BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Immortalis Carpe Noctem

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Excellent book

I picked up this book because I loved Twilight but wanted a more "adult" read, and I got just what I asked for! It took me to a dark, gritty place within few flips of the pages and I was hooked.

Immortalis revolves around the main characters Lysander and Alyssa, afte...
I picked up this book because I loved Twilight but wanted a more "adult" read, and I got just what I asked for! It took me to a dark, gritty place within few flips of the pages and I was hooked.

Immortalis revolves around the main characters Lysander and Alyssa, after he "turns" Alyssa after a brutal attack that would have killed her had he not intervened. They are up against vampire hunters as well as a vampire "queen". The character Alyssa was loveable and a little ditzy in places, and Lysander a brooding hunk who seemed impatient with his new charge as she blunders about in her new identity as a vampire.

Salidas paints a very vivid picture, which is a whole lot darker than Twilight, and you'll go on a journey full of strange mythical characters that somehow makes you believe they exist. You'll be looking over your shoulder long after you put the book down.

I understand Immortalis is the first of a new series of vampire stories, and I can't wait to get my hands on the others.
Recommended.

posted by wisebird on April 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Too wordy....the story line kept me reading for awhile , until I

Too wordy....the story line kept me reading for awhile , until I noticed how many pages I was
 skimming through. The first rating says "no significant errors" The errors are many and begin right
at the start of the book. I very much appreciate getting to know...
Too wordy....the story line kept me reading for awhile , until I noticed how many pages I was
 skimming through. The first rating says "no significant errors" The errors are many and begin right
at the start of the book. I very much appreciate getting to know new authors for free, but this book...
I deleted around page 107.

posted by lexizahn on January 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    Excellent book

    I picked up this book because I loved Twilight but wanted a more "adult" read, and I got just what I asked for! It took me to a dark, gritty place within few flips of the pages and I was hooked.

    Immortalis revolves around the main characters Lysander and Alyssa, after he "turns" Alyssa after a brutal attack that would have killed her had he not intervened. They are up against vampire hunters as well as a vampire "queen". The character Alyssa was loveable and a little ditzy in places, and Lysander a brooding hunk who seemed impatient with his new charge as she blunders about in her new identity as a vampire.

    Salidas paints a very vivid picture, which is a whole lot darker than Twilight, and you'll go on a journey full of strange mythical characters that somehow makes you believe they exist. You'll be looking over your shoulder long after you put the book down.

    I understand Immortalis is the first of a new series of vampire stories, and I can't wait to get my hands on the others.
    Recommended.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoy this series! The plot is enjoyable, progresses in

    I really enjoy this series! The plot is enjoyable, progresses in a semi logical way (hey its a vamp novel! Logic does not always apply!), Salidas has wonderful character development, you really do develop almost a relationship with the characters...def a must read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    Fantastic book!  600+ pages in a couple of days so it really kep

    Fantastic book!  600+ pages in a couple of days so it really kept my interest.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Anonymous

    Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Awesome

    This is one of the best books that I have ever read on Nook. It was a little lengthy with lots of detail, but its still just plain fantastic. The plot line has twists and turns around every page turn that threw me off my game whenever I tried to predict what was going to come next. From the first time that Lysander appeared in the hall and saved Alyssa from getting raped to Alyssa's first hunt to Alyssa getting captured by Kallisto to Alyssa and Lysander making out on the futon outside of his house, I was hooked and couldn't put it down no matter how much I tried. I recommend it to anyone who likes a good action book/love story/thriller. Can't wait to read book 2.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    So love vampire books so was totally stoked to read this when I

    So love vampire books so was totally stoked to read this when I found it.  This is the first of a series about a young girl named Alyssa who after having a bad day, a friend not show up, stood up, feeling down, had an evening that well got worse!   I have to say I was very shocked and on pins and needles hoping I wouldn't have to read through what was happening to her before her knight in shining armor came to save the day.  Okay not a knight.. a Vampire.  Lysander is that vampire that is so loyal, so to the point, a true leader, who knows that being a vampire should be kept a secret and to only kill those for blood that are doing wrong, criminals.  Alyssa doesn't take so good to being transformed.. lol total spoiled brat to be honest.  I feel a lot of disrespect for her new venture, although Lysander is made to look like a meanie who is holding her back.  He truly cares for his "children".  
    Lysander had left the coven so long ago he was what one would call a rogue, but the coven, the spirited Kallisto wanted him to pay for his betrayal.  A true woman scorned.  




    I really don't want to give much out because I find this to be a great beginning of a series.. and can't wait to continue reading.   Just know this story has the violence, the loyalty, "family", Love, and yes all in vampires.   The one that you want to hate is in this book too.. scary, and all you can hope is he didn't make it...  This is a must read 5stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Good book...

    I plan to keep reading until I finish the series.

    Rlt

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Very good read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Joan wuz here 2 say f*** u all

    Jk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Katie Salidas has beautifully crafted a vampire story.

    If some one asked me to describe this story in one word it would be ‘Beautiful’. Katie Salidas has beautifully crafted a vampire story. From the very first chapter, the action begins and draws you in. You feel all the emotions Alyssa; a young college student is going through as she is attacked while walking alone one night. She can’t protect herself from her attackers and knows this will be her last night on this earth. Little do the two perverted men, who want to rape and kill her, know that their lives will end and Alyssa’s will actually begin? Alyssa’s savior is Lysander. I loved rolling his name in my mind and a few times said it out loud while reading. Lysander destroys her assailants and finds Alyssa near death. He gives her a gift thinking this is the only way to make an apology to her for not intervening sooner. The gift is what Alyssa has a hard time accepting. Vampirism. Now she belongs to Lysander as his protégé to instruct on how to live as an immortal. But along with her new master come sexual desires, other secrets, and a nemesis, and vampire hunters that will have Alyssa again fighting for her life and Lysander’s. I enjoyed the history Katie entwined, how she describes Alyssa’s stubbornness at letting go of her old life and trying to handle her nocturnal one. Highly recommending this book, I give it 5 stars. I’m sure the rest of the series will be just as good; Immortalis, Hunters & Prey and Immortalis, Pandora’s Box.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Book!! A Must Read!

    Can i just say that i am very picky when it comes to books, if it doesn't capture my interest within the first few chapters then i don't finish it. Immortalis Carpe Noctem was not like that, it had me hooked from the first chapter!! This author describes things so clearly that you can picture it or feel it as if it is your own personal memories. As soon as i read the first few chapters i didn't wait to finish, i hopped online and bought the rest in the series! Strong female character but also vulnerable and a sexy strong male lead will make you love this book! I have to admit i had seen these books before and the cover art turned me off to them, i'm happy that that old saying "Don't judge a book by it's cover" rang true for this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2010

    An exhilarating blend of fantasy, fast-paced action and steamy romance; a literary gem that you don't want to miss!

    Alyssa sits and patiently waits for her friend to show up at their favorite hangout. When her friend is a no-show, Alyssa heads home on her own. Taking a shortcut, Alyssa walks home in the dark, only to be brutally attacked by some evil thugs; her futile attempts to defend herself only increase their blood lust. With her life draining away, Alyssa hopes to be rescued but doubts that help could arrive in time. When Lysander hears fighting nearby, he takes pity on a young mortal and grants her a second chance at life; he turns Alyssa into a vampire and takes her under his protection. Glad to be alive but resentful about the changes, Alyssa wonders what price she will have to pay in the long run, to be vampire. How can she reconcile herself to a lifetime of feeding off of humans and never again being able to see her loved ones? Had Alyssa's savior made a terrible mistake? Feeling smothered by Lysander's strict rules, Alyssa becomes defiant as she tries to reconcile herself to her new way of life. Just as Alyssa is coming to grips with her immortality, she is dealt a crushing blow; the Acta Sanctorum, a deeply religious, ancient group of vampire hunters and one of Lysander's old rivals will stop at nothing to destroy them both. Alyssa needs to make a decision and quickly! If she hopes to survive, Alyssa will have to let go of her past and embrace her new life as a vampiress.

    Set in Las Vegas, Nevada, Immortalis: Carpe Noctem (literal translation - Seize the Night), does just that! This story instantly grabs the reader's attention and vividly entertains from beginning to end. Instant chemistry and an emotional bond pull Alyssa and Lysander together. They struggle to accept one another and fight the strong attraction between them as their enemies threaten to tear them apart. A mixture of fantasy, erotic romance and suspense, this paranormal novel takes fiction and makes it feel like fact.

    Compelling characters, a fast-paced storyline and the age-old struggle of good vs. evil make for an exhilarating read; fans will hunger for more! Katie Salidas is a very gifted writer; she has a very promising literary career ahead of her. This novel contains some graphic violence and explicit sex scenes; these elements are essential to the plot and are very well written. I have absolutely adored this novel and I cannot wait to read book 2 in the series! I highly recommend this book to paranormal, fantasy and vampire fans; if you are looking for something new, you really need to give this book a try!

    Copyright (c) Pinnacle: Author & Book Promotion --- Bobbie Crawford-McCoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A hot new series!

    Alyssa is a human going about her life in her normal routine. Work, friend, her favorite coffee-house routine, and what can be called a simple and happy life. That is until walking home one night alone she runs face to face with everyones worst nightmare. Rapists wandering the streets looking for their next prey. On the cusp of death, Lysander, a loner vampire comes to her rescue and saves her from immediate death. As she struggles with letting go of her old life she meets other new vampires, learns to overcome the most horrid part of vampirism (taking life), and learns that despite the positives of her new life, that not every vamp you meet has the best motives.

    I very thoroughly enjoyed this book by Katie Salidas. When I find a book I really really love, I can't put it down, and when I have to, I think about it between sittings. This book was no exception. I was anxious to know how the story ended and felt a bond with Alyssa in her struggles and think that if I was turned, I would have the same emotions. The descriptions of Vegas were also wonderful. The worlds leaped off of the page.

    I would absolutely recommend this book to all avid vampire lovers and highly look forward to the next installment by Mrs. Salidas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Vegas Vampires

    Who would have known the vampires dwell in Las Vegas. Katie Saidas does so in her novel Immortalis Carpe Noctem. Katie gives the reader a look into the life of a just turned vampire, Alyssa. Immediately you are drawn into the dark world that she struggles to fit into. Led by Lysander, Alyssa sees both sides of the world and finds that being a vampire isn't as bad as it seems. That is until the wrathful mother of all vampires shows up in the city of sin. What happens next shows the talent that Katie Saidas has and the thriving power that she puts into her characters. After you read this novel you will defiantly want more.
    - Shawn Weaver, Author Sense of Honor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Your Average Vampire Tale...

    The hapless victim of a brutal mugging, Alyssa lies bleeding to death, convinced that her life is coming to an end - that is, until she's rescued by the most unlikely of heroes: Lysander, an otherwise indifferent vampire who promptly sinks his teeth into her neck and bestows upon her the gift of immortality. Little does Alyssa know, though, the gift eventually becomes a curse, for it ultimately means the loss of friends, family, and life as she's come to know it. Stripped of her humanity, Alyssa soon joins Lysander as a host of powerful enemies converge against them, each bent on their destruction, and only by embracing her newfound powers - and her blossoming new union with Lysander - does she have the slightest chance of survival...

    Gripping and fast-paced, Immortalis Carpe Noctem is a riveting read. In it, author Katie Salidas presents an action-packed tale of a mythical dark underworld that stands out from the garden variety vampire lore currently dominating the rank and file of pop culture. Through the tortuous exploits of her protagonist, Salidas takes the reader on a vicarious journey deep into the heart of a hidden society rife with intriguing characters and intricate plotlines, all of which merge into a seamless mix of mystery, drama, and suspense. Furthermore, with a genuine nod to the supernatural, Immortalis maintains an edge of authenticity that tends to escape other vampire tales crafted solely for superficial shock value.

    The first installment in what promises to be a superb new series, Immortalis Carpe Noctem is the promising debut from a burgeoning literary talent on the rise. A strongly recommended read.


    Renee Washburn
    Apex Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read!!

    I can't wait to read the next book in the developing series. I enjoyed the conflict, the characters, and the originality. These Vampires keep it real!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2