Customer Reviews for

Immanuel's Veins

Average Rating 4
( 231 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable, but...

I'm a hard core Dekker Fan, so I wasn't dissapointed with his newest novel. A great read, exciting, enjoyable characters, great themes. He usually left me wondering what was going to happen next. I especially enjoyed some more overt references to Jesus in this book, ...
I'm a hard core Dekker Fan, so I wasn't dissapointed with his newest novel. A great read, exciting, enjoyable characters, great themes. He usually left me wondering what was going to happen next. I especially enjoyed some more overt references to Jesus in this book, which he has just touched on lightly in his past works. That was refreshing. I especially was moved at the end in regards to one of the side characters. I won't reveal any spoilers. I also enjoyed some ties in's to the Circle Triology (and others). But, I do have some drawbacks about this book. The ending just flew by with too little details. A lot of build up, and then it's over. Also, his use of "romance as example" to his story telling has been used too many times in my opinion. Because of that, I felt like I knew the ending to this story already. My mind went back to a number of Dekker novels thinking, "Oh, this is just like that book". I guess I was expecting something different. Lastly, some of the dialog confused me... as in what century are we in confused. It didn't fit. Is that another Dekker clue for a future book? I don't know. Overall, a great read, but given all of the hype on this release, it didn't quite deliver. I didn't see a lot of new imagination in this one, but it was still a fun read.

posted by Titanium13 on September 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Bandwagon Jumper

Immanuel's Veins
by Ted Dekker

I know that vampires are hot right now and anything about vampires is flying off the shelves but really how low does a "christian" fiction writer need to go to sell a book.

The story centers around one Toma Nicolescu in Russia. The...
Immanuel's Veins
by Ted Dekker

I know that vampires are hot right now and anything about vampires is flying off the shelves but really how low does a "christian" fiction writer need to go to sell a book.

The story centers around one Toma Nicolescu in Russia. There is a best friend (Alek), and twins (Lucine and Natashsa) who are the supporting characters. Toma and Alek are charged to protect the twins from some unidentified enemy. The neighbours..."the Russians" and their mysterious ways quickly become the focus of the book and Toma is abandoned by all of the characters to sweep in and save the day.

I did not enjoy the book for many reasons:
1) Characters were flat and uninteresting
2) Plot was thin and HIGHLY predicable...we all know that it is about vampires so why try to avoid calling them vampires in the book.
3) The allegory between Toma and Jesus's shed blood....REALLY in a vampire book. This was probably the most disappointing bit of the book. I mean okay if you want to write a vampire book to jump on the band wagon of vampires are selling now as a christian author to then take a theme about vampires and attempt to turn it into an allegory for Chirst's sacrifice is in my opinion a bit much.

The end result is a book that is trying to be about vampires but isn't really. The characters are flat and uninteresting and I didn't care what happened to the characters. Worst of all there is no challenge to my own faith and I would not recomend this book to an unbeliever as it would probably scare them off faith.

posted by Christabel on October 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    Bandwagon Jumper

    Immanuel's Veins
    by Ted Dekker

    I know that vampires are hot right now and anything about vampires is flying off the shelves but really how low does a "christian" fiction writer need to go to sell a book.

    The story centers around one Toma Nicolescu in Russia. There is a best friend (Alek), and twins (Lucine and Natashsa) who are the supporting characters. Toma and Alek are charged to protect the twins from some unidentified enemy. The neighbours..."the Russians" and their mysterious ways quickly become the focus of the book and Toma is abandoned by all of the characters to sweep in and save the day.

    I did not enjoy the book for many reasons:
    1) Characters were flat and uninteresting
    2) Plot was thin and HIGHLY predicable...we all know that it is about vampires so why try to avoid calling them vampires in the book.
    3) The allegory between Toma and Jesus's shed blood....REALLY in a vampire book. This was probably the most disappointing bit of the book. I mean okay if you want to write a vampire book to jump on the band wagon of vampires are selling now as a christian author to then take a theme about vampires and attempt to turn it into an allegory for Chirst's sacrifice is in my opinion a bit much.

    The end result is a book that is trying to be about vampires but isn't really. The characters are flat and uninteresting and I didn't care what happened to the characters. Worst of all there is no challenge to my own faith and I would not recomend this book to an unbeliever as it would probably scare them off faith.

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    Disappointing

    To be honest, I was extremely disappointed to see this author fall prey to the popular. While usually appreciative and accepting of his fringe style of christian writing, this crosses the line and I found it vapid and boring. This is not up to par with other excellent books by Dekker. I returned it.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    B&N RIDICULOUS Pricing!!

    How in the world can you possibly justify pricing an eBook higher than the hardcover price? B&N -- for crying out loud. Have someone write you a query on your database to look for all eBooks priced higher than hardcover. Sheesh!

    I won't even consider a purchase.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    Just Terrible

    This ranks among one of the worse books I've ever read. The story was trite as well as the writing! The historical references are a laugh!

    Clearly a book for uneducated teenagers!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Awful

    I have never given up on a book, no matter how bad....until now. I whole heartedly regret wasting money, time, and nook space on this novel. On average, it takes me about 1-3 days to complete a book; I have struggled for nearly 3 months and am only half way through this one. The book is written in first person and the reader is left often alone in puzzling out who is speaking. The characters are each unique and have great potential, but the writer's style is extremely drab and flat. This book felt more like a first draft with great ideas and char potential, just no momentum. Sorry....

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Save your money!

    Got this one from a friend and the only good thing I can say about it is at least I din't waste my money on it. Boring predictable and a waste of good paper. Walk on by.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    WHAT HAPPENED TO TED DEKKER??

    I loved Ted Dekker. I read Blink of an Eye, House, Kiss, and Burn before this one and I really enjoyed them. But the style he chose for this book was awful. It's like he took a hundred steps backward. I hate to admit that I'll be reluctant the next time I consider getting one of his books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    Disappointing

    I'm an avid Dekker fan. I've read everything he is written. I love his creativity. So... This book is a big disappointment. it is predictable and full of cliches. Ted, did you really write this? I am a romantic but this melodramatic is just plain silly. Just had to share this

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Garbage

    Is this supposed to be inspired Christian writing? I won't be fooled a second time after this. The style was stilted, the story was something so banal I could hardly believe it was from a well-published author. To earn a living from writing such drivel is the real sin. If you want true love, agape, revealed to you stick to the gospels which are written beautifully, contain real stories of redemption and are available free at your local place of worship.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    suitable for young teens

    Not very well written; but a fast read and suitable for young teens.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Awful.

    A waste of time and money.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Alexus

    Terrable

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1