Customer Reviews for

Immortal

Average Rating 4
( 1398 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(716)

4 Star

(316)

3 Star

(190)

2 Star

(81)

1 Star

(95)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

46 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Vampire with a Twist

Okay so it starts off a lot like Twilight. Alina is a cute, if somewhat clutzy girl, and two grogeous guys are vying for her attention. Samuel is nice if a little standoff-ish who is reluctant to show how he really feels. Duncan is a smooth Casanova with no qualms about...
Okay so it starts off a lot like Twilight. Alina is a cute, if somewhat clutzy girl, and two grogeous guys are vying for her attention. Samuel is nice if a little standoff-ish who is reluctant to show how he really feels. Duncan is a smooth Casanova with no qualms about showing how he feels and will do anything to be close to her. Halfway through the book though it switches gears and departs from Twilight cutting its on course. Trust me you will not see the twist coming. It ends in a cliffhanger that leaves you wanting more. One downside, like Twilight, the begining moves a little slow, but it does hold your interest. Once some of the secrets are revealed the book moves faster towards the climax which left me wanting more. If you liked Twilight then I would recomend picking Immortal up. I can't wait for the next book in the series Forever, to see what happens and who Alina will choose.

posted by Maya_Balrin on October 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Recommend

Even though I felt this book had similarities to the Twilight series (girl meeting unbelievably super handsome guy in class that all the girls are after, girl being swept away from "hunter" that is after her because of new guy, the debate of changing her or not, being t...
Even though I felt this book had similarities to the Twilight series (girl meeting unbelievably super handsome guy in class that all the girls are after, girl being swept away from "hunter" that is after her because of new guy, the debate of changing her or not, being taken to meet one of the oldest Immortals that wants her changed or killed)it had a lot of twists that kept me interested. Main character meets not one but two guys that end up being immortal. Not knowing throughout the book if one of them is good or bad was a great plot point and kept me hooked. I would catch myself thinking I'd figured out the plot and then it would change which was great. I am looking forward to reading the next one in this series.

posted by AvidReaderSF on December 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    An absurd waste of time

    First, Lauren Burd, find a reputable editor. Too many unforgivable grammatical and spelling errors. Next, learn to develop your characters into something remotely close to believable/likeable. After that, learn to write a story that flows and makes sense. It's absurd that the protagonists love interest is barely even mentioned. You spent more time on ridiculous details about school days than on the plot. I couldn't believe the "climax" was so lame and the ending worse than pathetic. Since the first chapter of the next book was included, I continued. That's where you should have ended. There is potential for a semi-decent story, but for this one, I unfortunately, can't rate less than one star. Thankfully, I only paid $.99.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Baaaaaaaaaaad

    Badbadbad

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Twilight rip off...crap...not worth 99?

    It was extremely hard to fall into the story and the characters were two dimensional It was in no way worth the 99?

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Wow....................Crap

    I really don't know what book everyone else were reviewing so wonderfully, but it sure is not this one. Any money you're willing to part with to buy this book, should stay in the bank!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Nothing to write home about

    The storyline dragged on with useless details. The charcter development as well as that of the relationships between them is not there. Overall the plot and themes were corny as well as trite and left a lot to be desired.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    Needs editing and development

    I was sorry to read what seems to be a draft of a story instead of a fully developed (and certainly poorly edited) novel. My teenage daughter was appalled at the grammar! I agree that the similarities to Twilight are striking and only serve to undermine what might have been a more compelling story. I began to like the characters after what started out as a painful-to-read beginning. I am hoping the next book is better, but knowing the usual fate of sequels, I don't hold out much hope.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    You're Kidding, Right?

    In all honesty, I have never read a book that I have seriously disliked. Sadly, I finally found one. The first thing this book needs is some serious editing. Half of the time I found myself on a mental tirade about how awfully written it was that I forgot to pay attention to what I was reading. I forced myself to actually read over half of it, and finally gave up and skimmed a forth of it. The beginning of the book consists of her taking numerous showers, the exact same conversations over and over "So, how are classes?" with one of the guys to the point that the first time they had a real conversation I realized that rather than showing dialogue the author just stated that they were having one. Also, every time one of the guys talks their voice is either silky or smooth, and always "wraps around" her name. One guy's eyes are always either a forest or a jungle. Not to mention that the next day after she finds out about Immortals she has a hunter on her and everything starts happening at once, whereas the first half of the book was about school. The book and characters are shallow and superficial and the 'plot twist' at the end wasn't very surprising and incredibly lame. In all honesty, it was a waste of both .99 cents and my time and I am still reeling from how bad it was.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    ''Twilight' knockoff. Please Don't Waste Your Time!!!!!!

    This book should never have made it out of production!! To think that some publisher allowed this 'Twilight' knockoff is unthinkable. The only thing worse is that I was persuaded to purchase it after reading a similar review just because of it's price. I have only sent in two reviews even though I purchase an average of two books a week, and most times even if I don't think a book is great I keep my opinions to myself. This book offended me so much though, that I had to let others know.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pitiful attemt at copycatting

    Just read twilight...at least that was good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    Yikes!

    I got the free sample-- SO glad I didn't get the whole book. it's not worth 99 cents. I found spelling/grammar mistakes that I knew were wrong in FOURTH GRADE. I can't believe they published this, or that the editors didn't find such elementary mistakes. The writing was mostly just a bunch of words that didn't really say anything.t

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    ehh it was okay

    this story really just left me confused. it was pretty much a compilation of twilight and the vampire diaries. i love to read so of course i'm gonna say it's good, but it really wasn't very original. i just don't really see the point behind it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    I havent read this book but if you want two great paranormal boo

    I havent read this book but if you want two great paranormal books to read, read My Blood Approves, or The Mating. The first one is strictly a vampire book but it will keep ur attention and is unique and far from twilight. and the other is strictly a Wolf book....geared more so toward adults becaus of its sexual content, but worth it. Trust me. And it your tired of all that, and want something with angels, read Hush, Hush which will be a lot more pricy b/c it's not a nookbook like the other two. My Blood starts off at .99 then stays at 2.99 but totally worth it, and all of The Mating series are free! the first book starts with Bonding but I started on The Mating and cant help but to keep going forward. You will not regret reading these. trust me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    To the warriors

    Stop now. this isnt evn a Warriors book just go role play somewhere else like ohh A CHAT FORUM

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Bad.

    I read 2-3 books per week. This book is a bad mix of Twilight and The Vampire Diaries. There is nothing original about this book at all. Some parts were just stupid. We are suppose to beleive that Alina cannot remember anything or anyone but she remembers her best friend and her friends study habits? And her Dad and his phone number? Please! Not original at all and pretty much follows the same story line of Twilight and The Vampire Diaries but not as good as either. I loved Twilight. I did not like The Vampire Diaries but I like it better than Immortal. Thank goodness it was cheap!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Poor writing, not original

    This book is very much like every other vampire book out there. The spelling and grammar errors are numerous and the book is filled with unnecessary information. I read this a while ago and have no desire to see what happens next. It is not at all a memorable book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Umm...

    I can honestly say that that it was an ok book, good for laughs. It's very much like Twilight, in fact I had to remind myself several times that I was not reading Twilight. I wouldnt reccomend it and I'm glad I only bought it when I was free.

    I'd rather not give this any stars, but I had to so that I could post this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Doesn't even deserve one star

    This book is so awful, I really shouldn't even give it one star. There is no character development what so ever, all you know is that the two love interests are incredibly beautiful and talk pretty. The conversations...which are rare...are so completely lacking and boring, the most they ever seem to talk about is how their classes are going. For the main character Alina to be so in love with Samuel, we really know nothing about him, nor is he really in the story that much at all. She spends more time with Duncan, the "other guy", and yet she finds him so obnoxious and is just so madly in love with Samuel. I feel like this story line could have been really good, but the writing is just so immature that it made it rather impossible to continue reading. The story is choppy and does not flow at all, everything is very random, and why in the world is she even being hunted? That is not really explained at all, it just does not really make any sense. Lauren Burd was trying to hard to make this book like Twilight and failed miserably. I'm glad I only borrowed it from a friend rather then wasting even .99 cents on it. I could go on forever about all the things wrong with this book. DO NOT READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    How many pages?

    How many pages does this book have?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Not good

    The dialogue read like a bad porno, the characters had no actual motivation for anything, they just did things to advance the plot that was poorly ripped off of.Twilight

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Wish I could have given it less than a one.

    I really don't do the whole review thing; even when I love a book. But this book needs reviewing. And I really hope the author reads this.

    I downloaded this book even though one reviewer had said it was like Twilight with a twist. And I must say this book was worse. I am sorry, I didn't like Twilight but I liked it a whole hell of alot more than this one.

    I want to say I commend the author for her effot. But I would alos like to say this is not a flame. I would like the author to try several things. One: get someone to edit your work. PLEASE. Two: invest in a few writing books. (Elements of Style, On Writting, The Marshall Planbook.)

    Also I can't stress this enough read what you want to write. And please read even the books you find you don't like. Because then you will learn what the author has done wrong. But please don't try writing a book like Twilight, thats what fanfiction is for. Write your own book.

    I loved the whole idea about the virus. And a few other things you put in there. But it needs reworking. Please I would love to see what you can do with this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5