfecting these ideas requires deep persistence and hard work. The attention to detail and focus that this process requires can be aided by certain substances and states of mind that are not always healthy (such as narcotics and depression), but it cannot be avoided; genius requires hard work. Nothing good is easy. At times, and indeed more and more nowadays, difficult problems require the creative efforts of more than just one person: they require a collective effort. However, getting groups to be creative is not an easy task, as it requires the right mix of people, and the right approach. For instance, the most creative and productive groups tend to be those where the members are mostly well-acquainted with one another, and have worked together before, but who are also joined by a healthy measure of new and unfamiliar talent. In addition, the best approach for groups to have seems to be one where the members practice a kind of constructive criticism, and collective responsibility. Beyond certain groups being more creative than others, even some cities and cultures have an edge over others when it comes to creativity, and here again there are some essential features that separate the more creative from the less-so. For Lehrer, the key to creative cities and cultures includes such things as density, diversity, maximizing interactions and education. What's more, the author maintains that we can (and should) design our cities and our laws and institutions in such a way that optimizes all of these key factors. A full and comprehensive summary of the main arguments of the book, as well as many of the juicier details to be found therein, will be avail. on the website newbooksinbrief dot wordpress dot com by Apr 30.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    This book is fascinating! The stories and research are compellin

    This book is fascinating! The stories and research are compelling. i couldn't put the book down. I wish everyone I know could read it. This would be a great book for a discussion group as well.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    You guys he plagarized the bob dylan quotes and now it's getting

    You guys he plagarized the bob dylan quotes and now it's getting pulled off the shelves :O Jonah Lehrer has also plagarized other articles. Don't read this book that's written by a plagarizing liar.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    LAME

    I got bored after the first chapter ! Im an archetectp and i was trying to get some ideas from this book but but nothing caame to me like nothing came !be a forever poodle lover peeps ! Surfs up !

    1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    Not much style in the writing of this book, very stodgy and dry.

    Not much style in the writing of this book, very stodgy and dry. Hated bouncing around regarding the Bob Dylan story, it starts with that, then comes back to it, then again - really? The structure did not work for me, and the conclusions seem tired. Seems to be more like a student dissertation written for one professor's view than a book written for a wide audience. Did not finish it, with no regrets!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Best boo Best biik Best book ever

    I loved this book and hope you get to try it

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    I read Imagine in my high school chemistry class this summer and

    I read Imagine in my high school chemistry class this summer and at first, I was reluctant. Even if it meant a generous amount of extra credit, I still could not push myself to open the book. Eventually, I gave in and just after the first chapter, I was hooked! Imagine opened my eyes to the difference between creativity and being smart and learned new things with every turn of a page. It's a quick read but some chapters are a little difficult to get through. Besides some dry parts, Imagine has expanded my creativity greatly. I, without a doubt, reccomend this to anybody who is looking for an intellectual view on creativity and how society and culture shapes it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Disapointed

    The first half of the book was just ok. Did not finish the last two chapters. Either i lost focus or the book did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    An excellently researched book, perhaps one of the best books to

    An excellently researched book, perhaps one of the best books to date on the mechanisms involved in creativity. The book argues creativity to be a product of society and personal choices rather than a genetic predisposition and goes through varied examples from scientific case studies to successful business management. The author's uses real world examples helps the reader understand the context of what is being said, but at times it feels like the book is an anthology of short stories rather than a single book. The ending of the book was also a great disappointment to me, as the author switches writing styles from that of a research paper to one trying to argue a political agenda. It was not that the agenda was disagreeable, just that it didn't belong in a primarily research based paper. If the author was arguing politics from the beginning his political views would not have detracted from my opinion of the book so much, but to sneak it in the last twenty pages seemed like the author was attempting to catch the reader off guard. Despite these flaws, the book is a must-read for anyone who enjoys creative new ideas, business management, or sciencey things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    it's really interesting

    i feel personally like the first half of the book was what mostly interested me, as it concerned the individual... the second half talked mostly about groups, or cities, and how to have society more open to geniuses. Lehrer does a good job of weaving multiple inspirational examples and telling their stories very craftily to make his points. it's nice to me cause it covers a lot of material fast. good quick read, i finished half of it in the store.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Vhh

    Bbb

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Wonderful!

    Very informative and enteraining, thought provoking too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Thought Provoking

    This is worth reading. I bought it fior my husband who is in HR and then found out is being used as required reading for an Ed Leadership class I am taking this summer. Based on research that is univerally applicable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    One of the most interesting book ever!

    Extremely informative, easy reading. Each page is a pleasure to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Read the sample

    I read the sample and I loved it. I'm gonna buy the book :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3