Customer Reviews for

Immortal Warrior (Immortal Brotherhood Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Definately recommend

    Lisa Hendrix is a wonderful storyteller. She mixes historical fact with fiction so well you would almost think you are reading the true story of her characters; she also mixes in a bit of humor to keep the overall mood of the book lighter. I also like how her female protagonists are strong women who voice their opinions and don't let the men off easy. This particular book, the first in the series, does a great job of jumpstarting the sequence of books. You'll meet some characters who will play a role in each of the following books, but they don't detract from the overall storyline. You find yourself enthralled by the story and rooting for the main characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    GREAT!

    This was a very good read. Kept me interested from the beginning. Would make a great TV series. Looking forward to the next read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Shapeshifter Vikings Need Love Too

    I really loved this book. Very reminiscent of the Wolf and the Dove, an old Kathleen Woodiweiss favorite, only this one's got more (and better) sex scenes. Strong male protagonists, strong female protagonists, a good love story with a HEA, plus well-researched historical background. One of my pet peeves is historical fiction where the author can't be bothered to do her/his homework, and there are disturbing elements that throw one out of the story. Not the case here.

    Now I want to read ALL in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely Pick Up This One!

    The Immortal Brotherhood series has captured the hearts of myself and my group of friends. Ivar, the hero of this first book is just the beginning of an alluring and seductive story that engages both mind and heart. Hendrix crafts an incredible tale, full of courage, longing, and seduction that makes these characters memorable and intriguing. I look forward to the future books in this collection to see where the story line leads these extraordinary men....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    An unusual fantasy romance

    Tired of teenaged vampires and werewolves? Lisa Hendrix gives a delightful twist to paranormal fantasy with her band of cursed shape-shifting Vikings. This story is grounded in historical detail that makes for a great premise to the story. The added sense of humor and comraderie among the male characters is refreshing and the romance is endearing. I've been looking for a romance with Viking characters and Norse mythology, and this one fit the bill perfectly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    This is the begining of a great series.

    I loved this book. I purchased it on a whim and was drawn into it quickly. I enjoyed it so much I went looking for any of her books. Can't wait for the next book! If you like paranormal books, you'll like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    something a little different

    I enjoyed this book very much. I read often and like the paranormal genre. However it is easy to get mired down in all the vampire, werewolf etc. This book was a nice new twist. It had all my favorites in it. History, romance and majic. The perfect escape! It wasn't full of violence either. I would highly recomend it. It also sets the stage for several more to come. I look forward to the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVED this book.

    While living a solitary life in the shadows of the night Ivo de Vassy is summoned to Salisbury Castle by King William Rufus of England. Ivo was vital in a recent victory and the king wishes to reward him. Without fully thinking of the consequences Ivo asks for land as payment. What he receives is more than he bargains for. <BR/><BR/>Lady Alaida spends her days fending off suitors and watching over the lands of Alnwick that were seized when her grandfather was imprisoned. As she soon learns, the king has not only given rule of Alnwick to Ivo but he has also ordered them to marry in order to seal his hold on the lands. With beautiful looks and a sharp tongue Alaida quickly steals the heart of Ivo and after a quick wedding Ivo awakens in Alaida a passion she never knew existed. <BR/><BR/>But Ivo has a secret that no one but two of his trusted men share. Long ago Ivo was cursed with immortality that has him spending his days in the form of an eagle. Each morning before dawn Ivo leaves Alaida and increasingly she begs to know the truth behind his mysterious ¿hunting trips¿. However within days a vision warns that a child born to the couple also has the shape-shifting curse and Ivo makes the decision to keep his distance from Alaida¿s bed to spare her from the horror of this vision coming true. <BR/><BR/>Will this combination tear them apart or will their love set them free???<BR/><BR/>Immortal Warrior is a combination of a historical and a paranormal romance. I admit I was a bit hesitant when I noticed the historical aspects of the book but I was immediately pulled into the story. The writing is incredible and the characters jump to life within the pages. You get two great storylines in one awesome book: a great romance with steamy sex between Ivo and Alaida plus the background story for the Immortal Brotherhood series. <BR/><BR/>I can¿t wait to read the next book series, Immortal Outlaw, and I recommend this book to all historical, paranormal and romantic suspense lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2008

    an entertaining tale

    The sorceress cursed Viking warrior Ivar Graycloak over two centuries ago. His plight is to be human fighter at night but a soaring eagle during the day. He assumes he will take his plight to the grave.------------ However, his king directs Ivar to marry Lady Alaida. He is attracted to her and their consummation of their vows is the greatest moment of his life. However, marriage and the curse do not mix. Making him even feels guiltier for concealing the truth from his beloved wife is a seer who warns him to keep her away from him. He never counted on her courage and obstinacy as Alaida refuses to allow her loved one to leave.----------------------- Even with no teenage Matthew Broderick, IMMORTAL WARRIOR will remind the audience of Lady Hawke as a terrific historical romantic fantasy. Ivar is a wonderful lead character used to using his ¿skill¿ to help the kingdom, but now struggling with what is best for his loved one. However it is the intrepid Alaida who steals the show as she will remain at his side regardless. Lisa Hendrix provides an entertaining tale.------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2