Customer Reviews for

Immortal: Love Stories With Bite

Average Rating 4
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Immortal

I enjoyed this book very much. The author who were published in this paticular book were just amazing. Rachel Caine who is one of my favorites authors wrote a very good short story. I would recommend this book to anyone who like vampire stories.

posted by Adrianne02 on December 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

immortal

i cant lie that i liked a few of the stories, because i read some of the books they pulled the characters from. i know their just short stories, but they still seemed to be unfinished, or they would just throw something in there and you end up totally lost. i like most ...
i cant lie that i liked a few of the stories, because i read some of the books they pulled the characters from. i know their just short stories, but they still seemed to be unfinished, or they would just throw something in there and you end up totally lost. i like most of the authors, but i'm guessing their good with a fully detailed book then just 10 pages to mash every thing up in. so to sum it up i liked a few of the short stories, but most of them weren't to my liking at all.

posted by taypow on November 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Anthology

    I love anthologies! Especially when one of my favorite authors includes a short story related to the series I'm reading. So, how Immortal: Love Stories With Bite got past me, I do not know. I love Rachel Caine and am a huge fan of the Morganville Vampire series, so why this anthology that includes a short story about Shane didn't hit my radar, I don't know. Anyway, I'm glad I finally came across it because it has some excellent stories in it.


    First up is "Haunted Love" by Cynthia Leitich Smith, which features a very new vampire, a ghost and a not-so-innocent girl who is connected to both. What I found interesting is the manner in which the new vampire is made--a modern twist. The story is very interesting and the character of Cody is someone I would read about again. Next is "Amber Smoke" by Kristin Cast. This story features a vampire of mythological origin intervening with Fate to save a very special girl. I enjoyed the mythological aspect of this story, it brought a different aspect into the story.



    "Dead Man Stalking" by Rachel Caine is part of the Morganville Vampire series and features Shane, my favorite character from the series. Anyone unfamiliar with the series may not enjoy the story as much because you really need to understand the history to appreciate the story. However, if you are not familiar with the series, find a copy of Glass Houses (Morganville Vampires, Book 1) and get to reading! In this story, Shane is 'contacted' by someone from his past & he has to choose between his past & what he believes is right. It's a great story about Shane and shows a bit of maturity in his character.


    "Table Manners" by Tanith Lee is a new kind of vampire story--at least, new to my reading experience. I was introduced to Lelystra Draculian, only a distant relation, and some notions that the widely behold beliefs about vampires' powers and weaknesses are largely a self-fulfilling prophecy. This story is followed by "Blue Moon" by Richelle Mead. I haven't read any of her books, although I understand her Vampire Academy Collection is very popular. This story isn't related to the series, it introduces an interesting character in Lucy Wade, a vampire born with the power to fulfill an ancient prophecy that will change the world--for real. I liked this character and would read more about her if Richelle Mead developed this story into a full blown novel.


    "Changed" by Nancy Holder takes place in a different New York--one devastated by vampires. On Jilly's 16th birthday, vampires take over and destroy New York City. What's interesting about this story is really that the vampires could have been anything--terrorists, aliens, whatever you prefer for your outside source of devastation. The truth of the story takes place in Jilly's journey to maturity and adulthood, the vampires providing the catalyst for her growth. Following "Changed" is "Binged" by Rachel Vincent. I am a fan of Rachel Vincent's Soul Screamers series, as well as her Shifters series. Although neither refer to vampires, there is enough overlap in the supernatural world to consider that either series would be referenced in this story. But, this story was completely independent of either series and it was very, very good. I don't even want to mention the story for fear of providing spoilers, but let me say that it is a very good story that does not d

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Many stories in one book

    I like he idea of reading short stories from different authors; because it gives you a taste of the type of writings each author brings to the table. A good thing about these types of books is that it gives you the chance to try more than one type of author to see which style you like, and then you can choose to read books by that author. Unfortunately, you will have stories you can sink your teeth into and others, you just want to skim over. Overall, I would say to check into this book because you may hook up with someone (whom you don't know) and start a new collection of books to love and read. Reading to me is a way to escape the every day world and get taken to another world. Keep Reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1