Customer Reviews for

The Imitation of Christ

Average Rating 4
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Thomas A Kempis has given us a gem for the ages. Do not be put off by the title. This book is not so much about being perfect as it is about experiencing intimacy with Christ and being a Christ follower.

All I can say is no matter what section of this book you decide to read (it is like reading a devotional), you will be impacted. The book is divided into four sections: (1) Thoughts helpful in the life of the soul (2) The interior life (3) Internal consolation (4) An in...
All I can say is no matter what section of this book you decide to read (it is like reading a devotional), you will be impacted. The book is divided into four sections: (1) Thoughts helpful in the life of the soul (2) The interior life (3) Internal consolation (4) An invitation to holy communion. The cultivation of the interior life in the pursuit of Christ and his kingdom is what this book is all about. It is for those who "hunger and thirst for righteousness." If you are one of those people, chances are you will be so challenged and impacted on your first reading that you will not be able to put it down.

posted by John-Mark on December 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Be warned: this is NOT a modern "translation"

I bought the hard copy version years ago and found it tedious reading because the language was so archaic that it became a barrier to understanding what Thomas a Kempis was saying to his audience in the 1500s. I don't believe I ever finished it.

I bought this electr...
I bought the hard copy version years ago and found it tedious reading because the language was so archaic that it became a barrier to understanding what Thomas a Kempis was saying to his audience in the 1500s. I don't believe I ever finished it.

I bought this electronic version only because the editorial review said that the language had been updated. It has not! Not in this particular manuscript... not at all. Beyond random "--eth"s and a broad assortment of "thou" and "thy", the sentence structure often obscures meaning. I'm sorry to say that this edition is not what I thought it would be.

posted by Anonymous on March 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    Thomas A Kempis has given us a gem for the ages. Do not be put off by the title. This book is not so much about being perfect as it is about experiencing intimacy with Christ and being a Christ follower.

    All I can say is no matter what section of this book you decide to read (it is like reading a devotional), you will be impacted. The book is divided into four sections: (1) Thoughts helpful in the life of the soul (2) The interior life (3) Internal consolation (4) An invitation to holy communion. The cultivation of the interior life in the pursuit of Christ and his kingdom is what this book is all about. It is for those who "hunger and thirst for righteousness." If you are one of those people, chances are you will be so challenged and impacted on your first reading that you will not be able to put it down.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Be warned: this is NOT a modern "translation"

    I bought the hard copy version years ago and found it tedious reading because the language was so archaic that it became a barrier to understanding what Thomas a Kempis was saying to his audience in the 1500s. I don't believe I ever finished it.

    I bought this electronic version only because the editorial review said that the language had been updated. It has not! Not in this particular manuscript... not at all. Beyond random "--eth"s and a broad assortment of "thou" and "thy", the sentence structure often obscures meaning. I'm sorry to say that this edition is not what I thought it would be.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Amazing book

    This is such a great book to read and refer back to.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    This is a life changing book!

    This book can change your life. It is written in small, readable and digestable chapters that will have a great impact on you life and the way you view life. It will help you to follow in Christ's footsteps.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Suprisingly Good

    I didn't expect how much I'd enjoy a book written by a monk from the 1400s. There were a lot of themese I could relate to my life. Excellent book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    divinely intimate "Imitation"

    I believe that anyone who attentively reads this book will learn of a better life,a fulfilling life that only the love of God can bring to you.
    Conform your heart,mind and soul to live the life described in this book and the eternal blessedness of Heaven will await you!I have bought this book several times because I feel that someone else needs to read it also but I don't want to be without a copy.Oh how I wish I knew of this treasure before....well better late than never.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    The best way to be Jesua like with the Bible. Please check this book out

    I started reading this book in hard cover copy right 1993, but could not understand it. I then got this one and it was easyer to understand. This is done in the old English style and the hard cover was in a newer English version. Try it out. :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    I love this book!

    This book is my favorite to use as a devotional.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    This book is amazing! I read it very slowly so as to savor every

    This book is amazing! I read it very slowly so as to savor every word. This book is #1 on my list of favorite Christian books. (Okay, #2, after the Bible. You will not regret investing in this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Wow, what a great book!

    What a great book for reading and studying. It is written for the heart and the mind. It's a true reflection of how to accept Christ personally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    Spiritual reading at its finest

    The Imitation of Christ is a spiritual classic and is not meant to be read cover to cover. Even if you read just a paragraph at a time, and take the time to meditate upon what you've read, it will help to bring you closer to Christ in your daily life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Great book to meditate and use in prayer.

    Lisa Corkern

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6