Customer Reviews for

Immortal (Gillian Shields' Immortal Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 259 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Utterly wonderful. Absorbing and moving.

The publisher's synopsis is very accurate but does not fully do justice to the beautifully woven story-line; the depth of the characters and the evocative period, mood and cadence of the story. A friend lent me her advance copy she had been asked to read and she was wil...
The publisher's synopsis is very accurate but does not fully do justice to the beautifully woven story-line; the depth of the characters and the evocative period, mood and cadence of the story. A friend lent me her advance copy she had been asked to read and she was wildly insistent that I read the book, too. Now I know why. The only thing that could spoil this wonderful book for me is if there isn't a sequel. And soon.

The writing, which is highly accessible, quickly immerses the reader into the word of Evie and the challenges she faces. To go into these in detail risks spoiling the story for would be readers (and you should be one!) but suffice to say I just could not put the book down. It excited, moved, and transfixed me all at the same time.

posted by carol777 on April 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Unfortunately not a great read.

I have to be honest, this isn't a book that I enjoyed. I think it was trying to be too many different things at the same time. Is it a love story? Is it a mystery? Is it a fantasy story riddled with mysticism and evil covens that need to be destroyed? None of the themes...
I have to be honest, this isn't a book that I enjoyed. I think it was trying to be too many different things at the same time. Is it a love story? Is it a mystery? Is it a fantasy story riddled with mysticism and evil covens that need to be destroyed? None of the themes are explored and the plot rushes through what should be longer, more processed elements of the story. The love element has no conviction, and the fantasy seems almost like an afterthought. This really should have been two different books. One where Evie discovers a strong kindred with this girl in the past while falling in love with this dangerous stranger, and another where Evie's powers are awakened and she joins a coven of girls with magical elemental powers and they fight the evil coven. Either that or it should have been longer in order to flush out the story.

Also, a quick word of clarification, the novel advertises itself as dealing with mysticism, but it's very clear that this is Wiccan, and not the love the forest and the trees sort. This is the coven of witches who kidnap girls and murder them to keep their coven master alive sort. Simply put, the 'magic' isn't fun like many fantasy books. This is secret society of evil people sort of magic based much more in literal beliefs than what one would find in Harry Potter or Twilight.

-Lindsey Miller, www.lindseyslibrary.com

posted by Lindsey_Miller on August 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Utterly wonderful. Absorbing and moving.

    The publisher's synopsis is very accurate but does not fully do justice to the beautifully woven story-line; the depth of the characters and the evocative period, mood and cadence of the story. A friend lent me her advance copy she had been asked to read and she was wildly insistent that I read the book, too. Now I know why. The only thing that could spoil this wonderful book for me is if there isn't a sequel. And soon.

    The writing, which is highly accessible, quickly immerses the reader into the word of Evie and the challenges she faces. To go into these in detail risks spoiling the story for would be readers (and you should be one!) but suffice to say I just could not put the book down. It excited, moved, and transfixed me all at the same time.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2009

    Wow

    When i first saw the cover it called to i just know it was going to be good but when i finished reading it i said wow such amaizing characters and wonderful story i hope theres a sequel

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Immortal Maybe better than Twilight

    *scream* I loveeeeeeee this book. So far Its my favorite. Filled with suspense and tragic happenings prepared to fall into the world of love,faith,courage,magic, and a life threatening decision. When I finished the book I practically started to cry. I was so angry cause I had finished it and because there wasnt a sequel...yet. I had never wanted it to end. I have been on my computer for an hour just to find Gillian Shields's email, i foud it but the website said I had to pay to get it so i still dont know it. Read this book or you shall never forgive your self and will enjoy not 1 more book. You will ask your self "What the heck is wrong with me?Why didn't I read Immortal!!!" So thats the all I got to say about the magically tragic book "Immortal"

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Three cheers!

    I absolutely loved this book! From the very beginning the author has this wonderful story laid out for us and as you read along you could slowly see the mystery unfold before you. The romance aspect of it was undeniably sweet. I can't see why anyone wouldn't want to read this book. It's just that good!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    EXTREMELY AWESOME

    I cant believe anyone has ever doubted this book! It is so amazingly written and thrilling!I LOVED iIT. Dont you DARE not read this book. You will REGRET it!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

    Evie Johnson's life can't possibly get any worse. Her beloved grandmother has taken ill. She has been living with her while her father has been serving in the military. But now, she can't go with her father, her mother is dead, and her grandmother is in a home. So with a little-known scholarship, Evie finds herself sent off to the Wyldcliffe Abbey School for Young Ladies out in the moors. Evie grew up by the sea, and she can't imagine what it will be like so far removed from the water she loves.

    She has to take the train to the school, and the cab driver refuses to take her all the way to the school, calling it a cursed place. In the dark cold rain, Evie struggles with her bags through the trees to the school. It's in the trees that she is hit by a dark brooding boy on horseback. She's tired, dirty, and is distraught to find her mother's photo frame broken on the ground. The mysterious boy helps gather her belongings and murmurs he will see her again.

    When Evie sets her picture frame beside her bed, she's surprised to find that it's in one piece, the glass not broken at all. She begins to believe she imagined the encounter and the strange boy, but then she notices the gash on her hand, from a piece of the previously broken glass. This begins her first night at the school. And things do not get better for Evie.

    She's taunted by one of her roommates, Celeste. Evie's place at the school is due to the mysterious death of Celeste's best friend. And as part of being a scholarship student, Evie must help crazy Helen Black with some of the chores after dinner. The only bright spot is the friendly gesture by one other girl, Sarah.

    The mysterious boy returns, and soon Evie finds herself sneaking out after hours to meet Sebastian. He gives little information about what he does during the day, and Evie makes many requests to have him call properly at the school. The more mysterious Sebastian seems, the more intrigued Evie becomes. When Helen starts to watch over Evie and get her in trouble for sneaking out, hints of stories told to Evie by her grandmother start to make more sense.

    IMMORTAL is an intriguing and dark tale that intertwines the past and the present. With glimpses into the past through a character's diary entries, Evie learns who she is and what she must do to survive and protect those around her. The story captures the reader from the first page and draws them in until the final one. There was so much mystery as well as romance throughout the entire story that it should appeal to a large audience.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    "Immortal" is a winner

    I was a little iffy with the book when I read the discription, but once I started reading it, all those doubts went away. It was Thrilling, exciting, suspenseful, a page-turner, and I don't even love reading. But hands down, my favorite part was the characters which were discribed amazingly and so intense and thoughtful and amazing. My only negative comment is the ending. Personally I was disappointed with that ending, but I can't take away credit for that one little negative area of the entire amazing woven mystery of secrets. Incredible! You'll regret not reading it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    when is the sequel coming out? I can't wati!

    This story had me so intrigued and I had to finish it in one sitting. I can't wait for the next book and a book about Sebastiana and Abbey would be nice. There are so many stories within this story and the possibilibies make me so giddy! I love the storyline and the simple way it was brought out. It wasn't tarnished by too much supernatural and brought out a realistic twist to it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    left me wanting more

    i read this in 2 days.... mainly because i forgot it at work on my desk. it was a good story and for an english author i was surprised they didn't try to use so much slang that you needed an english to english dictionary like so many to try to do. it was a great read just for fun. i was left wanting more wanting to hear how and if they end up together. with a book ending like this i do think they should give you something to hope for or at least look forward to because sadly i'm likely to forget to look for another in a series like this.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Story!!!

    I Thought this book was Great! At first I thought the book was going to be about how Evie found out that Sebastian was immortal because he was a mythical creature. WRONG! During the quest to find out the truth about Sebastian she finds herself intertwined with a Talisman, a ghost, a dark coven, and forbidden love, all leading up too....Immortal

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2009

    mmmm,

    This book was so amazing!
    FAVORITE

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It ~ Looking forward to sequel

    Fantastic Story. Could not put it down.
    Will pre-order sequel when it is available!

    A definite great read~~~

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    awesome series

    daughter and I both felt this was a great series! enjoyed reading and had to put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Love

    I read this book a few years ago and just read it again, still the same mystery;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Um help

    Should a 12 year old read thi i read the twilight books and hunger games is this a good book plez reply my name victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    OMG!!!

    This book is amazing!!! Sebastian!!! Aaugh! I need to read the sequel or I'll die!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Ehhh

    I love the book but not my favorite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    i originally got this book cause i liked the cover but the story

    i originally got this book cause i liked the cover but the story was complex and the chactors were multi dementional just a great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Awsom

    This was a very good book some of my frends say it was beter than the hunger games

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    I love it

    This is such a good book. I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5