Customer Reviews for

Immortalis Carpe Noctem

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Excellent book

I picked up this book because I loved Twilight but wanted a more "adult" read, and I got just what I asked for! It took me to a dark, gritty place within few flips of the pages and I was hooked.

Immortalis revolves around the main characters Lysander and Alyssa, afte...
I picked up this book because I loved Twilight but wanted a more "adult" read, and I got just what I asked for! It took me to a dark, gritty place within few flips of the pages and I was hooked.

Immortalis revolves around the main characters Lysander and Alyssa, after he "turns" Alyssa after a brutal attack that would have killed her had he not intervened. They are up against vampire hunters as well as a vampire "queen". The character Alyssa was loveable and a little ditzy in places, and Lysander a brooding hunk who seemed impatient with his new charge as she blunders about in her new identity as a vampire.

Salidas paints a very vivid picture, which is a whole lot darker than Twilight, and you'll go on a journey full of strange mythical characters that somehow makes you believe they exist. You'll be looking over your shoulder long after you put the book down.

I understand Immortalis is the first of a new series of vampire stories, and I can't wait to get my hands on the others.
Recommended.

posted by wisebird on April 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of my friends recommended this author to me, let me tell you

One of my friends recommended this author to me, let me tell you how very happy I am that she did! What a very , very good book! I felt as if I was there, the details so vivid I could close my eyes and see everything! The characters were great. Alyssa was a human woman ...
One of my friends recommended this author to me, let me tell you how very happy I am that she did! What a very , very good book! I felt as if I was there, the details so vivid I could close my eyes and see everything! The characters were great. Alyssa was a human woman that Lysander found beaten , dying about to be raped and saved her by turning her into a vampire. Alyssa's journey into acceptance is very believable and Lysanders role as an ancient vampire all was spot on! I loved the ups and downs which ultimately bring them together. Add a vengeful ex in the mix and a crazy fanatical sect and you have the making of a great series! I need more of this couple and am definately putting this author on my must have list! 

posted by Anonymous on July 18, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 27 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A hot new series!

    Alyssa is a human going about her life in her normal routine. Work, friend, her favorite coffee-house routine, and what can be called a simple and happy life. That is until walking home one night alone she runs face to face with everyones worst nightmare. Rapists wandering the streets looking for their next prey. On the cusp of death, Lysander, a loner vampire comes to her rescue and saves her from immediate death. As she struggles with letting go of her old life she meets other new vampires, learns to overcome the most horrid part of vampirism (taking life), and learns that despite the positives of her new life, that not every vamp you meet has the best motives.

    I very thoroughly enjoyed this book by Katie Salidas. When I find a book I really really love, I can't put it down, and when I have to, I think about it between sittings. This book was no exception. I was anxious to know how the story ended and felt a bond with Alyssa in her struggles and think that if I was turned, I would have the same emotions. The descriptions of Vegas were also wonderful. The worlds leaped off of the page.

    I would absolutely recommend this book to all avid vampire lovers and highly look forward to the next installment by Mrs. Salidas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    When Alyssa was attacked, she thought for sure that her life was over. It was, kind of. She's no longer "alive" yet she is able to walk the earth. Her savior, Lysander, is the reason she is now a vampire and not just another dead body. The life that Alyssa once lived is now completely over and she feels more alone than ever before.

    Figuring out how to adjust to this new existence is the least of Alyssa's problems at the moment. She and Lysander are soon running for their undead lives. Will they be able to escape the vampire hunters or will they end up six feet under?

    I'm obsessed with vampires and Katie didn't let me down. With the popularity of vampires right now, it seems like a lot books are exactly the same. Katie's writing style is very unique and the way she approaches the plot is refreshing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Read

    Review-Immortalis Carpe Noctem is a fast-paced read for those who enjoy a darker urban fantasy novel. These vampires have a bite and aren't afraid to go for the jugular. Many of the old traditions of vampire lore are upheld but presented with a new twist. Author, Katie Salidas sets her story against the glittering backdrop of Las Vegas, (complete with a few hands of Texas Hold 'em) and creates a world were rival factions of vampires and a fanatical religious sect are engaged in a bloody war. Newborn vampire, Alyssa is caught in the crossfire of this centuries-old conflict between the powerful Callisto and Acta Sanctorum assassin, Santino that threatens to tear her from her master, Lysander and their coven, The Peregrinus clan. If you thirst for a red-blooded portrayal of vampires, you should definitely take a look at this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Vegas Vampires

    Who would have known the vampires dwell in Las Vegas. Katie Saidas does so in her novel Immortalis Carpe Noctem. Katie gives the reader a look into the life of a just turned vampire, Alyssa. Immediately you are drawn into the dark world that she struggles to fit into. Led by Lysander, Alyssa sees both sides of the world and finds that being a vampire isn't as bad as it seems. That is until the wrathful mother of all vampires shows up in the city of sin. What happens next shows the talent that Katie Saidas has and the thriving power that she puts into her characters. After you read this novel you will defiantly want more.
    - Shawn Weaver, Author Sense of Honor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Your Average Vampire Tale...

    The hapless victim of a brutal mugging, Alyssa lies bleeding to death, convinced that her life is coming to an end - that is, until she's rescued by the most unlikely of heroes: Lysander, an otherwise indifferent vampire who promptly sinks his teeth into her neck and bestows upon her the gift of immortality. Little does Alyssa know, though, the gift eventually becomes a curse, for it ultimately means the loss of friends, family, and life as she's come to know it. Stripped of her humanity, Alyssa soon joins Lysander as a host of powerful enemies converge against them, each bent on their destruction, and only by embracing her newfound powers - and her blossoming new union with Lysander - does she have the slightest chance of survival...

    Gripping and fast-paced, Immortalis Carpe Noctem is a riveting read. In it, author Katie Salidas presents an action-packed tale of a mythical dark underworld that stands out from the garden variety vampire lore currently dominating the rank and file of pop culture. Through the tortuous exploits of her protagonist, Salidas takes the reader on a vicarious journey deep into the heart of a hidden society rife with intriguing characters and intricate plotlines, all of which merge into a seamless mix of mystery, drama, and suspense. Furthermore, with a genuine nod to the supernatural, Immortalis maintains an edge of authenticity that tends to escape other vampire tales crafted solely for superficial shock value.

    The first installment in what promises to be a superb new series, Immortalis Carpe Noctem is the promising debut from a burgeoning literary talent on the rise. A strongly recommended read.


    Renee Washburn
    Apex Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read!!

    I can't wait to read the next book in the developing series. I enjoyed the conflict, the characters, and the originality. These Vampires keep it real!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 27 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2