Customer Reviews for

Imajica: Featuring New Illustrations and an Appendix

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2003

    Amazing

    I would read Imajica before bed and end up staying up all night because I couldn't put it down. I was totally caught up in the characters and the worlds that were created, I actually missed it when I was done.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    READ THIS BOOK

    Clive Barker is incredible and Imajica is one of his best. I would try to describe it, but i would not do it the justice it deserves. Trust me when I say you will not regret reading this book, for me it was my second time and it just got better with age.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfectly Gloriously Wonderful

    Clive Barker sure knows how to give his stories life: with breath and pulse, and with each page, he draws you deeper and deeper into their embrace (it's really hard to pull away). Although, I'm happy to say, Imajica is one I'd never pull away from. From beginning to end I was absolutely consumed by Barker's story telling. My unwillingness to put the book down left me a little sleep deprived, but it was well worth it. And I'd be willing to do it again and again and again. Kudos Mr. Barker! I think this book is down right perfection.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Finally on Nook!

    This is one of the most incredible books I have read in my 40 or so years of avid reading. I have never been moved by charecters in any novel as I have in Imajica. Although I have not read this book in many years, I read it multiple times in Hardcover when it was released, and the story and it's charecters have been ingrained in my mind and heart from a young age. I have been wondering when it would get released on the Nook and as I purused for a new book to read there it was and my heart leaped with joy. I am ready to once again enjoy this epic journey I have not taken in far too many years. Thank you Mr. Barker and thank you BN.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2002

    Best Read Ever

    I read this book back in '91 and it is still my favorite over 10 years later. All of Clive Barkers books have been great, but this one is the best. This book ranks number one, right above Stephen King¿s gunslinger series, which is right above Tolkens Lord of the rings. If you like epic adventures this is a great one... that's just my opinion though... see for yourself.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    Awesome book...love it!

    I have read this book about three times. I love to re-visit the Imajica and all of the characters and their journey. I've read a lot of Clive Barker books and this is my favorite. Nothing compares to it. Clive Barker has a vivid imagination. He knows how to weave a story. You can go as far as your imagination will take you with this book. It is a long read, but so worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    Barker does an excellent job in creating this world and his writ

    Barker does an excellent job in creating this world and his writing is tremendous, however, it just wasn't up my alley. I put it down after the first book and went on to other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Never been fully emmersed in a story? Prepare to be.

    Beautiful prose the likes of which Clive Barker has never reached and will be extremely hard-pressed to surmount. If this is not the greatest work of his life, the work which eventually proves to be such shall doubtlessly win the hearts and minds of every literate being of this Dominion and each previously unknown dominion as well. Truly beatiful work, born of an incredible mind. May Barker never cease in his endeavours to captivate us all, leaving awe-inspired fans in the wake of his divine writings for decades to come (hopefully longer).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Love

    Favorite book ever. Changed my life !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    One of my alltime favorites!

    This is my second time reading this book and I never read a book twice. I read at least a book a week and prefer larger volume stories as opposed to quick reads. Reading is my addiction and it says a lot to me that I actually am reading this again. I love the characters and their world. Their egos, mistakes and regrets make them seem so much more real. Clive Barker is one of the best writers ever. If you enjoy his books then try George R R Martin, Terry Brooks, and Dianna Gabaldon too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely love this book.  Clive Barker is a fantastic writer a

    Absolutely love this book.  Clive Barker is a fantastic writer and does a wonderful job of painting great pictures in your mind of other worlds.  This book is fantasy/horror/romance all in one.  This book is a great headtrip!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Loved it

    I read this many yrs ago on hardcover. I' d hate to say how long ago, easily more then 10 yrs ago. I am happy to find it on the nook. I might have to buy itagain to experience it again. It was a fun world to become part of. My copy was borrowed & never returned sadly, I had thought of it often. Enjoy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    In the proper sense of the word, one of the most fantastic stori

    In the proper sense of the word, one of the most fantastic stories I've ever read -- on par with Dante's Divine Comedy in imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    NEED A NOOK VERSION OF THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!

    NEED A NOOK VERSION OF THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    Awesome book

    One of the best books I have ever read. Great writing! I got totally lost in this one. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    P All time favourite

    This is one of my favourite books of all time. A book that that does not fall into any one genre, but has elements from many. Barker weaves a world that feels real. Its not often i wish a book over 1000 pages in length was longer, Imakica is an exception to tht rule

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    Not worth it!

    I had high hopes for this book when I started it, but it's about 500 pages too long. The story becomes repetitive after the characters visit the imajica. Although Clive Barker has an excellent sense of prose, his handle on dialogue is lacking. Once they enter the imajica, they become overly dramatic and redundant. At the beginning I enjoyed the religious metaphor, but by about page 400 I felt it was being shoved down my throat. This book needed a good editor to week out the garbage, there are some great moments and some beautiful prose, but it's not worth digging through this massive volume.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    A recent favorite

    I truly wish he would develop a movie from this book. Not unlike a previous reviewer, I too would read before lights out. Funny thing is, one chapter would turn into two, then three...

    Unfortunately, my book did not come with illustrations. I am tempted by curiosity to buy this one so I can see the pretty pictures.

    Clive, if you are reading these reviews, I love you but the Hellraiser movies have really bottomed out. I have even read your graphic novel styled comic books, which were far better than some of the movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    great imagination

    I'm real close to finishing this book and I love it. this is my first clive barker book and i was looking for something different from stephen king and dean koontz. I can't wait to get another book from him hopefully I won't gent disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    BLECK

    Where do I start? It feels like Barker didn't even want to write this thing. It drones on and on, sputtering into a grey mist of lethargic boredom. I felt my self getting older, the life force just leaking away with every turn of the page. There is so much useless descriptions of trivial things it gave me the impression Barker was just trying to fill up space. I couldn't even rightfully say anything happens. By that I mean that the writing is so apathetic all events just fade into one another. The worst about it that when lengthy books, as this one is, is bad it's really bad - such squandered investment of time and energy. It has only one thing in common with a good book and that is it taught me something. I don't need to finish a book simply because I start one.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4