Customer Reviews for

Immortal Voyage

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This was such a wonderful book!!! C.G. has created such a wonder

    This was such a wonderful book!!! C.G. has created such a wonderful world that is different from your typical book verse. C.G. doesn't disappoint, she leaves you excited for more! I have to be honest I saved the last 30 pages!! I didn't want it to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2013

    I will be honest with you. I was not sure I would like this book

    I will be honest with you. I was not sure I would like this book. I only opted to read it because it sounded different from my usual read. I began reading it, and it was all I could do to put it down! I absolutely loved this story even though reason would have told me I wouldn't like it. I don't normally enjoy fantasy or mythology, but this book is amazing!

    I have almost no criticisms of this book. The bedroom scenes only occur during married people (I am so glad for that fact), and it is very tastefully done. The profanity in the book is almost nonexistent. These two facts made the book much more enjoyable for me.

    The characterization was absolutely fantastic, and the story was amazing. From the first page until the very end, I was absolutely enthralled. There was some magic in the story, but this was not offensive to me in any way. I will not give any spoilers, but this was a wild ride that I did not even figure out until the very end. I would love to read more in this saga--I doubt I would grow tired of Sarik and Jael any time soon.

    For me, everything about this book is absolutely charming and endearing. The romance is phenomenal, and I did not find myself disappointed at any point in the story. If you like romance, fantasy, and/or a well-written story, this is the book for you. Go into it with an open mind, and you may have found a story that captures your imagination like nothing else.

    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    A wonderful story sprinkled with mythological references that wi

    A wonderful story sprinkled with mythological references that will have fantasy lovers flipping the pages. C.G. Powell has a creative imagination and I can't wait to read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    In a word, Fantastic! This book is a page turner. The twists and

    In a word, Fantastic! This book is a page turner. The twists and turns keep coming and you will never guess the outcome of the story. It is truly a fantastic read with interesting characters, frequent plot twists and intrigues.

    The world of Hy-Brasil is appealing and I wish we spent more time there learning about the secrets of Atlantis. Mostly because stories about Atlantis fascinate me. It is a compelling story of a land that just disappeared.

    Jael and Sarik are easy to love as a couple. Both of them are strong and proud. They have depth to their personalities and I find myself thinking of them often.

    I was lamenting to a group the author is a part of about the finality of the story when the book ended. I don't think she would mind me telling you there are more Hy-Brasil books to come in the future with Jael, Sarik and others. I can't wait.

    If you enjoy fantasy and sci-fi books, you will be hooked on C.G. Powell. She is an amazing author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    This book is very different from anything I’ve read to dat

    This book is very different from anything I’ve read to date. Set on Earth, it’s an Earth that is barely recognizable to what we’re familiar with as its set ages upon ages ago. We start off from a human’s point of view, but are quickly introduced to aliens and shown that there will be plenty of interaction as we follow several different characters. There’s a mystery about the book that lasts well into late chapters, surrounding who is what and all the relationships. It’s all very intricately woven.

    What’s even cooler about this book is all the mythology that’s included. I am itching to gush about all the references made, but that would ruin the fun y’all can have when you go read it. The last page is the best though in terms of weaving the different mythologies together!

    For several chapters I was disappointed with the characters, feeling they were fickle in their affections, but it’s all explained later, so I was able to let that go and enjoy the characters more, thankfully. What I didn’t like was that sometimes things felt a little rushed. The passage of time was a little confusing at times, but overall you’re still able to catch up quickly and fall back into the moment. The only particular problem I had that was ongoing was that I felt the editing could have been better. There were extra words and incorrect words scatter throughout which made it difficult to keep a smooth flowing read through, but if you can recognize and keep up with those, it’s really a neat and touching story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    Captivating! Immortal Voyage is a wonderful story with delightf

    Captivating!

    Immortal Voyage is a wonderful story with delightful characters. Two different worlds combine to make this a captivating read with dashes of fantasy, mythology, sci-fi, and unexpected romance. The suspense and twists kept me guessing and reading until the very end.

    My favorite part of this book was the characters problems and family relationships and the honesty in them. To some extent, doesn’t everyone have a family member who’s a dreamer and one who makes bad decisions? Doesn’t everyone have a strong one and an evil one that no one else can stand too? You get the idea. I loved the way the author constructed the family ties in this story.

    I was impressed with the uniqueness of Spell Checked and I was not disappointed with this new book. I loved it and hope there is more to come! (I also adore the cover!)

    **I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    CG Powell takes us to a new world filled with excitement, advent

    CG Powell takes us to a new world filled with excitement, adventure and so much romance you will be swooning. With a story that will grab your imagination and keep you guessing until the end. You won't want to the story to end. Please keep writing CG the world needs more writers like you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    I received this book as an ARC. C.G. Powell has taken a very in

    I received this book as an ARC.

    C.G. Powell has taken a very interesting perspective in the city of Atlantis in this story about how aliens and humans can co-exist. The truth about Atlantis is a secret though, so shhhhh! This story is primarily about a family who rules a portion of the world called Eir. The queen dies during childbirth of their fifth baby girl, but leaves behind no sons. As her last dying wish, she makes the King promise to let their daughters marry for love. It's a pretty big deal since now the king has to rely on a daughter to marry a man who is capable of running the kingdom without getting to groom him for the position. It is entirely possible each daughter would marry someone completely incapable of being the next king, but he swears to her as she dies that they will marry for love.

    Seventeen years later, the king has married off two daughters and one has married a man that could rule, but no one wants him in a position of power. The other appears to be a complete idiot whom no knows much about at all. King Rowe is on a mission to marry off the other three as he is getting older in age. During this time he has had the chance to groom one man to take over in hopes that one of his daughters would indeed fall in love with him. It's a gamble that you will definitely enjoy reading about. His other chance of leaving the kingdom with an heir is to break his dying wife's wish and betroth Jael, the youngest. You will learn that Jael is different from her sisters and Rowe has a very good reason for the betrothal other than finding an heir. It's a mystery that has surrounded Jael since her birth and will leave you shocked at the end. Rest assured that the story has a happy ending and leaves an opening for a second book. I thoroughly enjoyed this and even though I typically avoid aliens, this is well worth the read. Especially since it is C.G. Powell, an author I thoroughly enjoy.

    Read more reviews at Identity Discovery (blog).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1