Customer Reviews for

Immoral (Jonathan Stride Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Amazing book!!

This is one of the best books I have read all year. I finished the book in 2 days and couldn't turn the pages fast enough. I loved the ending!!I highly recommend this book!

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This is the first book in the Minnesota Detective Jonathan Strid

This is the first book in the Minnesota Detective Jonathan Stride series.  Rachael, a teenage age girl, has gone missing, and all the circumstantial evidence seems to point to murder.  Though another teen girl went missing a year earlier, Stride and his partner, Maggie ...
This is the first book in the Minnesota Detective Jonathan Stride series.  Rachael, a teenage age girl, has gone missing, and all the circumstantial evidence seems to point to murder.  Though another teen girl went missing a year earlier, Stride and his partner, Maggie Bei, don't see any connection between the two girls disappearances.  Unfortunately,  Rachael seems to be a sexual tease, with no compassion for anyone.  There is no body, but Stride and Maggie have found enough evidence of a murder to go to trial.  Once in court, things begin to fall apart.  More information about Rachael's background adds suggestions of greater intrigue to come.




I really enjoyed the developing turns and twists with this book, though the unnecessary overly explicit sex scenes were overdone for me, and really detracted from the building suspense.  I'll definitely be giving this series another try, hoping it will be kept within the mystery genre, without spilling over into too much into erotica. 

posted by RonnaL on August 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2005

    Amazing book!!

    This is one of the best books I have read all year. I finished the book in 2 days and couldn't turn the pages fast enough. I loved the ending!!I highly recommend this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Best mystery novel EVER!

    I am a fan of mystery novels and when I heard about this book on the radio last summer I decided to check it out. No regrets! This is by far the best mystery novel I have read to date. If books had ratings (which I think they should), I would rate this M for a mature audience. Brian Freeman has become one of my favorite authors. I have read 3 of his books and plan on reading them all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2006

    Review by Jennifer Brown, Bookpleasures

    Seems everyone has an opinion about Rachel Deese. Her next-door neighbor Kevin Lowry has stars in his eyes just for her. His girlfriend, Sally, thinks Rachel is a ¿suck-up,¿ among other things. Rachel¿s mother finds her threatening. And just what her step-father thinks about her may never be known. But what police Lieutenant Jonathon Stride is thinking is what¿s important right now. Rachel Deese is missing. Brian Freeman¿s novel, IMMORAL, is an attempt to unravel the crime behind Rachel¿s disappearance. And it¿s not an easy crime to unravel. The victim was a wild child. Rude, self-centered, self-serving, vile, and sexually charged, she had so many enemies ¿ so many whom she had wronged or whom had felt threatened by her ¿ it proves to be a mystery not just anyone can solve. Lips are tight and tension is high. Can even a seasoned detective such as Stride break through to the truth? It would seem that he would be unable to. After all, Rachel¿s disappearance isn¿t the first of her kind in recent months. Stride is still trying to answer to the unsolved mystery of Kerry McGrath, another sixteen-year-old who vanished under similar circumstances. He has to somehow manage to fend off the press and their public accusations about his ineptitude, and still keep his mind on a case that¿s just not adding up. Will he ever find Rachel? Will the mystery be solved? IMMORAL is a fast-paced novel, filled with so many twists and turns there¿s no way the reader can be bored. The ending is a true surprise, as the mystery is solved and the culprit is the most unlikely (yet still believable) suspect. Jonathon Stride is a likeable character, and his partner Maggie a real fireball of loveable energy. The other characters, most of whom are dark, a bit sinister and roundly unlovable, are certainly believable, giving some real credibility to the story. The story, too, is believable and entertaining. A rollercoaster of a story, IMMORAL is not necessarily a quick read, but it is a good one, one that I¿d recommend.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    I thought this book was a wonderfully well-weaved tale of mystery, murder & mayhem. I¿m an avid reader of mystery novels and while I truly enjoy the settings, detective characters and so on - I have always prided myself on figuring out the 'guilty party' early in a book. Not so with this piece of entertainment. At various stages along the way I had it ¿figured out¿ only to discover later that I full of beans and I learned what I wanted to know only when it¿s crafty author let me. This masterpiece provided me with hours of entertainment and it was so infused with twists and turns that I constantly felt as if I were riding a rollercoaster of emotions and intrigue. Be warned that it is an addictive page turner. The dishes & laundry can and will wait. Time spent reading this one is time well spent. Period.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Originally recommended to me by a friend I had my doubts. However, once I started the book, I couldn't put it down. Being from Duluth, I was extremely impressed by how well the author captured the feel of the city. I fell in love with the characters as well. With a conclusion that will throw you for a loop, it truely is a must read. Can't wait to read his next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "Immortal" is a great first novel

    After reading Brian Freeman's first novel, "Immortal," I went out and bought his other novels, "Stripped," "Stalked," and am starting "In the Dark." I honestly could not put them down once I started reading. His characters are real and engaging, his descriptions of Las Vegas, and Minnesota are right on. You feel like you're right there in the middle of the action. I highly recommend them if you like good, action, character driven, thrilling novels. Glad I lucked into picking up that first novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2006

    Amazing.....

    This book kept you at the edge of your chair the whole time!!! So many twists...i could not put this book down!!! I cant wait for Brian Freemans' next book 'Stripped'!! If you havnt read this book yet you should definatly buy it!!! you wont be dissapointed!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2006

    A reviewer

    If you enojy suspense and unexpected shifts this is the book to read.. I personally loved it. I cannot wait to read his next book. It there were more then 5 stars to rate Immoral I will give them without a doubt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2006

    Great Book!!

    I love a great mystery, and this book is a great one. It keeps you guessing until the very end. I cannot wait for Mr. Freeman's next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2005

    GREAT BOOK

    This is an unbelievably exciting book. It starts out great and becomes riveting. Twists and turns galore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    Great Read

    This book not only was well written but had me guessing throughout! Everytime I thought the mystery was solved, something new came up! Great ending, looking forward to more books by this author. If you like Harlan Coben and Michael Connelly you will like this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2005

    Great Read

    This book is amazing! It had so many twists and turns that I had no clue how it would end. Grabs your attention and holds it until the last page. One of the best books I have read all year, and I read constantly! Good job done on your first book, keep them coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2005

    a great read

    A great read. A real page turner, characters are unique and you feel that you know them personally. Keeps you guessing until the end. Can't wait until his next book is out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2005

    DO NOT MISS THIS BOOK!

    If you are a mystery fan, you will not want to miss this brilliant debut from Brian Freeman. The characters are extremely well developed and the plot is unsolvable (which makes it better from my point of view). Best of all, there will be more in a series, and I can hardly wait for the next one. This man is truly another Harlan Coben or Michael Connelly, and the only disappointment is that right now, IMMORAL is his only available title.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2005

    BRILLIANT PERFECTION FIRST TIME OUT!!! WOW!!!

    This book is simply brilliant!!! The phenomenal characters created were just your basic everyday next door type people but in Brian Freeman's hands they developed into these amazing people that got under your skin....people that you cared about....people that disgusted you....people that held you spellbound....!!!! IMMORAL was the kind of thriller that just built up, page after page, like an onion with its layers, the plot started to reveal itself ....gradually. And then just when you thought it had everything figured out.....wham!!! a twist...and another and another and the roller coaster just keep going until the shattering ending!!! Wow!!! He actuallly knew how to end this book!!! So many times you're reading a marvelous book and then the ending just comes...wham bam...flat...nothing!!!! His ending was perfect and you realized that you had been holding your breath for a long, long time! WHEW!!! This is the book you've been waiting for all summer long....get it....turn off the phones and tv and just hunker on down with the best thriller of the year!!! I cannot wait for his next gem!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2005

    You won't be able to put this down

    Set aside a full day and part of the night for this one because you won't be able to get anything else done until you read the last page. If you are one of those readers who think they can solve the mystery, this one will challenge you. Curl up in a comfy corner and just enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2