Customer Reviews for

Immortal: Love Stories With Bite

Average Rating 4
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Immortal

I enjoyed this book very much. The author who were published in this paticular book were just amazing. Rachel Caine who is one of my favorites authors wrote a very good short story. I would recommend this book to anyone who like vampire stories.

posted by Adrianne02 on December 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

immortal

i cant lie that i liked a few of the stories, because i read some of the books they pulled the characters from. i know their just short stories, but they still seemed to be unfinished, or they would just throw something in there and you end up totally lost. i like most ...
i cant lie that i liked a few of the stories, because i read some of the books they pulled the characters from. i know their just short stories, but they still seemed to be unfinished, or they would just throw something in there and you end up totally lost. i like most of the authors, but i'm guessing their good with a fully detailed book then just 10 pages to mash every thing up in. so to sum it up i liked a few of the short stories, but most of them weren't to my liking at all.

posted by taypow on November 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Immortal

    I enjoyed this book very much. The author who were published in this paticular book were just amazing. Rachel Caine who is one of my favorites authors wrote a very good short story. I would recommend this book to anyone who like vampire stories.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Intriguing, disturbing and fun to read new authors.

    Immortal, edited by P.C. Cast, is worth buying even if just for P.C. Cast's initial essay on that thing teenagers seem to have with vampires. Not just lust nor raging hormones, she identifies some fascinating points of contact between teen reader and vampire lore, and leaves this long-gone teen thinking yeah, that does make sense. And then there's the stories.

    I enjoyed this introduction to a fine mix of authors: Kristin Cast writing on her own to combine vampire and other ancient myths into an intriguing whole; Tannith Lee viewing the stranger at the party through strangely well-trained eyes; Rachel Caine creating a curiously disturbing little world in Morganville; Cynthia Leitich Smith's truly haunting Haunted Love; Nancy Holder's scarily post-apocalyptic New York; Richelle Mead's odd story of vampires and men with its underlying commentary about the fate of the "different"; and finally Claudia Gray's strange trip to New Orleans.

    The stories are fun, nicely collected, neatly disturbing and intriguing. And okay, I'm not a teen and never will be again, but I really enjoyed the book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    Great Samples

    I enjoyed picking this book up on occasion and reading a chapter. Each one gives you a good idea of an author and whether or not you would want to read any of her books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    immortal

    i cant lie that i liked a few of the stories, because i read some of the books they pulled the characters from. i know their just short stories, but they still seemed to be unfinished, or they would just throw something in there and you end up totally lost. i like most of the authors, but i'm guessing their good with a fully detailed book then just 10 pages to mash every thing up in. so to sum it up i liked a few of the short stories, but most of them weren't to my liking at all.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    I did not like this book beacause i didnt know that itbewas made up of diffrent short stories. I thought many of the short stories had more potential that they could be longer and be a whole book. I was left disappointed and wanting more. But i love supernatural stories so i enjoyed them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Read!

    What can i say more about this book other than it was a joy to read..
    I have never taken the time to read any book with multiple stories inside, but this one left me craving more. I have to admitt i have read my fair share of vamp romance novels and short stories but this one exceeded my expectations. Each story was captivating and different. It took me beyond other books, and helped me realize different types of luv. I got this book on a christmas whim, hopeing it would be good. I soon found out it was better, but then that is just me. Check it out for yourself. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    These were actually some very fun to read short stories by very

    These were actually some very fun to read short stories by very recognizable authors. I think some of these short stories really ought to develop into books though, as a few were very intriguing to start!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Omg

    Oh. My. God. Absolutly the best immortal book ever!
    I so wish there were way more to the stories. So capturing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Anthology

    I love anthologies! Especially when one of my favorite authors includes a short story related to the series I'm reading. So, how Immortal: Love Stories With Bite got past me, I do not know. I love Rachel Caine and am a huge fan of the Morganville Vampire series, so why this anthology that includes a short story about Shane didn't hit my radar, I don't know. Anyway, I'm glad I finally came across it because it has some excellent stories in it.


    First up is "Haunted Love" by Cynthia Leitich Smith, which features a very new vampire, a ghost and a not-so-innocent girl who is connected to both. What I found interesting is the manner in which the new vampire is made--a modern twist. The story is very interesting and the character of Cody is someone I would read about again. Next is "Amber Smoke" by Kristin Cast. This story features a vampire of mythological origin intervening with Fate to save a very special girl. I enjoyed the mythological aspect of this story, it brought a different aspect into the story.



    "Dead Man Stalking" by Rachel Caine is part of the Morganville Vampire series and features Shane, my favorite character from the series. Anyone unfamiliar with the series may not enjoy the story as much because you really need to understand the history to appreciate the story. However, if you are not familiar with the series, find a copy of Glass Houses (Morganville Vampires, Book 1) and get to reading! In this story, Shane is 'contacted' by someone from his past & he has to choose between his past & what he believes is right. It's a great story about Shane and shows a bit of maturity in his character.


    "Table Manners" by Tanith Lee is a new kind of vampire story--at least, new to my reading experience. I was introduced to Lelystra Draculian, only a distant relation, and some notions that the widely behold beliefs about vampires' powers and weaknesses are largely a self-fulfilling prophecy. This story is followed by "Blue Moon" by Richelle Mead. I haven't read any of her books, although I understand her Vampire Academy Collection is very popular. This story isn't related to the series, it introduces an interesting character in Lucy Wade, a vampire born with the power to fulfill an ancient prophecy that will change the world--for real. I liked this character and would read more about her if Richelle Mead developed this story into a full blown novel.


    "Changed" by Nancy Holder takes place in a different New York--one devastated by vampires. On Jilly's 16th birthday, vampires take over and destroy New York City. What's interesting about this story is really that the vampires could have been anything--terrorists, aliens, whatever you prefer for your outside source of devastation. The truth of the story takes place in Jilly's journey to maturity and adulthood, the vampires providing the catalyst for her growth. Following "Changed" is "Binged" by Rachel Vincent. I am a fan of Rachel Vincent's Soul Screamers series, as well as her Shifters series. Although neither refer to vampires, there is enough overlap in the supernatural world to consider that either series would be referenced in this story. But, this story was completely independent of either series and it was very, very good. I don't even want to mention the story for fear of providing spoilers, but let me say that it is a very good story that does not d

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Love Vampires? You'll Love This!

    Love vampires? Love vampire romance even more? Then this is definitely the anthology for you. Packed with a fistful of big name young adult authors like Rachel Caine and Richelle Mead, Immortal: Love Stores with Bite is a powerhouse of exciting and engaging short stories to fit every taste.

    Haunted Love by Cynthia Leitich Smith kicks off this collection with a ghost story. Spirit, Texas is your typical small Texas town, complete with abandoned movie theater with a spooky past. When new girl Ginny Augustine approaches Cody Stryker looking for a job at the newly renovated spooky theater, he figures that a little help couldn't possibly hurt. When the ghost of a teenage girl, murdered in the Old Love theater, shows up, things get a bit more than complicated. Cody's hiding a secret, but so is everyone else. Haunted Love is a wonderful story combining two aspects of the paranormal world into a mystery with more twists and turns than you'd ever expect.

    Following Haunted Love is an out-of-the-ordinary story by Kristen Cast entitled Amber Smoke. All Jenna wants for her senior year is to be cool for a change. What she doesn't plan on is Alekos and the Furies intervening in her future. Jenna begins the story as your typical teenager, and a bit shallow to boot. By the end of this short story, her entire outlook has changed and she's even grown up some. She shows great potential and I'd definitely love to read more about this pair.

    Dead Man Stalking by Rachel Caine follows in the third slot of this wonderful anthology. Family relationships are never easy. Just ask Shane Collins, he knows better than the rest of us. So what do you do when your father is anti-vampire and you're dating one? Like I said, it's complicated. This was my first taste of the acclaimed Morganville Vampires series and I liked it a lot. Shane is a very strong character who rises to the occasion and makes the best decision possible, considering the tough situation he's put in. I'm definitely going to have to read more of this series.

    Tanith Lee has long been a favorite author of mine, so I was pleased to see her short story, Table Manners, in the fourth slot of this anthology. This was probably one of my favorites in this collection. In this lovely short, Lel is the daughter of an unusual man, one who treats vampires. She knows Anghel for what he is the moment she first spots him and is determined to help at all costs. One of the most unique vampire stories I think I've ever read. The characters are different and the storyline is more than enjoyable.

    Riding on the heels of Tanith Lee is Changed by Nancy Holder. Set in a post-apocalyptic New York, two best friends are forced to make the ultimate sacrifice to save the other. This story shows the true strength of friendship over love and hit me hard. It was very real-to-life in respects to the teens of today's world and the challenges and choices they face. Although probably the most frightening of the stories contained in this collection, it was also one of the most relatable.

    Blue Moon by Richelle Mead was one of the most interesting stories in Immortal. Lucy is an ancient prophecy come to life. But not for long as her family is out to kill her before she can set the prophecy into motion and change the state of the world as they know it. After essentially kidnapping an innocent human, Lucy is forced to make some hard decisions and look her future in the face. I loved her character.

    originally posted at

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Leaves you wanting more...

    With it's seven unforgettable stories, these "Love Stories With Bite" leave you wanting to know more. They give you enough of a taste to hook you into their world, but then it's over just as it begins! They are well written, and the characters are well developed. It's a great book if you don't have time to read one long story. However, you might find yourself disappointed like I was that the stories couldn't be longer...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A good "taste" book

    This is a collaboration of some popular teen writers, following a supernatural theme. There are a few stories that fall into a series and give you a short story about a main character. It is a great book if you want a taste of how the different authors write and what their storylines might be like. None of the stories are necessary to any series or telling a crucial plot. It is a fun little adventure just the same and I would recommend it to a fan of any of the authors or the genre in general. I certainly discovered some new authors to enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Many stories in one book

    I like he idea of reading short stories from different authors; because it gives you a taste of the type of writings each author brings to the table. A good thing about these types of books is that it gives you the chance to try more than one type of author to see which style you like, and then you can choose to read books by that author. Unfortunately, you will have stories you can sink your teeth into and others, you just want to skim over. Overall, I would say to check into this book because you may hook up with someone (whom you don't know) and start a new collection of books to love and read. Reading to me is a way to escape the every day world and get taken to another world. Keep Reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6