Customer Reviews for

Immortalis Carpe Noctem

Average Rating 4
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Excellent book

I picked up this book because I loved Twilight but wanted a more "adult" read, and I got just what I asked for! It took me to a dark, gritty place within few flips of the pages and I was hooked.

Immortalis revolves around the main characters Lysander and Alyssa, afte...
I picked up this book because I loved Twilight but wanted a more "adult" read, and I got just what I asked for! It took me to a dark, gritty place within few flips of the pages and I was hooked.

Immortalis revolves around the main characters Lysander and Alyssa, after he "turns" Alyssa after a brutal attack that would have killed her had he not intervened. They are up against vampire hunters as well as a vampire "queen". The character Alyssa was loveable and a little ditzy in places, and Lysander a brooding hunk who seemed impatient with his new charge as she blunders about in her new identity as a vampire.

Salidas paints a very vivid picture, which is a whole lot darker than Twilight, and you'll go on a journey full of strange mythical characters that somehow makes you believe they exist. You'll be looking over your shoulder long after you put the book down.

I understand Immortalis is the first of a new series of vampire stories, and I can't wait to get my hands on the others.
Recommended.

posted by wisebird on April 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Too wordy....the story line kept me reading for awhile , until I

Too wordy....the story line kept me reading for awhile , until I noticed how many pages I was
 skimming through. The first rating says "no significant errors" The errors are many and begin right
at the start of the book. I very much appreciate getting to know...
Too wordy....the story line kept me reading for awhile , until I noticed how many pages I was
 skimming through. The first rating says "no significant errors" The errors are many and begin right
at the start of the book. I very much appreciate getting to know new authors for free, but this book...
I deleted around page 107.

posted by lexizahn on January 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    eh

    From the blurb and reviews I was optimistic about this book but it was a bit of a let down. While I find the plot interesting, the struggle to learn how to be a vampire, I was disappointed with the writing. It felt very Bella and Edward in all the wrong ways. The main guys is cold and distance but she loves him for no reason what so ever. The girl is a bit of a flake too, frequently causing more harm than good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Interesting

    Good story line, very well written but it was missing the WOW factor. It was a good read but I felt like something was missing. I think because the only perspective is from Alyssa's POV, its harder to enjoy. I like reading from different character perspectives, but when its just the one it gets boring.

    Alyssa's character was kind of bland, she seemed more like a selfish, stubborn child than a grown woman, her behavior was a bit annoying. Lysander was a bit better, but its hard to write about his character when the reader doesn't know what's running through his mind. The story was good and there was a good amount of action, the author did great with the details in the story. I wouldn't mind picking up the other books in this series and see what happens with this bunch.

    SR

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent new series to start.

    Katie Salidas is, or I should say was, an unknown author to me. I have begun to follow numerous authors on twitter in the past months, but Ms. Salidas began to follow me first. I found her to be an excellent conversationalist, willing to chat at the drop of a, eh. tweet. She's known on twitter as @QuixoticKatie. the name alone intrigued and caused me to watch her stream and what she posts.

    Generally, new authors email me or tweet me to request that I read and review their books. Ms. Salidas never did this. She has promoted her books herself and with the affection that she whips up in her following. One day, I caught a random tweet where she was promoting, "Immortalis Carpe Noctem." I browsed the link a couple of times, but honestly, I didn't care for the cover. This is the truth. I did it. I judged a book by it's cover!

    I'm not sure exactly how the conversation came up but Ms. Salidas offered me a one time opportunity to download one of her books to read and review. I chose "Immortalis Carpe Noctem" because I really wanted to start the series at the beginning. Go figure.

    I'm really hard on storylines. I have to tell myself that I have to read past the first couple of chapters, because quite honestly what I do is read the first chapter and if I'm not gripped in the storyline right there, I lay the book down and don't pick it up again.

    "Immortalis Carpe Noctem," is written in first person and it is all the experiences of a young college aged woman who decides to walk home by herself in one of the roughest cities in America, Las Vegas. Of course, reading Alyssa's point of view, she took us through her walk in the dark and introduced us first to her attackers who intended on raping, mugging, and killing her. They succeed at nearly killing her by stabbing her as she attempted to free herself. However, during her scuffle with her would be attackers, an ancient vampire named, Lysander, arrives just a little late to her rescue. Instead of taking her to a hospital to receive life saving skills from a doctor, he chooses instead to drain her further and then give her his blood thus turning her into a vampire.

    At first, my thought was that this was just going to be another vampire love story. It wasn't really. Actually, this author went one-step further. This whole story is Alyssa's first hand experience of becoming a vampire and learning how to live as one in the twenty-first century. She has rules she must abide by, new senses to discover.

    Ms Salidas kept with many, if not all, of vampire folklore. Her vampires can't take sunlight, they live off of human blood, and of course they all have fangs.

    So, what is my opinion of this story? I usually love any story that involves vampires. However, this story really didn't have anything that different to it that would make me Oooh and Aah about it. There was no love triangle or for that matter a love affair. We do see Alyssa begin to fall for her maker, Lysander. They do have sex together. but aside from learning, what it would be like to experience vampirism first hand it was an okay start to a series. I am interested in reading the rest of the series. I feel there is great potential for Alyssa and this first book has laid a good foundation to springboard into the next book of a series. I would love to see what kind of a person Alyssa turns out to be.

    This book was an awesome start to what I hope to be an excellent series. It definitely is worth the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Ok

    I wont say that this book was as boring as other people have in their reviews. It was okay. It was a lengthy novel, and I was engaged in the story from the get go, but it wasn't anything new about it concept wise. It reminded me of an Anne Rice novel. I personally didn't get that omg i cant wait to know what will happen next from this book. I would readtheothers in the series, but probably at a time when i dont have anything new from my favorite authors to read. I amnot slamming this author at all, the story wasvery well written with few errors. The problem for me is that it was like so many other vampire books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Vampires...

    Good read. I skipped ahead because I didn't like Kallista! The rest of the book was great. You should have killed Santino in this book. I won't read the next installment.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Anonymous

    I enjoyed this read.jas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 out of 5, An Enjoyable Read

    Immortalis Carpe Noctorem was a delightful read. The simple yet fascinating story takes readers back to a time when vampires didn’t have silly powers, and the only worry they encountered was who would be their next meal and when. In a sense it’s a “classic” vampire tale set in a modern era. It was wonderfully refreshing to read about an ordinary young woman whose life gets turned upside down by a man and condition that changed her life.

    The main character, 25 year old Alyssa, is having the worst day ever. She got fired from her job, she was ditched by her friend, and on top of that she was attacked and nearly raped while walking home. On the plus side though, she is saved by a handsome ancient vampire named Lysander. When he reaches her, she is on the brink of death and has no choice but to turn her into a vampire. Fast forward to the next day and Alyssa’s life begins to tumble downhill all over again. Our young heroine is forced to face the grim reality of becoming a vampire and exactly what that requires. Killing to survive.

    The book goes on to detail her experiences as a fledging vampire, and her quiet and brooding sire who want to keep the secrets of his ancient life exactly that, a secret. Alyssa was an excellent heroine. Her adjustment to becoming a vampire and killing portrayed a more realistic idea of how hard it might be for a person to actually live as a vampire. It was not all fun and games and killing was never easy. But as one could expect, our MC did what she had to do in order to survive.

    Katie Salidas did a phenomenal job of reminding me exactly what vampires are supposed to be: Killers, but not monsters. The writing was a little weak at some points, however it didn’t stop me from being engrossed in the story. If you’re looking for a novel that details the life of a classic vampire and contains a rather interesting plot, Immortalis Carpe Noctorem should be your fist choice. I recommend this book to everyone looking to get a quick vampire fix and to those who’ve had enough of overly powerful vamps with unrealistic lives (well if vampires were real and had lives).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Must be read

    Great book.. enjoy reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nice easy and light vampire read.

    After a bad day at work where Alyssa lost her job, she waits at her regular coffee shop for her best friend Fallon who ends up canceling on her. Doing the one thing she knows she shouldn't, she walks home; alone, across campus, at night. Being a petite pretty young woman, trouble finds her. Two men attack Alyssa, beating her within inches of death. Her savior shows up, a handsome stranger ~ Lysander. Lysander can tell she is to far beyond saving with her injuries, so he does the one thing he can to save her... makes her a vampire. Alyssa, unknowingly, has a new life to live; leaving her old one behind. Alyssa now has to find a way to cope with losing everything she had, no matter how small it was, it was hers and her dearest friends.

    I have to say the author did a great job of creating Alyssa as a character set in her ways and morals along with struggling in herself with the changes to a vampire. Alyssa has her morels and mind set of the world and now it's all changed. Her biggest challenge, accepting she needs to drink human blood for her own survival. Then she will be hunted by the Acta Sanctorum for now being a vampire. Alyssa started off as a weak character for me and I wasn't as pulled into the book until about eighty-five pages in. Alyssa had started to get to me a little as she didn't want to be treated like a child, but she had her childish reactions. Lysander was the one who pulled me in some, by his caring nature and the mystery of him. By the end of the book Alyssa lost her whiny-ness to me and started to become a stronger character. But I still enjoyed Lysander the most. I found myself being pulled into the potential love interest between Alyssa and Lysander and the draw between them.

    At about eighty-seven pages into the book we have an appearance of another Vampire, Edmond, who comes across as a long time enemy of Lysander's. Edmond comes baring a message from the ancient Kallisto regarding Lysander a lone vampire turning someone with out permission from her and the clan. This is where the characters all started to change and a few additional ones added as well. And the story began to pick up for me. The secondary characters helped balance out the book for me, and bring the main characters around.

    At the beginning of the book I was a little nervous, but the pages kept turning easily and quickly for me. And this ended up being a nice light HEA read for me. In the end I did enjoy the book and the characters. I will be reading the next book in the series as well, which I look forward to ~ Immortalis: Hunters & Prey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    KATIE SALIDAS' "IMMORTALIS CARPE NOCTEM" (A REVIEW)

    Even though this wasn't really a story I hadn't heard before it was still a well-written supernatural novel. The heroine is smart, and at times humorous. The pace was good and the Katie's writing skills are phenomenal. I will definitely read more of her work in the future.

    -Kitty Bullard / Great Minds Think Aloud Book Club

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1