Customer Reviews for

Imagining India: The Idea of a Renewed Nation

Average Rating 3.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Galaxis

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Imagining India

    Many businesspeople believe that India¿s national economy will be a dominant international force in the future. India¿s vast resources, untapped human capital and enterprising businesses cast it firmly in the role of global economic powerhouse. Nandan Nilekani, co-founder and co-chairman of Infosys, the corporate services giant, offers an insider¿s view of his home country¿s remarkable progress and ever-present challenges. He pulls no punches in detailing India¿s problems, ranging from political to cultural to economic matters, but in so doing, he paints a revealing portrait of a nation slowly coming to grips with myriad issues. This substantial book is detailed, sometimes too much so for the casual reader, but its wealth of insight and information make reading it a worthwhile endeavor. getAbstract recommends Nilekani¿s honest assessment of India ¿ past, present and future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Broad perspective from a business and technology leader

    I learned quite a bit from this book, as someone outside India and the
    Indian community, and thoroughly enjoyed Nilekani's writing. It's a
    wide-ranging treatise with many big agendas; it covers education,
    infrastructure, environmental challenges, government intervention, and
    the role of historical narrative, among other things. Biggest among
    its agenda--and the one that I wager will generate the most debate--is
    Nilekani's own version of what I'd call a modern combin...more I learned quite a bit from this book, as someone outside India and the
    Indian community, and thoroughly enjoyed Nilekani's writing. It's a
    wide-ranging treatise with many big agendas; it covers education,
    infrastructure, environmental challenges, government intervention, and
    the role of historical narrative, among other things. Biggest among
    its agenda--and the one that I wager will generate the most debate--is
    Nilekani's own version of what I'd call a modern combination of
    neoliberalism and neoprogressivism that seems to be gaining
    ground. The general idea is that governments should take a leading
    role to promote social progress by creating an infrastructure that
    allows individuals to form their own destinies (good education, good
    health care, good physical infrastructure, a light-touch form of
    regulation that ensures quality, and occasional direct welfare
    payments) rather than preserving oases of protection and easily abused
    subsidies for particular interest groups, notably unions, small
    businesses, and disadvantaged castes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    Good book for understanding India's current portfolio of problems

    When I came to know about this book I thought finally there is a book which would perhaps make Indians think ( as the title suggests) what their country is potentially capable of becoming. Author mentions in his book a clear and understandable historical background of all the problems which India is currently facing. Problems have been thoroughly analyzed, discussed with experts and have been put in a clear and comprehensible text.However, when it comes to the solutions which would solve these problems, there is so much yet to be put in the book if the title suggests to Imagine India. What are we imagining is still left to be answered I suppose.<BR/>The more apt title would have been Analysing India rather than Imagining India. Here the concern is that India's citizens, planners, politicians, acamedicians and many others who are interested in India's growth know India's problems fairly well, however, they are still not sure how to solve those problems, for that matter , there is no project plan so to say. I would have appreciated this book more if a 'dream' project plan for India had been given stating all problem areas having a clear target date for resolution of each of them, putting resources that would be required to accomplish each project activities. In such a project plan mentioning risks, dependencies and assumptions for each activities should be mentioned with the mitigation plan for each of them. For execution, monitoring of such as project plan for India, there has to be involvement from not only state but also from corporates, citizens and many others. Teams should be formed to execute each activity of the project plan, analyze the budget requirement for each area. Put target dates for each activity of the project plan and make people accountable. To substantiate this, lets say we would like to see literacy rates to be as good as 90% by 2020, then based on this target date, see how many schools, teachers, universities etc would be required based on the population to be targeted. Then see how what amount of money would be required for this, identify teams and start executing the plan. <BR/>When people will know about the India's dream plan and what would we will achieve after executing that plan then there will definetly be something to Imagine about India, otherwise, if we just mention problems, then it is only about Analysing India. I would surely recommend this book to others as this gives summary of all problems. I hope there is a sequel of this book for more concrete solutions mentioning teams, budget and timelines for accomplishing India's dream plan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1