BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Immortally Yours (Monster MASH Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    A Must Read!!

    First off I have to just pass on a huge pat on the back for Angie, this is a awesome book, and I would recommend it to anyone in a heartbeat. When I first read the excerpt for the this book I was like 'eh', seriously MASH, suddenly I could here the theme song and see Hawk-eye and BJ. Then I got a peek at the cover and instantly changed my mind. The cover was defiantly from a book I would read. So I waited (non to patiently) and finally got the awesome privilege of reading it, and couldn't put it down. I loved the way Angie meshed the real world with a world she created. The mix of humor and splash of cold reality kept me turning the page. The fact that Petra was a normal everyday mortal added to the likability of her character, and the appeal of the story for me. But naturally with any good book you have to have your 'Oh My God' I want one hero, that's Galen to a 'T'. Sexy, immortal and ...yeah... all in one package. Throw out any of the 'eh' thoughts you may have (I did) and read this one. If your anything like me you'll go from smiling at the mere thought of a werewolf and a vampire being roommates, to thinking 'no wait I don't want it to be over yet.'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Dr. Petra is good at what she does and that¿s why she was sent t

    Dr. Petra is good at what she does and that’s why she was sent to the in-between to treat the immortals. She is used to everyday being boring and nothing really happening. That is, until commander Galen of Delphi arrives. He had been stabbed and dies on the operating table. Petra is determined not to lose this hot God and shoves his soul back into his body.

    After he recovers, Galen knows Petra is hiding something and he is determined to find out what it is. Even if he has to still a few kisses in order to do so, which he has no problem doing. When he finds out what she is hiding, he’ll do anything to use her gift. Even if that means she has to die. Even if he has to lose his soul.

    Is love worth it, if you know that you are going to lose it in the end?

    The first few pages of the book I was saying "What the Hell?!" because the guy that they were describing was NOT the hot guy on the cover. THANK GOD, it wasn’t him. LOL That guy wishes he could compare to Galen. Ok, now that I've gotten that out of the way.. This book was amazing….you thought I was going to use awesome didn’t you. LOL I was hooked from the very beginning and couldn’t put it down. Petra was hilarious and witty at the same time. The story was pure action from the start. Things really got intense when Galen showed up. *MEOW* She knew that he was going to die, but she doesn’t want him to because she gets a glimpse of his soul. One of the funny aspects of the book was they were all trying to pull a prank on their boss. At the end of the book, the prank is EPIC. It has me dying laughing at two in the morning!!!!!! On the down side I guess you could say that you kind of knew what was going to happen. There were a few surprises that I enjoyed though. All in all, this entire book keep me captivated until the end.

    Petra- She was not a kick butt heroine but she was compassionate and knew what she wanted. She was really dedicated to her work and took it seriously.

    Galen- I really don’t know what to say about him. He would do anything to save everyone, even if he had to give his life. He is very loyal, but that could be because he is the son of the god of truth. Oh and he is such a tease and I’ll just leave that as that :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    For those of you like me that live off of old M*A*S*H reruns you

    For those of you like me that live off of old M*A*S*H reruns you're probably every bit as interested in seeing how this new twist on the show would play out. Now for the most part it was a really good twist and I enjoyed it. For the most part. I'm a tough spot on where I stand with my feelings on this book. I enjoyed it, yes. But there were points in the story where it just seemed to just drag on and run around in circles a bit before moving forward, at time it was even a bit overwhelming; and even though I did enjoy this story I can't really see it as a series because it's actually quite nice as a one time stand alone book.




    One thing that made it difficult for me to connect with this story was the heroine and her ways. A lot of the times she was whiny and selfish and wimpy. Not really a very strong individual. In a way one can understand her emotional basketcaseness during certain instances but others it's out of left filed and you kind of want the chick to just snap out of it and grow some balls. There were some strong characters which helped balance out the whole Petra character which helped.




    It was really frustrating for me as a reader that the story and certain events drug on for so long, especially when I got towards the last five pages of the book and things still weren't coming around. Once they did come around it was pretty disappointing because it happened so fast. And though I can't really see how this could possibly be stretched out into a series I'm still willing to go into the second book, Immortally Embraced, and see what it has to offer because while I wasn't overly crazy about Immortally Yours I still enjoyed it enough to continue on with the series.Who knows, maybe it helps wrap up this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    5 of 5 stars I love this new Monster Mash series by Angie Fox. I

    5 of 5 stars
    I love this new Monster Mash series by Angie Fox. It's got humor, romance, funny quirky characters, a strong female lead, and a unique story line. Remember the TV series MASH? Picture that setting with a war between the old gods vs. the young gods, doctors and soldiers that are vampires, werewolves, and fey and of course, the priest.
    A really good read. I'm so looking forward to the next in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wicked great fun! I definitely found a new favorite author to a


    Wicked great fun! I definitely found a new favorite author to add to my must read list. Angie’s humor is perfectly on par with Mary Janice Davidson’s Undead Series, so if you have enjoyed those then you will love this. I highly recommend buying Immortally yours, cause it is one you will want to reread again. I love love love her characters-especially Jeffe the guard sphinx-he totally cracks me up. This is a Must Read-five hearts all the way. Thanks Angie for a fantastic read!


    The war raging between the new/young Gods and old Gods has been going on for so long that they had decided to recruit from earth, involuntarily might I add. Those with even a smidge of immortal blood-be it godly or otherwise- are being drafted to service. That’s what happens to Petra. One day she is running her own Paranormal hospital/clinic in New Orleans and the next she has been drafted and is now a surgeon in the MASH 3063rd. After having served in the blasted war for seven years she is completely fed up. She is tired of being alone, tired of all the death, and, well, just plain tired. Then one emergency flies in bringing in the warrior Galen of Delphi with a stab wound to the chest. Petra nearly loses him on the table, but thanks to her secret gift of seeing the dead- she was able to grab his spirit and yank him back just long enough to save him. That is where the prophecy to bring peace and end the infernal war between the Gods begins. Galen has to not only convince the more than jaded Peta, but also keep her alive to bring the prophecy to fruition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Oops

    I reviewed the second book on accident instead of this one. Angie gets everthing right with this series.
    Very entertaining. Life immitates art. The scene where the media drags out and creates drama was no different than true life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    I really wanted to like this book and I did, overall. The premis

    I really wanted to like this book and I did, overall. The premise is unusual and intriguing and the characters were well developed.There were funny times and serious times throughout the book with a nice balance between the two. The action was consistent throughout and I wanted nothing more than to get back to the book instead of working for the man to keep Top Ramen in my cupboard

    Characters wise, Angie created some great ones that were fun and interesting. Dr. Petra is a strong heroine who has the ability to see ghosts and Galen is the warrior hero that Petra saves (and who doesn't love an Alpha man huh?) Even the secondary characters are great.

    The romance, however, felt a little underdeveloped. Petra and Galen have some amazing chemistry and their intimacy is off the charts. Unfortunately, I was left wondering how exactly they fell in love. I could see the potential but between the action and their time apart I'm not sure there was enough time to develop a completely believable love.

    On a positive note I do think what shines in Immortally Yours is the world building. Having been a fan of M*A*S*H* since I was young (I had a secret crush on Hawkeye shhhhhh don't tell) I was in love with the setting before I even started the book. For this reason alone I would tell everyone to give this book a chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    I love all of Angie's books and this was one of my new favorites

    I love all of Angie's books and this was one of my new favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Immortally Yours

    This was the first time i have read Angie Fox, and she is an awesome storyteller! Petra is a wonderful strong character and Galen was a perfect match for her. I liked the story, the characters, and the romance. I can't wait to read more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2012

      Angie Fox has done it again. In this new series you meet Dr. P

      Angie Fox has done it again. In this new series you meet Dr. Petra Robichaud, as she operates on Demi God Commander Galen of Delphi, you’ll be amazed that you ever thought Hawkeye and Hot Lips of M*A*S*H* 4077 hot. Heated sparks occur with every touch as Petra and Galen work together at M*A*S*H* 8071st to solve how her ability to communicate with ghosts might save Earth.
         Immortally Yours has Gods, Demi Gods and their creatures battling each other in a dimension unknown to humans. Medical staff, from all species, work 24/7 to have the wounded back on the front lines. The quirks of a reluctant Vampire and a lovelorn Werewolf living with Petra in their doctor’s ‘swamp’ are just a tease of events to come. My laughter throughout this book had me telling my friends to get this book to read this wonderful paranormal romance adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    So happy that Angie Fox has a new book and series out. There is

    So happy that Angie Fox has a new book and series out. There is just something about her books, the wit, the humor blended into fun characters and plot that really absorbs one.

    Really liking the concept of this book! Even in a foul mood I have been smirking, cracking a smile, even laughing at some of the things inside this book! Eager to know what happens next.

    So far have not learned too much on Galen. Just that he got wounded and Petra was the one that operated on him. But he's an onery sob! LOL.

    Ahh Petra. I feel for that woman, being put there of all places. Least she gets along with one of her roommates. Eccentric roommates.

    On page 66 - There is a phrase here that I completely coined as my own. LOL so it excites me when I see it in books. And it was in there. Yes I giggle. And have to comment about it.

    Writing got in the way of my reading! But I managed to snatch moments to read this book. I have been waiting for Fox's new series! This book sure lives up to my expectations of her. Oh I giggled! This is a fun, humerous take on the paranormal! Definitely a must need. Can't wait for more in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Angie Fox Immortally Yours Angie Fox, author of the fan favorit

    Angie Fox Immortally Yours
    Angie Fox, author of the fan favorite Accidental Demon Slayer (Biker Witches) series, has come up with a fantastic new series that blends the paranormal with immortal gods and sets them in a war zone that recruits vampires, weres, demi-gods and humans with not so pure blood, to patch up the casualties of the war in a MASH unit.
    Old gods vs. new gods are battling to the death with the souls of the humans both fighting to save the wounded and fighting the battles on the line as well as the entire human existence but there is a chance that the war could be stopped or at least slowed to a standstill if the Oracles predictions come true and the three steps to the prophecy come to pass. Dr. Petra Robichaud had left behind her New Orleans home and had been patching up wounded in the 3063rd for a few years. Years that she knew she would never see her home or family again. Low man in the OR, she is thrust into a complicated surgery that leads to her saving a particularly sexy immortal from certain death and possibly setting in motion the first of the Oracles prophecies. Having the demi-god war hero stick around came with a few perks that she didn’t mind but when they have to face a few life and death decisions if they are to complete the next two prophecies she is torn between saving humanity and saving the demi-god who had stolen her heart.
    Commander Galen of Delphi should have been dead on the table from the bronze dagger that an unknown assailant had plunged into his side. If not for the beautiful doctor he would have lost his immortal life to the cause. Getting closer to the woman, thanks to a series of mysterious paperwork snafus, is a nice diversion for a man married to his military career but when he realizes her secret he must protect her and guide her towards a destiny prophesized by the Oracles. Staying in camp he brings not only a few perks to those keeping their side alive but while protecting Petra and guiding her to their destiny he finds a connection that he had never imagined in immortal life.
    Angie Fox makes me laugh out loud. Her characters are always a combination of wit, brains, sex-on-a-stick, snark and totally addictive. Petra is a strong and smart heroine, Galen is a gallant and sexy hero and the rest of the cast merge together to not only steal the show but give them the support they need to find a way through the chaos and crap thrown in their way. Only Ms. Fox could come up with the premise of a MASH unit with for immortals run by the likes of a Drakkar smelling vampire with possible secrets about his sexuality, a werewolf how is so homesick for his family he adopt various creatures (aka dinosaurs) out of the tar swamp, a security guard sphinx and a Colonel that everyone in camp is trying to pull one over on in hopes of getting some R&R topside. Petra and Galen’s path to find happiness was fun, frisky, sexy and a must read! Grab this one now and pre-order the next one STAT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    Angie has done it again. The humor and the danger all tied up in

    Angie has done it again. The humor and the danger all tied up into one package. This book will keep you turning pages until the end. The path that the Hero Galen and the Heroine Petra have to follow is filled with intense emotion, steaming sex (when of course they get there as another reviewer has mentioned that limbo is a giant cock block) and humor even amongst the stark realities of war. This book is amazing and I can not wait for the next segment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Let me start off by saying that I have qualms about reading this

    Let me start off by saying that I have qualms about reading this book....ONLY becasue I love her Slayer Series so much that I was worried that she couldn't repeate that magic and Dimtri. BUT I did buy it on the day it came out and I finished it the day it came out. I LOVE IT !! Galen gives Dimtri a run for his griffin money. I loved all the characters and their personalities, I really felt like I was in the MASH camp! I cannot wait to read Immortally Embraced..Feb. 2013 cannot come fast enough! Awesome Job Angie!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    booksbysteph says "Quick, Easy and Fun"

    I GIVE THIS BOOK: 4 1/2 out of 5

    This is my first official book into the paranormal genre. One of the reasons it took me so long is because I was afraid of it. Boy, I sure did kick myself while reading this book because I had nothing to fear. I enjoyed it. I loved it! Maybe I had a good book to start with and other paranormal books will not be like this one or maybe they will. Either way, this author took me into limbo, into the OR and into Galen's pants...I mean tent.

    Fox writes with enough detail to make you feel like you are Petra's shadow but not too much that it overwhelms the book. The only reason this book does not receive a perfect score is because I had to look up some of the paranormal creature names. Those ended up not being perinet to the story, but you do not know that at the time. Fox has a writing style that puts me in the book. As if I was sitting in the corner of the OR watching Petra pull daggers out of super hot demi-gods.

    Oh and the sexual tease! Poor Petra but it made me laugh. Go figure, the underworld is a big c**k-block. I felt everything Petra felt and felt everything Galen felt. My heart was connected to these characters. I felt the loneliness, the hunger, the fear, the pain and the love. I felt the love so strong. Only a truly gifted writer can guide you successfully through this range of emotions. Only a truly gifted writer can give you that anxious feeling when you realize the next book in that series has not come out yet. Angie Fox, you have officially become my favorite paranormal writer. All future paranormal books I will read will have to live up to this standard I have set...you have set. If you are looking for a book to ease you into the paranormal genre, this is one!

    If you don't believe me, check it out for yourself!

    Until next time, take life one page at a time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    I liked the story line, I liked her style of writing...but that

    I liked the story line, I liked her style of writing...but that being said, I'm not a fan of first person books. I feel I'm only getting half the story....which means I probably won't read the next in the series. If you like putting yourself in the story, give Elizabeth Vaughan a try too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    9/10/12

    9/10/12 WOW! Extremely good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2